Which accredited medical assistant programs in Alaska combine local clinical hours with a reasonable path to certification? Alaska clinics are hiring entry-level clinical staff, and medical assisting offers one of the fastest routes into patient care without a nursing degree, making it an entry-level healthcare career worth considering. State data counts 2,420 medical assistants earning a median annual wage of $51,860.
Accredited programs ranked here range from short certificates to Medical Assistant Associate's Degree programs, with clinical placements in Anchorage and Fairbanks. Costs and delivery formats vary enough that the cheapest online option may not include the onsite hours local employers expect.
Alaska does not require a state license, but most Anchorage and Fairbanks clinics screen for CMA or RMA credentials before scheduling an interview.
The Best Medical Assistant Programs in Alaska
Alaska has a small but focused set of medical assistant programs, from Anchorage to Fairbanks. The strongest options combine accreditation, hands-on clinical hours, and published certification or job placement outcomes. Here are the three programs we recommend for Alaska learners in 2026.
University of Alaska Anchorage
#1Anchorage, AK · ~$15,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Anchorage students prioritizing published employment outcomes
University of Alaska Anchorage offers both an Associate of Applied Science in Medical Assisting and a shorter Occupational Endorsement Certificate, with the certificate accredited by CAAHEP. The program includes a 240-hour unpaid practicum and has published strong medical assisting outcomes, including a 100% job placement rate in 2022 and an 89% exam pass rate from 2019 through 2023. Institution-wide, UAA reports median earnings near $51,900 and median federal debt near $20,200, with a graduation rate around 30% and roughly two-thirds of students receiving Pell Grants. The Anchorage location makes clinical placements and employer connections convenient for many Alaska learners.
- Associate of Applied Science degree
- 60 credits minimum for degree
- Covers administrative and clinical procedures
- Minimum grade C in MA courses
- 240-hour unpaid practicum
- Core courses include Medical Terminology
- Reported 100% job placement in 2022
- Reported 89% exam pass rate 2019-2023
- CAAHEP-accredited certificate
- 29 total credit hours
- 240 clinical hours
- Prepares for CMA (AAMA) exam
- Requires criminal background check
- Immunizations and BLS required
- Felony may bar CMA exam
- Courses sequenced by semester
University of Alaska Fairbanks
#2Fairbanks, AK · ~$11,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Interior Alaska students wanting compact certificate
University of Alaska Fairbanks offers a CAAHEP-accredited Medical Assistant Certificate through its Community and Technical College, with 36 credits and a hands-on practicum in a healthcare setting. The program prepares students for the CMA (AAMA) exam and can be completed in three semesters full time, with small class sizes and dedicated faculty. Institution-wide, UAF reports median earnings near $48,900 and median federal debt near $20,300, a graduation rate around 38%, and Pell Grant receipt near 66%. This is a compact option for Fairbanks-area and Interior Alaska students who prefer a certificate pathway.
- CAAHEP-accredited certificate
- 36 total credit hours
- Includes clinical practicum
- Prepares for CMA (AAMA) exam
- C- or better required in each course
- First Aid and CPR included
- Skills assessed at 85% or above
- Full-time roadmap available
Charter College
#3Anchorage, AK · ~$35,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Working adults needing flexible hybrid classes
Charter College in Anchorage offers both a Medical Assistant Certificate and an Associate of Applied Science in Medical Assistant, each delivered in a hybrid format designed for working adults. The certificate can be completed in about 10 months with 160 clinical hours and rolling starts every five weeks, while the associate degree is a 7-month completion option for students who already hold national certification. Institution-wide, Charter reports median earnings near $35,500 and median federal debt near $14,200, with a graduation rate around 56% and roughly 86% of students receiving Pell Grants. Flexible scheduling and a blended model make it a practical choice for students balancing work or family commitments.
- Associate of Applied Science degree
- Blended learning delivery method
- Program length about 7 months
- Degree completion for certified MAs
- Requires national certification
- 2.0 GPA requirement
- Covers medical billing and coding
- Covers phlebotomy training
- 10-month program
- Rolling starts available
- 160 clinical hours
- Prepares for national certification exam
- Blended learning format
- Classes start every five weeks
- No high school diploma required
- Anchorage campus available
Compare Costs, Financial Aid, and Return on Investment
Costs vary widely by program type and setting. In this table, 'net price' is the average amount students pay after grants and scholarships are subtracted, not the published tuition sticker price. The cheapest listed option is U.S. Career Institute's online medical assistant program at about $1,439 paid in full, while Alaska's public and private campus programs cost more but often include hands-on clinical placement support.
| Program | Credential | Published In-State Tuition | Published Out-of-State Tuition | Average Net Price | Total Program Cost Estimate | Pell Grant Share | Median Graduate Earnings | Median Debt | ROI Ratio |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. Career Institute Medical Assistant | Certificate (online) | N/A (online) | N/A (online) | N/A | $1,439 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Penn Foster Medical Assistant Career Diploma | Diploma (online) | N/A (online) | N/A (online) | N/A | $1,899 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| University of Alaska Anchorage Medical Assisting AAS | Associate (on-campus) | $7,738 | $21,322 | $15,301 | Not published | 68.3% | $51,871 | $20,210 | 2.57 |
| University of Alaska Fairbanks Medical Assisting Certificate | Certificate (on-campus) | $10,083 | $25,892 | $10,892 | Not published | 66.5% | $48,866 | $20,291 | 2.41 |
| Alaska Career College Medical Assistant Certificate | Certificate (on-campus) | N/A (private) | N/A (private) | $17,795 | $17,045 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Charter College Medical Assistant AAS | Associate (hybrid) | $18,341 | $18,341 | $34,860 | Not published | 86.2% | $35,504 | $14,176 | 2.50 |
Online, Hybrid, and On-Campus Program Formats in Alaska
Medical assistant training in Alaska has shifted toward more flexible scheduling, but the required hands-on clinical block is still the part no student can skip.
Campus-Based and Online Options
The University of Alaska programs work best when you can attend in Anchorage, Fairbanks, or Southeast Alaska. The University of Alaska Anchorage offers an Occupational Endorsement Certificate,1 UAF Community and Technical College offers an A.A.S.,2 and the University of Alaska Southeast offers a certificate.3 All three combine classroom and lab work with placement in local healthcare facilities, which makes them hybrid rather than fully online. If you need fully online lectures, a national provider such as Herzing may fit, but the in-person externship still has to happen in an approved Alaska location. Certificate tracks generally take less time than a Medical Assistant Associate's Degree, but total length varies by school and enrollment. UAA's clinical rotation alone is described as a six-week, 240-hour commitment.1
Clinical Hours Are the Fixed Requirement
Most Alaska medical assistant programs require a supervised, unpaid Medical Assistant Externship of 180 to 240 hours.4 University of Alaska Southeast requires 180 hours, or 4 credits, in an approved healthcare facility.3 UAF requires 180 hours in a local facility.4 University of Alaska Anchorage requires 240 hours.1 These hours are not optional, and the site must be approved ahead of time.5 Since the placement is usually unpaid, students should plan for travel or time away from work.5
Online Flexibility vs. Rural Reality
Online coursework can reduce commuting and let you study around a schedule, but it does not remove the clinical requirement. In Anchorage, UAA's campus relationships make local placement easier, and some sources name partners such as the Alaska Primary Care Association, Central Peninsula Hospital, and Mat-Su Health Services as examples rather than a complete list. In Fairbanks, UAF states the practicum takes place in a local medical facility.4 For rural or tribal communities, the evidence is less certain: programs use approved facilities, but there is no guarantee of a tribal-site placement or a formal rural network for every student in 2026.
National online programs can help coordinate an externship, but they do not guarantee a site. Herzing, for example, may assist, but the student is generally responsible for locating and securing the Alaska placement.6 Before enrolling, confirm that a local clinical site exists in your community and that the school will approve it.
Medical Assistant Certification Requirements in Alaska
Alaska does not require a separate state medical assistant license1, but Medical Assistant Certification is the practical entry ticket for most medical assisting jobs in the state.
No State License, But Certification Is Expected
In Alaska, there is no state board that issues a medical assistant license as of 2026. Employers set hiring standards, and many list a national credential as strongly preferred or required. The credentials that show up most often are CMA (AAMA), RMA (AMT), and CCMA (NHA), with some employers accepting NCMA.2 Employers also commonly expect graduation from an accredited medical assistant program, current BLS or CPR certification, up-to-date immunizations, and passing a background check.
CMA, RMA, and CCMA: Which Route Fits You
- CMA (AAMA): The standard route usually requires completion of a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program. A pilot route allows graduates of non-CAAHEP/ABHES programs at CHEA- or USDE-recognized institutions if the program includes at least 560 academic hours and 160 practicum hours, or the first 1,000 hours of medical assistant employment may substitute for the practicum. Felony convictions can affect eligibility, but waivers may be granted with mitigating circumstances.2
- RMA (AMT): This route is more flexible on program accreditation. AMT typically requires a program with at least 720 clock hours of instruction and 160 hours of clinical externship completed within the past four years. Military training with the same hour requirements or five years of full-time medical assistant work within the last seven years may also qualify.2
- CCMA (NHA): This option requires a high school diploma or equivalent plus either completion of a medical assistant training program or one year of work experience as a medical assistant.2
Expect About 9 to 12 Months for a Certificate
Most certificate programs run about 9 to 12 months, while an associate degree usually takes about two years. If you are aiming for CMA (AAMA) eligibility, choose a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program or verify that a non-accredited program meets the pilot route hour requirements. Alaska programs such as the University of Alaska Anchorage occupational endorsement certificate1 and the University of Alaska Fairbanks associate degree3 are built to prepare students for the CMA exam.
Salary and Career Outlook for Alaska Medical Assistants
Alaska medical assistants earn a wide range of wages depending on employer, credential, and location. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Alaska employed 2,420 medical assistants in the latest state data, with a median annual wage of $51,860. Anchorage shows the highest published rates, with active hiring from Providence, the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium (ANTHC), the Municipality of Anchorage, and staffing agencies such as TDL Staffing, while Fairbanks and many rural or tribal areas do not yet publish enough pay or vacancy data for a reliable regional comparison.
| Pay metric | Value | Location / source |
|---|---|---|
| Total medical assistant employment | 2,420 | Alaska (BLS) |
| Median annual wage | $51,860 | Alaska (BLS) |
| Median hourly wage | $25.27 | Alaska (CaresLink, 2025) |
| Typical hourly wage range for professional MAs | $18.37 to $23.56 | Alaska (ZipRecruiter, 2026) |
| Certified MA average annual wage | $49,679 | Alaska (Salary.com) |
| Median hourly wage | $25.43 | Anchorage (BLS, 2023) |
| Median annual wage | $52,900 | Anchorage (BLS, 2023) |
| Certified MA average hourly wage | $24.43 | Anchorage (Indeed) |
| Municipality of Anchorage average hourly wage | $21.08 | Anchorage (Indeed) |
| ANTHC certified MA average hourly wage | $27.38 | Anchorage (Indeed) |
| Certified MA I hourly pay range | $22.55 to $33.82 | Anchorage |
| Certified MA II hourly pay range | $25.81 to $38.72 | Anchorage |
| Certified MA II hiring incentive | $7,000 | Anchorage |
| Completion bonus after 90 days | $500 | Anchorage employer posting |
Medical Assistant Pay by Alaska Metro Area
Among Alaska metro areas with published data, Anchorage has the most medical assistant jobs and the highest median annual wage. Fairbanks reports a smaller employment base but a higher mean annual wage, suggesting some higher paying roles within a smaller workforce. Cost of living tends to run higher in urban Anchorage than in Fairbanks or rural communities, so take home purchasing power can vary even when wages look similar.
| Metro Area | Total Employment | Median Annual Wage | Mean Annual Wage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anchorage, AK | 1580 | 52520 | 55470 |
| Fairbanks-College, AK | 260 | 48780 | 58400 |
Alaska by City
Related Articles
Your Path to Medical Assistant Certification in Alaska
Medical assisting in Alaska usually follows four steps: accredited training, clinical hours, a national exam, and continuing education.

How to Choose the Right Medical Assistant Program in Alaska
Picking the right medical assistant program involves more than scanning tuition prices. A structured decision framework helps you weigh accreditation, cost, clinical support, and format so you graduate ready to sit for certification and land a job.
Verify Accreditation Status First
Accreditation should top your checklist because it determines whether you can earn the CMA (AAMA) credential immediately after graduation. Alaska has five accredited medical assistant programs: three hold CAAHEP accreditation (University of Alaska Anchorage2, University of Alaska Fairbanks Community and Technical College3, and University of Alaska Southeast4), while Charter College campuses carry ABHES accreditation.1 Both accrediting bodies qualify graduates for the CMA exam1, but always confirm current status directly with the school or the accreditor's public directory before enrolling.
If you plan to pursue Medical Assistant Certifications, such as the NHA CCMA, eligibility rules differ and may accept a broader range of training. Still, CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation signals that a program meets national quality standards, which many employers value.
Compare Total Cost and Net Price
Sticker price rarely tells the full story. Ask each school for the net price after grants, scholarships, and any employer tuition assistance. Factor in required fees, textbook bundles, clinical supplies, and certification exam costs. A program that looks cheaper upfront may cost more once you add these extras.
Remember that the cheapest option is not always the best value. If a low-cost program lacks strong externship support or carries weak accreditation, you may struggle to complete required clinical hours or find employers willing to hire you.
Confirm Externship Placement Support
Hands-on clinical experience is essential. Ask programs how they arrange externships: Do they place students, or must you find your own site? What healthcare partners do they work with? If you plan to work in rural or tribal healthcare settings, prioritize programs that maintain clinical relationships in those communities. Local partnerships can translate directly into job offers after graduation.
Choose Online, Hybrid, or Campus Format
Alaska's geography makes format a practical concern. On-campus options cluster in Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau, but hybrid or partially online programs let you complete didactic coursework remotely before traveling for labs and clinicals. Weigh commute time, internet reliability, and your learning style when deciding.
Ask About Exam Prep and Pass Rates
Finally, request certification exam pass rate data if available. A program that integrates CMA or RMA review sessions, practice tests, and study resources gives you a stronger shot at passing on the first attempt. Programs confident in their outcomes are usually willing to share CMA Exam Pass Rates and other outcome data.
State by State
- Alabama
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- Washington DC
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming






