Best Online Medical Assistant Programs in Arkansas (2026)
Updated August 21, 202614 min read

Top Medical Assistant Programs in Arkansas for CMA Careers

Compare Arkansas medical assistant programs: online vs campus, costs, and certification prep.

Some Arkansas students start with a self-paced online medical assistant certificate course priced near $3,300, while others choose campus programs with scheduled labs and externships running past $17,000. Both feed the same outpatient and primary care clinics expanding medical assisting roles across the state.

Arkansas employed about 4,990 medical assistants in 2024, with a median annual Medical Assistant Salary of $37,150. That demand sharpens a central tension: a cheap, quick course only pays off if it is accredited and gives enough clinical practice for certification.

The ranked options, accreditation checks, and salary comparisons all turn on one practical filter: clinics care less about online versus in person than about whether your credential is one they accept and your clinical hours let you room patients safely on day one.

Best Online Medical Assistant Programs in Arkansas

Arkansas offers a small but practical set of medical assistant training routes, and for students who need to keep working while they study, one online certificate stands out. The University of Arkansas at Little Rock pairs a 100% online, self-paced Certified Clinical Medical Assistant course with local workforce funding opportunities. Below is our ranked look at the program, including format, affordability, and graduation context.

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

#1

Little Rock, AR · $17,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Arkansas residents seeking affordable online training

UA Little Rock's online Certified Clinical Medical Assistant certificate stands out for Arkansas learners who need a flexible, low-cost entry into healthcare. Offered through the university's Corporate and Community Education unit, the 100% online course is self-paced and prepares students for the NHA CCMA exam. The university's four-year graduation rate is about 42 percent, typical for an urban public institution serving many working adults. Arkansas residents may also qualify for a $3,000 professional skills certificate award tied to this program.

  • 100% online, self-paced course with start-anytime access
  • $3,295 total program tuition
  • 540 course hours of content
  • Prepares for the NHA CCMA certification exam
  • Covers phlebotomy, EKG, medical terminology, scheduling, and records
  • Eligible for a $3,000 Arkansas professional skills certificate award

How to Choose an Accredited Medical Assistant Program in Arkansas

The biggest tension here is short-term convenience versus long-term eligibility: a cheap, quick class is only a good value if it qualifies you to sit for certification and fits what Arkansas employers expect.

Start with CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation

Open the official CAAHEP and ABHES directories and search for Arkansas programs, or browse Medical Assistant Schools Near Me for a broader list. These are the two accrediting bodies most widely accepted for Medical Assistant Certification. For CMA (AAMA) eligibility, a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program is generally required. CCMA routes can be more flexible, but choosing an accredited program keeps both doors open.

Rule out lookalike programs

Medical assistant training is not the same as medication assistant, medication aide, or nursing assistant training. Those roles have different scopes of practice and state oversight. If a course focuses heavily on passing medications or bedside support, check that the curriculum also includes rooming patients, vital signs, phlebotomy, EKG, charting, and medical office tasks. Some of those programs are valuable in their own lane, but they will not make you a medical assistant.

Check Arkansas-specific guidance

Because medical assistants are not licensed in the same way as nurses, employer expectations can vary. If a program name sounds clinical but the credential is unclear, contact the Arkansas State Board of Nursing or the state workforce office. This is especially important when a course crosses into medication assistant or nursing assistant territory.

Think beyond tuition

Accreditation affects more than exam eligibility. It can determine whether credits transfer later and whether you can use federal financial aid. If you might continue into an online medical assistant associate's degree program or need grants and loans, an accredited program is the more durable choice. When two programs look similar in price, let accreditation be the tiebreaker.

Comparing Costs, Financial Aid, and Program Lengths

Program costs in Arkansas vary widely, from about $3,300 for an online self-paced CCMA course at UA Little Rock to $17,500 for MTTI's in-person day or evening program. Federal financial aid through the FAFSA is available to eligible students enrolled in qualifying programs, and Arkansas residents may also access state grant programs to help offset costs. Because self-paced online options do not follow a fixed semester schedule, their length may differ from the credit-hour or week-based programs listed below.

ProgramDelivery FormatProgram LengthTotal Program Cost
University of Arkansas at Little Rock: Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA)Online, self-paced540 course hours$3,295
Arkansas State University-Beebe: Certified Clinical Medical AssistantNot specified12 weeks$4,950
MTTI Medical Assistant (Day)In-person7.5 months (30 weeks)$17,500
MTTI Medical Assistant (Evening)In-person18.75 months (75 weeks)$17,500
Herzing University: Diploma in Medical AssistingOnline10 months (24 credits)Not available
Herzing University: Associate of Science in Medical Assisting ServicesOnline16 months (60 credits)Not available

Online Vs. Campus: Finding the Right Format for Your Life

In Arkansas, medical assistant training falls into a few main formats: fully online self-paced courses, blended programs with required campus skills checks, and structured hybrids with live online classes plus in-person labs. Online does not always mean no hands-on requirements. Several hybrid options require campus lab days or an externship at a local clinic.

Program or formatClass scheduleIn-person requirementsExternshipTime to completion
University of Arkansas Professional and Workforce Development: Clinical Medical Assistant (online)100% online, asynchronous. Students work at their own pace and have access to the course for 6 months.No on-campus labs or clinical intensives are specified.Not specified in the course description.780 contact hours over up to 6 months of course access.
Southeast Arkansas College: Online Certified Clinical Medical Assistant Training100% online, asynchronous. Students can start anytime and move through the course on their own schedule.No on-campus requirements listed.Not specified in the public description.Self-paced with flexible time to completion.
EHired: Clinical Medical Assistant training (Arkansas CMAC pathway)100% online, self-paced. Curriculum includes more than 40 hours of instruction.None for the online coursework. Learners new to healthcare must complete a self-managed 100-hour externship on site with a healthcare provider.Required for those new to healthcare: a self-managed 100-hour externship.Self-paced; completion time varies by learner.
Arkansas Tech University Ozark Campus: Medical Assistant program (blended)Asynchronous online coursework allows students to log on anytime from anywhere. Procedure and skills checks are scheduled on campus.Required on-campus procedure and skills checks at the ATU Ozark campus in Russellville.Not specified.Online portion is self-paced; on-campus skills checks follow a scheduled format.
Pulse Medical Assistant School: Little Rock 16-week hybrid programSynchronous live online classes on Tuesdays from 7:45 PM to 9:15 PM. In-person sessions run Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM.4 intensive in-person labs at 500 S University Ave #711, Little Rock, AR, plus in-person Saturday sessions.Required externship in a local medical office.16 weeks.
Little Rock Medical Assistant School: 18-week hybrid Medical Assistant programCombines online learning with in-person practice. The listing does not specify whether the online portion is synchronous or asynchronous.Required in-person practice sessions. The number and schedule are not detailed in the public description.Not detailed in the listing.18 weeks.
Eden House Healthcare Academy: Medical Assistant Training Program (West Memphis)Hybrid format with online and in-person training. Classes are available during daytime, evening, and weekend hours.Required in-person training at 120 W. Tyler Ave, West Memphis, Arkansas. Specific lab or clinical intensive details are not listed.Not specified.18 weeks with 144 hours of instruction.

Admission Requirements and Application Timeline

Getting into an Arkansas medical assistant program is less about competitive scores and more about proving you're ready and eligible to start clinical training.4

Baseline Prerequisites

Across the state, most programs share the same starting line: a high school diploma or GED,1 a completed application, and an interview or advising session. Minimum age is generally 18,2 though a handful of programs will consider applicants at 17 with a parent's signature. Some schools ask for evidence of college readiness, such as ACT or SAT scores, prior college credit, or a placement test,3 especially if the medical assisting program is housed within a broader Medical Assistant Associate's Degree track. A few also request a short typed essay or letters of recommendation as part of the review process,2 so it's worth asking early whether your target program expects these extras.

Background Checks and Health Clearances

Because students work directly with patients during labs and Medical Assistant Externships, background checks are standard practice, and many programs, including those with direct patient contact requirements like Herzing's, require a drug screen before clinical placement.1 Expect to also submit immunization records and possibly a physical exam form. Clear these early: a flagged background check or missing shot record can delay your start date even after you're accepted.

Timelines and Deadlines

Don't assume rolling admission. Some programs run on strict cohort deadlines, such as Arkansas Tech University-Ozark's March 1 application cutoff for its medical assisting program,2 while others accept applications on a more flexible, program-specific schedule with limited seats per cohort.1 Since deadlines and seat counts vary by school rather than by state policy, check each program's calendar directly rather than assuming timelines line up.

Before You Apply

Request your transcripts the moment you decide to apply. Processing can take weeks, and a delayed transcript is one of the most common reasons applicants miss a cohort. If you're still in high school, ask about dual-enrollment options, which can let you bank credit toward your medical assistant program before graduation.

Clinical Externships and Certification Prep

There is no single clinical hour standard across Arkansas, and that variability can change how much patient contact you get before taking a certification exam. Programs set their own clinical milestones, and those milestones range from optional observation to a required 180-hour externship.

How Many Clinical Hours You Will Complete

University of Arkansas offers an optional clinical experience arranged by an externship coordinator.8 Arkansas College of Health Careers requires 40 hours.1 Petra Allied Health also requires 40 hours.2 Little Rock Medical Assistant School begins its clinical placement after week 8 and requires 80 hours.3 Stepful's Arkansas pathway typically involves 80 to 160 hours of Clinical Medical Assistant training with school assistance finding a site. Herzing University requires 180 hours during its final 8-week term, usually in a medical clinic or doctor's office.4 Herzing students are responsible for locating the site and securing a proctor, though a clinical coordinator assists. EHired requires a self-managed 100-hour externship if you do not already have clinical experience.5 Petra may waive its 40-hour externship if you have at least 40 verified hours and an employer letter.2

Certification Paths: CMA, CCMA, and RMA

Match your clinical hours to the credential you plan to earn. The NHA CCMA does not require an externship at the national level, but many Arkansas programs build one into the course. Compassionate Medical Academy specifically prepares students for the NHA CCMA exam.6 For the AAMA CMA, one of the common Medical Assistant Certifications, plan for roughly 160 hours of supervised clinical practice in an ambulatory or outpatient setting under physician or RN supervision. The AMT RMA education or hybrid pathway typically calls for a 160-hour externship and a transcript showing at least 720 total training hours, with some Arkansas guidance requiring that externship within the past four years. AMT may allow experienced assistants to use a direct challenge route,7 while newcomers often complete a self-managed 100-hour clinical experience.5

Before Placement Starts

Confirm logistics early because many externship sites require a cleared background check and drug screen before you can start. If your program asks you to arrange your own site, ask whether it will accept a school proctor, how many hours are needed, and whether that experience satisfies your target certification. Public program listings rarely name specific hospital partners, so most schools describe placement types such as medical clinics, physician offices, and local healthcare facilities. Request a sample placement list and a written explanation of how hours are verified before enrolling.

Career Outcomes: Earnings, Debt, and Job Placement

Arkansas does not publish a single statewide table of medical assistant certification pass rates, job placement, or program-level earnings. The table below gathers school-disclosed outcomes, the Arkansas JobLink wage estimate, and federal institution-level earnings and debt data, with timeframes noted because figures are often reported for different years. Program-level median earnings one year and five years after completion are not yet available for these Arkansas programs, so institution-wide earnings and debt are shown only as general context, not as program-specific results.

Program or sourceOutcomeReported figureTimeframe / notes
University of Arkansas at Little Rock, online CCMAMedian federal debt for all graduates (institution-level, not program-specific)$22,000IPEDS and College Scorecard, 2023
University of Arkansas at Little Rock, online CCMAMedian earnings 10 years after entry for all students (institution-level, not program-specific)$45,265IPEDS and College Scorecard, 2023
University of Arkansas at Little Rock, online CCMAEarnings-to-debt ratio (institution-level)2.06Calculated from 2023 Scorecard data
Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus, Medical AssistingCertification exam pass rate92.86%2017 graduates
Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus, Medical AssistingJob placement rate91.67%2018 graduates
Ozarks Technical Community College, Medical AssistingCertification exam pass rate100%2025
Arkansas statewide, medical assistantsEstimated hourly wage$18.00Arkansas JobLink eligible training provider listing

Medical Assistant Salary in Arkansas: Statewide Snapshot

Arkansas employed 4,990 medical assistants in 2024, with a median annual wage of $37,150. The middle half of earners made between $34,910 and $40,140, and the mean annual wage was $38,060. For national context, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics also publishes a national median for medical assistants in the same Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics release.

MetricArkansas (2024)
Total employment4,990
Mean annual wage$38,060
25th percentile annual wage$34,910
Median annual wage$37,150
75th percentile annual wage$40,140

Medical Assistant Pay by Arkansas Metro Area

Medical assistant pay varies across Arkansas metro areas. Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway has the largest medical assistant workforce and the highest median annual wage among the metros shown, while Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers reports a slightly higher mean wage and top-end pay. Use metro-level figures when comparing job offers or considering a move.

Metro AreaEmploymentMean Annual Wage25th PercentileMedian Annual Wage75th Percentile
Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR1,800$38,730$34,910$38,120$41,410
Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers, AR1,150$39,210$36,460$37,800$41,870
Fort Smith, AR-OK330$37,330$33,180$35,700$38,830
Hot Springs, AR230$38,140$34,660$36,810$39,010
Jonesboro, AR210$36,980$34,690$36,340$38,220

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit