Best Medical Assistant Programs in Oklahoma Ranked
Updated August 21, 202617 min read

Top Medical Assistant Programs in Oklahoma for 2026

Compare accredited Oklahoma programs by cost, format, and outcomes to find your best fit.

A self-paced online certificate can cost under $2,000 and wrap in months; an accredited Oklahoma program costs more and requires externship hours, but that is what clinics and health systems in Oklahoma City and Tulsa are hiring for when they post medical assistant job openings. Healthcare support employment is growing faster than the statewide average, with medical assistants in demand concentrated in those two metros.

National certification, not a state license, drives hiring. That makes accreditation and clinical hours sharper than price alone, because a cheap program without hands-on skills can leave graduates with a certificate but no meaningful CMA eligibility. Employers increasingly treat "CMA" as the baseline and expect externship experience before day one.

Top Medical Assistant Programs in Oklahoma

Oklahoma offers a focused set of accredited medical assistant training options, from a high school senior certificate to an associate degree for working adults. The two programs below stand out for their accreditation, hands-on clinical hours, and reported outcomes. Use this list as a starting point to compare format, cost, and career fit.

Moore Norman Technology Center

#1

Norman, OK

Best for: Oklahoma high school seniors entering healthcare

Moore Norman Technology Center runs a CAAHEP-accredited Medical Assisting certificate designed exclusively for Oklahoma high school seniors. Students train in a simulated physician's office and complete 120 clinical hours in real healthcare settings. The program reports a 93 percent licensure pass rate and a 93 percent job placement rate, with credits that can transfer to participating community colleges.

  • CAAHEP/MAERB accredited
  • 93% licensure pass rate
  • 93% job placement rate
  • 120 clinical hours
  • High school seniors only
  • Half-day AM or PM schedule
  • Articulation with community colleges
  • 100% graduate and employer satisfaction

Community Care College

#2

Tulsa, OK · $26,000/yr

Best for: Career-focused adults seeking flexible associate training

Community Care College in Tulsa offers an Associate's Degree in Medical Assisting that blends clinical skills with leadership and business coursework. The program prepares graduates for the CMA (AAMA) credential and includes externship training, with on-campus and online options to support working students. It is designed for students who want a college degree and a pathway toward supervisory or management roles in medical offices.

  • Associate's degree in Medical Assisting
  • On-campus and online options
  • Prepares for CMA (AAMA) certification
  • Includes business and leadership training
  • Externship training included
  • Focus on critical thinking and communication

How to Choose an Oklahoma Medical Assistant Program

Picking an MA program often comes down to balancing cost against the outcomes that actually matter: job placement, exam eligibility, and schedule flexibility. A lower price tag can look appealing, but it means little if graduates struggle to land positions or sit for Medical Assistant Certification exams. Here is how to weigh the factors that count most.

Start With Accreditation

Before comparing tuition or class schedules, confirm that any program you consider holds accreditation from either CAAHEP (Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs) or ABHES (Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools). This is not a nice-to-have detail. CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation is required to qualify for the CMA credential through the AAMA and is accepted for the RMA through AMT. Many Oklahoma employers specifically look for graduates of accredited programs, so skipping this step can limit your options before you even start.

Weigh Cost Against Outcomes

Tuition for medical assistant programs in Oklahoma can range from a few thousand dollars at a community college to well over ten thousand at a private career school. Rather than defaulting to the cheapest option, compare graduation rates, certification exam pass rates, and job placement statistics side by side. A program that costs a bit more but places 85 percent or more of its graduates in clinical roles within six months may be a far better investment than a bargain program with limited employer connections.

Consider Format and Externship Logistics

Oklahoma programs come in campus-based, hybrid, and fully online formats. Online and hybrid options, including online medical assistant certificate and diploma programs, can work well for students juggling jobs or family obligations, but every accredited MA program requires hands-on clinical hours. Ask where medical assistant externship sites are located, whether the school helps arrange placements, and how far you may need to travel.

Look Beyond Brand Names

A school's general reputation matters less than its medical assistant program's track record. Focus on specifics: Does the program maintain active partnerships with local clinics, hospitals, or physician groups? What do recent graduates say about their externship experience? Strong employer relationships often translate into smoother hiring pipelines, giving graduates a meaningful head start in the Oklahoma job market.

Clinical Hours and Admission Requirements at Oklahoma MA Programs

Not every Oklahoma medical assistant program publishes the same level of detail, so use this table as a starting point rather than a final checklist. Among programs that do report externship hours, published totals range from 120 to 160 hours, and some versions add a separate externship. Always confirm the exact clinical requirement and admission steps with the school before you apply.

ProgramClinical/Externship HoursKey Admission RequirementsProgram Length
Francis Tuttle Technology Center - Clinical Medical Assistant135 hoursNot specified on cited page480 hours
Francis Tuttle Technology Center - Medical Assisting135 hoursNot specified on cited pageNot specified on cited page
Moore Norman Technology Center - Medical Assisting120 hoursProgram is open to medical assisting students; after successful completion students are eligible for certification. Specific admission items are not detailed on the cited page.Not specified on cited page; only the 120-hour unpaid practicum is specified.
Oklahoma City Community College - Medical AssistantNot specified on cited pagePrerequisites include ENGL 0203, adequate placement score, or meeting determined placement measures.Not specified on cited page
Community Care College - Medical Assistant (Tulsa)160 clinical hours; some tracks add an 80-hour externship.Applicants must be at least 18, have a high school diploma or GED, provide TB screening and drug test results, and hold current BLS certification before clinical. Some tracks also require proof of high school completion, government-issued photo ID, and proof of U.S. citizenship.288 class and skills lab hours plus 160 clinical hours; some tracks add an 80-hour externship.

Accreditation and Certification in Oklahoma: What You Need to Know

State Licensure vs. National Certification

Oklahoma does not require a state-issued medical assistant license.1 The state has no separate credential for medical assistants.2 Instead, most employers look for a national certification. That means your training choices matter less for state permission and more for which exam you can sit for after graduation.

Common Certifications and Eligibility Routes

When comparing Medical Assistant Certifications, four credentials appear most often in Oklahoma job postings: CMA (AAMA), RMA (AMT), CCMA (NHA), and NCMA (NCCT).

  • CMA (AAMA): The standard route is completion of a medical assistant program accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES. AAMA also lists a recertification path and an educator path for instructors with at least 1,000 hours in a postsecondary medical assistant program.2
  • RMA (AMT): AMT accepts graduates of accredited programs with 720 total program hours, including at least a 160-hour externship. AMT also offers a work experience route: at least three years of medical assistant employment within the past seven years.3
  • CCMA (NHA): You need a high school diploma or GED, plus either a program completed through an NHA-approved or recognized pathway within the last five years, or qualifying supervised work experience. That work experience route can be one year within the last three years, or two years within the last five.4
  • NCMA (NCCT): NCCT pathways include a route for eligible armed forces members or spouses with one year of verifiable full-time medical assistant experience. Check NCCT directly for the full current list.

Notice that AMT and NHA both have work experience alternatives, so graduates of non-accredited programs may still qualify if they meet the employment thresholds. But that route takes time and is only as reliable as your documented hours.

Why Accreditation Matters Before You Enroll

For most students, the smoothest path to CMA (AAMA) eligibility is a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program from Medical Assistant Schools in Oklahoma.2 If you skip accreditation, you could finish training and discover that the exam you planned to take has eligibility requirements you do not yet meet. Before enrolling, ask the school three questions: Is the program currently accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES? Which certification exams do recent graduates actually sit for? And what happens if your chosen exam later changes its eligibility rules?

Medical Assistant Program Costs in Oklahoma

Medical assistant training in Oklahoma spans a wide price range: you can pay under $2,000 at a self-paced online provider or over $30,000 at a private career college, with most credible programs landing between $3,000 and $17,000.4 Where you fall on that spectrum depends more on the school type than the credential itself, and understanding how to become a medical assistant can help you weigh the differences.

Typical Tuition Ranges

Public two-year colleges with medical assistant associate degree programs tend to be the most affordable path for Oklahoma residents. Tulsa Community College charges roughly $116.55 per credit hour for in-state students under its 2024-2025 rates.1 Oklahoma City Community College's medical assistant coursework has been listed around $4,059 total for residents. Out-of-state students at public colleges typically pay two to three times the resident rate.

Private and career schools sit higher. Miller-Motte College in Tulsa has been listed near $30,190 for its program, while the statewide average across accredited medical/clinical assistant programs runs about $16,239.

Three Realistic Total-Cost Examples

  • Oklahoma City Medical Assistant (private): $3,490 flat, paid before the program starts, or roughly $100 per week on a payment plan.2 This price is marketed as all-inclusive.
  • MedNoc Training College (CCMA track): $4,355 total, which bundles tuition, a technology fee, and BLS certification into one figure.3
  • US Career Institute (self-paced online): $1,439 if paid in full, plus a $29 non-refundable application fee.4 Monthly payment plans are also offered at a slightly higher total.

Always ask the admissions office to confirm what is included. Some programs roll the certification exam voucher, scrubs, textbooks, and externship placement into tuition, while others bill those separately and can add $300 to $800 to your out-of-pocket cost.

Financial Aid Options

Funding options vary sharply by school type:

  • Federal Pell Grants and Title IV aid: Generally available at accredited public colleges and Title IV-eligible private schools. Shorter certificate programs at private career schools may not qualify.
  • Oklahoma's Promise: Covers tuition (not fees or books) at public colleges for eligible residents who applied in middle or high school.
  • WIOA and workforce funding: Local workforce boards can cover training costs for eligible job seekers at approved providers.
  • VA educational benefits: Metro Tech and other technology centers accept VA benefits for qualifying students.5
  • Institutional payment plans: Common at private schools, letting you spread tuition into weekly or monthly installments.

Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Programs in Oklahoma

Fully online medical assistant programs have grown from a niche option into a mainstream pathway, largely because working adults need coursework that fits around shifts and childcare. That said, no medical assistant program is 100% remote: clinical skills like phlebotomy, EKGs, and injections have to be practiced in person before an employer will trust you with a patient.

Programs With Online or Hybrid Formats

A few accredited options serve Oklahoma students in a flexible format:

  • Tulsa Community College: Offers a hybrid medical assistant pathway where lecture content runs online while lab sessions and the externship happen locally in the Tulsa area.
  • Oklahoma City Community College: Runs a blended format with online didactic modules paired with scheduled on-campus skills labs.
  • Penn Foster (nationally accredited, enrolls Oklahoma residents): Delivers coursework fully online and coordinates an externship at a clinic near the student, which staff help arrange during the final term.

How the Clinical Piece Actually Works

Online programs handle the hands-on requirement in one of two ways. Hybrid programs from Oklahoma colleges schedule you into a physical lab on set days, usually one or two evenings a week or a weekend intensive. Distance programs like Penn Foster assign a clinical coordinator who works with you to place your 160 to 200 hour externship at a family practice, urgent care, or specialty office within driving distance of your home.

Flexibility Versus Time to Completion

A traditional campus program in Oklahoma typically runs 9 to 12 months full time. Online and hybrid formats can be finished in a similar window if you push, but most working adults stretch them to 15 to 20 months, which is the real advantage: you keep your paycheck while you study.

One restriction to plan for: nearly every program requires in-person orientation, skills check-offs, and a proctored final exam. Confirm the travel expectations before you enroll so a "fully online" label does not surprise you later.

Medical Assistant Salaries and Jobs in Oklahoma

Statewide salary estimates for medical assistants in Oklahoma generally land near $40,000 per year, and the 2024 BLS metro data below shows how pay shifts across Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Lawton, and Enid. One Oklahoma City estimate places the certified premium at $2,000 to $5,000 per year, but other current sources show near-identical statewide pay for certified and non-certified medical assistants, so the premium varies by employer and metro. Hospitals, clinics, and private practices drive most hiring, and current listings suggest steady demand.

Metro areaEstimated employmentMean annual wage25th percentileMedian annual wage75th percentile
Oklahoma City, OK426039730365103819044530
Tulsa, OK326039470356903893043570
Lawton, OK21035110340203402036810
Enid, OK15035570339303569037460

Certification Exam Pass Rates and Job Placement Statistics

The AAMA reports a 69% first-time pass rate on the CMA exam for the roughly 4,171 candidates who tested between July 2024 and April 2025.1 That national benchmark is the clearest number we can anchor to, because Oklahoma programs do not currently publish a centralized report of their own graduate pass rates or placement outcomes.

What the national numbers look like

Different certifying bodies produce different pass rates, and the gap between them is worth understanding before you pick a medical assistant certification path.

  • CMA (AAMA): About 69% of first-time test takers passed in the 2024-2025 window.
  • NCCT Medical Assistant: In 2025, pass rates varied sharply by route: 66.7% for education-route candidates, 91.6% for those qualifying by work experience, and 68.3% for the high school route.
  • NHA CCMA: Reported pass rates cluster around 81% overall, though first-time rates from candidate handbooks run lower. The passing score is 390 out of 500.

These are national figures. A well-run Oklahoma program can outperform them, and a weak one can fall well below.

Oklahoma-specific data is thin

We were not able to verify current, program-level pass rate or job placement disclosures from Oklahoma medical assistant schools for 2026. If outcomes matter to you (and they should), ask each program directly for their most recent first-time pass rate on the CMA, RMA, or CCMA exam, and their most recent graduate employment rate. Reputable schools track these numbers and share them on request.

Why accreditation shows up in the outcomes

Graduates of CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited programs are eligible to sit for the CMA (AAMA) exam directly, and accredited programs typically report stronger placement because clinical partners prefer their externship pipelines. Non-accredited certificate programs can still lead to a job, but graduates often route through the NHA or NCCT exams and rely more on their own networking. For comparison, Malcolm X College in Chicago (an accredited program outside Oklahoma) publicly reported a 71% pass rate and 93.1% job placement for 2024, a useful benchmark for what a solid accredited program looks like.3

Your Step-By-Step Path to Becoming a Medical Assistant in Oklahoma

The medical assistant field in Oklahoma has shifted toward faster, credential-first hiring, with most clinics now preferring candidates who arrive with a certificate and a passed exam already in hand. Here is the practical route from where you are today to a paycheck in a clinic.

Step 1: Confirm Your Baseline

You need a high school diploma or GED before any accredited program will admit you. If you don't have one yet, Oklahoma's career tech centers offer adult diploma tracks that can run alongside your MA prep. Gather your transcript, ID, and immunization records early, because most programs ask for them at application.

Step 2: Enroll in an Accredited Program

Use the earlier sections of this guide to compare Oklahoma programs on cost, format, and clinical hours. Contact two or three schools directly. Ask about the next start date, financial aid deadlines, and whether the externship is arranged for you or self-placed. Accredited programs (CAAHEP or ABHES) qualify you for the CMA and RMA exams, which matters for step four.

Step 3: Complete Coursework and Externship

A typical Oklahoma certificate runs 3 to 6 months of classroom and lab work covering clinical skills, medical terminology, EHR use, and administrative tasks. You then complete a supervised externship, usually 160 to 200 hours in a real clinic. Treat the externship as a working interview: many students get hired where they extern.

Step 4: Sit for a Certification Exam

Schedule your CMA, RMA, CCMA, or NCMA exam within 30 to 60 days of finishing, while the material is fresh. Passing gives you a credential Oklahoma employers recognize immediately.

Realistic Timeline

4 months of training, plus a 6 to 8 week externship, plus 3 to 4 weeks of exam prep and scheduling, puts most students job-ready in 6 to 8 months.

Uncertified hires do happen in Oklahoma, especially in smaller rural practices willing to train on the job, but certified MAs consistently see better starting pay, faster advancement, and access to specialty roles.

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit