Hawaii Medical Assistant Programs: Cost & Certification
Updated August 21, 202620 min read

Your Guide to Medical Assistant Training & Certification in Hawaii

Compare accredited programs, certification requirements, and salary data for Hawaii MAs.

Hawaii's healthcare and social assistance sector employs roughly 78,900 workers, and medical assistants are in demand and projected to grow faster here than in most mainland states. Facilities like Queen's Medical Center, Kaiser Permanente, and community health centers on Oahu, Maui, and the Big Island rely on MAs for both clinical and administrative support.

The island geography matters. Because each island sustains its own hospitals, urgent care clinics, and primary care offices, demand for trained medical assistants stays consistent across the state rather than concentrating in a single metro. Program costs currently range from about $6,000 to $15,000, and certification, while voluntary, is strongly preferred by most employers. Hawaii's median MA wage sits near $48,820, well above the national figure.

Hawaii Medical Assistant Requirements & Certification: What You Need to Know

Hawaii stands apart from some mainland states in that it has no law requiring medical assistants to hold a license, registration, or Medical Assistant Certification.1 The state has no dedicated governing body for MAs; oversight of clinical practice falls under the Hawaii Medical Board, which regulates physicians and physician assistants rather than medical assistants.2 This means you can legally work as an MA in Hawaii without any credential, performing limited diagnostic and therapeutic procedures under physician supervision.3

That said, the reality on the ground is different. Major employers across the islands strongly prefer or require national certification, making voluntary credentialing essential for competitive job seekers.

Four Main National Certifications

Most Hawaii healthcare systems accept one or more of these widely recognized Medical Assistant Certifications:

  • CMA (Certified Medical Assistant): Issued by the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA). Requires graduation from a CAAHEP or ABHES accredited program. Exam fee is approximately $155 for recent graduates. Recertification every 60 months through continuing education or reexamination.
  • RMA (Registered Medical Assistant): Issued by American Medical Technologists (AMT). Accepts graduates of accredited programs or candidates with qualifying work experience. Exam fee is around $130. Recertification every three years with continuing education.
  • CCMA (Certified Clinical Medical Assistant): Issued by the National Healthcareer Association (NHA). Open to graduates of NHA approved programs or those with one year of supervised experience. Exam fee is roughly $155. Recertification every two years.
  • CMAC (Clinical Medical Assistant Certification): Issued by the American Medical Certification Association (AMCA). Accepts graduates of postsecondary MA programs or candidates with one year of experience. Exam fee is about $150. Recertification every four years.

What Hawaii Employers Expect

Hawaii Pacific Health accepts a broad range of credentials, including CMA, RMA, CCMA, CMAC, NCMA, and NRCMA, plus current AHA BLS CPR certification and a competency assessment. Kaiser Permanente Hawaii requires national certification for MA III positions, listing CMA, CCMA, CMAC, NCMA, and RMA as acceptable.5 Queen's Health Systems sets its own requirements and strongly prefers certified candidates, though specific credential lists vary by role.1

Earning any of these certifications signals to employers that you have met standardized clinical and administrative competencies, giving you a clear edge in Hawaii's healthcare job market.

Finding an Accredited Medical Assistant Program in Hawaii

Hawaii offers medical assistant training through public community colleges, healthcare systems, and private career schools. The table below highlights programs with recognized programmatic accreditation where available, along with format and credential details. Continuing education preparation courses are also offered through University of Hawaiʻi Community Colleges.

Program NameAccreditationLocationFormatCredential
Medical Assisting Program, Kapiʻolani Community CollegeCAAHEP4303 Diamond Head Road, Honolulu, HI 96816-4421Primarily on-campus; includes Zoom information sessions and virtual advisingAssociate in Science in Medical Assisting; Certificate of Achievement in Medical Assisting; Certificate of Competence in Medical Assisting (Healthcare Practice Management)
Hawaiʻi Pacific Health Medical Assistant ProgramABHES55 Merchant Street, 25th Floor, Honolulu, HI 96813On-site instruction at Hawaiʻi Pacific Health facilitiesMedical Assistant Certificate
Medical Assistant Program, Hawaii Medical CollegeACCETHonolulu, HIN/AN/A

Medical Assistant Program Costs & Financial Aid in Hawaii

Published totals for Hawaii medical assistant programs currently range from $5,999 to $15,063, though some programs list costs by credit and require you to calculate the full amount. Where a resident rate is shown, check directly with the school for out-of-state tuition, because those figures are not published for every program. Financial aid details vary and may include sponsored tuition for eligible students.

ProgramTuitionFeesTotal Estimated CostFinancial Aid Options
AHI Medical Assistant Program$275 per credit$50 professional fee per term$10,175Federal aid and scholarships not specified in available tuition information.
Hawai'i Pacific Health Medical Assistant Program (Certificate of Completion)$131 per creditNot itemized separately$7,835No tuition for eligible high school seniors; Hawai'i Pacific Health sponsors tuition, professional fees, liability insurance, training fees, uniforms, certification exam and study materials. Students pay books, stethoscope, blood pressure cuff kit, watch and shoes.
Hawaii Medical College Clinical Medical Assisting Program$320 per credit (69.25 credits)$60 technology fee per module (non-refundable)Not listedFederal aid, scholarships, and payment plans not described in available program cost information.
Hawaii Medical College Clinical Medical Assisting AAS Program$320 per credit (105.25 credits)$60 technology fee per module (non-refundable)Not listedFederal aid, scholarships, and payment plans not described in available program cost information.
Honolulu Community College Medical Assisting AAS$131 per credit (resident)Not separately itemized$15,063.41 (60 credits)Federal aid, scholarships, and payment plans not detailed in available cost of attendance information.
Medical Assistant Training Program (NIMAA) at Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center$6,600$540 for books and materials$7,360Federal aid, scholarships, and payment plans not described in available cost table.
Medical Assisting Certification Program (Career College of the Pacific)Not itemizedNot itemized$5,999Workforce development board listing shows tuition cost; specific financial aid options not described.

Hawaii Licensing at a Glance

Clinical Externship Hours & Hands-On Training in Hawaii

Hands-on clinical training is a core part of Hawaii medical assistant programs, and most on-ground or hybrid programs structure externships as 180 to 225 hours. For certification, the AAMA CMA and AMT RMA education pathways both reference 160 clinical hours in ambulatory or outpatient settings, while NHA CCMA does not require a minimum externship; programs may add 40 to 80 hours at their discretion.

ProgramExternship HoursClinical Site TypesPlacement Support
Hawai‘i Pacific Health Medical Assistant Program (HMAP, high school partnership)225 hoursHawai‘i Pacific Health facility on O‘ahu (hospital and clinic system, with ambulatory/outpatient experience)Yes, arranged and completed at Hawai‘i Pacific Health facilities as part of the program curriculum
Hawaii Medical College, Clinical Medical Assistant Diploma225 hoursNot specified in available materialsYes, structured 225-hour placements completed within two modules, coordinated by the college
Kapi‘olani Community College, Medical Assisting (MEDA 296 Clinical Externship)225 hoursOff-campus clinical sites (outpatient clinics and physician offices in the community)Yes, students are placed at clinical sites as part of MEDA 296, coordinated by the program
Herzing University, Medical Assisting program available to Hawaii residents (online didactic plus local externship)180 hoursMedical clinic or doctor's office (ambulatory outpatient settings, Monday through Friday daytime hours)Yes, students complete 180 hours at assigned medical clinics or doctor's offices
Allied Health Institute, Medical Assistant Program (AHI Hawaii)Not specified in available materialsHealthcare facilities arranged with clinical sites (commonly ambulatory clinics and physician offices)Yes, program notes clinical externship schedules vary depending on arrangement with the clinical site

From Program to Practice: Your Hawaii Medical Assistant Pathway

The route to working as a medical assistant in Hawaii follows a clear sequence. Most students move through an accredited program, a hands-on externship, a national certification exam, and then into the job market.

Four-step medical assistant pathway in Hawaii: complete accredited program, finish clinical externship, pass certification exam, and apply for jobs.

Hawaii's healthcare and social assistance sector employed approximately 78,900 workers as of early 2026, with the industry projected to grow 11.2 percent in coming years. This growth rate outpaces the national forecast of 8.4 percent, signaling strong demand for medical assistants across the islands.

Medical Assistant Salary by Metro Area in Hawaii

The table below shows published medical assistant wage estimates for Hawaii metro areas in 2024. Both reported metros pay above the high $40,000s at the median, but Kahului-Wailuku leads with a median annual salary of $50,200. Urban Honolulu is the larger job market, with 2,770 medical assistants employed.

Metro AreaEmployment25th Percentile SalaryMedian Salary75th Percentile Salary
Urban Honolulu, HI2,770$44,580$48,460$55,640
Kahului-Wailuku, HI380$47,360$50,200$56,880

Medical Assistant Salary in Hawaii: Range and Percentiles

Medical assistants in Hawaii earn a median annual medical assistant salary of $48,820, according to 2024 federal labor data. The state reports about 3,830 medical assistants in the workforce, with the middle half earning between $44,870 at the 25th percentile and $55,640 at the 75th percentile. The figures cover medical assistants in physician offices, outpatient clinics, hospitals, and other ambulatory settings. These figures are a useful baseline for comparing offers across the islands.

What Percentiles Mean for New and Experienced MAs

A new graduate can reasonably aim toward the lower-middle of that range, often $44,000 to $48,000 in the first year while clinical skills and workflow speed are still building. Experienced medical assistants who handle complex scheduling, prior authorizations, injections, and rooming across multiple providers often land in the $52,000 to $56,000 zone. That 75th percentile is not a ceiling, but it is a realistic near-term target for MAs with strong references and specializations in medical assisting. The $10,770 gap between those percentiles is a realistic wage progression as an MA gains credentials and takes on more clinical responsibility.

Island and Employer Differences

Employer type and location shift pay noticeably on the islands. Honolulu and larger healthcare systems, especially hospitals and specialty clinics, tend to pay closer to the top of the range, while smaller rural clinics on neighbor islands may pay below median. Unionized positions, government health centers, and surgical practices often add differentials or better benefits that raise total compensation even if base pay looks similar. Because cost of living is high throughout Hawaii, island choice affects both salary and take-home value.

Beyond Base Pay

The BLS figures are base wages only. Many Hawaii employers offer shift differentials for evening or weekend clinic hours, paid time off, and health insurance that add real value. When comparing job offers, look at total compensation rather than base salary alone. A position paying $46,000 with strong benefits can be more practical than one paying $50,000 with limited coverage. The same is true for paid training, retirement contributions, and schedule flexibility.

Online vs On-Campus Medical Assistant Programs for Hawaii Residents

Choosing between online or hybrid training and a campus program often comes down to cost, clinical placement support, accreditation, and how Hawaii employers view the credential. The table below compares common online and hybrid options available to Hawaii residents, such as Herzing University, EHired, and University of Hawaii continuing education courses, with Kapiʻolani Community College's campus-based Medical Assisting program.

Comparison PointOnline / Hybrid Options (Herzing, EHired, UH CE)Campus Program (Kapiʻolani CC)
CostHerzing diploma: $12,360 total or $320 per credit. EHired: $0 tuition for online training, with $650 to $1,500 due when taking the certification exam. UH CE courses: non-credit, cost varies by offering.Resident tuition is $114 per credit. The Certificate of Achievement requires 33 credits minimum, and the Associate in Science is longer.
Clinical placementHerzing requires a 180-hour externship but does not specify a placement service. EHired requires a 100-hour self-managed externship, meaning students arrange their own clinical site. UH CE catalog listings do not specify externship details.Includes supervised clinical education in local outpatient clinics, private medical offices, and hospital settings across Hawaii through its CAAHEP-accredited program.
AccreditationHerzing is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. EHired is industry-aligned training and is not listed as regionally accredited. UH CE courses are offered through the regionally accredited University of Hawaii system, but the CCMA course is not CAAHEP-accredited.Holds CAAHEP continuing accreditation and is accredited by ACCJC. It is the only Hawaii school offering both a CA and AS in Medical Assisting with CAAHEP continuing accreditation.
Certification and employer recognitionHerzing includes national certification exam preparation. EHired aligns to the AMCA CMAC exam, and many Hawaii employers reimburse the $1,500 pathway cost. UH CE prepares students for the CCMA credential.Graduates may sit for the AAMA national certification exam to become CMA. The CAAHEP accreditation and local clinical network typically carry strong recognition among Hawaii employers.
Best fitOften the better choice for working adults and neighbor-island residents who need flexible, self-paced, or hybrid schedules. EHired's free training is accessible, but students must arrange their own externship.Strongest for Oahu residents or those who can attend in person and want structured clinical placement, CMA exam eligibility, and a well-known local program.

Admission Requirements & Program Duration at Hawaii Medical Assistant Schools

Admission into Hawaii medical assistant schools is not one-size-fits-all: some campuses select students on a competitive basis, others admit qualified applicants in the order they apply, and clinical requirements can add health and background steps before you begin patient contact.

Common admission requirements

  • High school completion: Most programs want a high school diploma or GED. Hawaii Medical College also requires students to be at least 184, and Academy for Healthcare Innovation requires a diploma or equivalent5. Homeschool and online applicants should contact Academy admissions for eligibility details.
  • Placement or entrance exams: Kapiʻolani CC uses Accuplacer arithmetic and a typing test1. Hawaiʻi CC uses a College Placement Test2. Herzing accepts ACT/SAT scores or an institutional test3.
  • Health clearances: Hawaiʻi CC requires a physical exam, tuberculin testing, and documented titers or immunizations before clinical courses, plus professional liability insurance2. Hawaii Medical College requires tuberculosis clearance4, and Herzing requires immunizations3.
  • Background and drug screening: Herzing requires both a background check and a drug test3. Several Hawaii programs do not list a background check in their published admissions materials.

School-specific admissions

  • Kapiʻolani Community College: Requires a 2.0 GPA6 and gives priority to Hawaii residents1. A GPA below 2.0 or probation/suspension status disqualifies applicants. Admission is selective on a best-qualified basis, with applications accepted March 1 through May 11. Meeting minimums does not guarantee a seat, and no explicit waitlist is published.
  • Hawaiʻi Community College: The college is open admission10, but clinical training adds health, liability insurance, and essential-functions requirements2.
  • Kauaʻi Community College: Admits a fall cohort only. Prerequisites must be completed with a C or higher, and placement is first applied, first qualified7. The full prerequisite list is not published in the available materials, so confirm with the college. This can fill up, but no formal waitlist is stated.
  • Hawaiʻi Pacific Health: Serves high school seniors from participating Department of Education high schools and lists no prerequisites8.
  • Herzing University: Requires a background check, drug test, immunizations, and an entrance exam3.

Program duration

Credential type drives length. Academy for Healthcare Innovation lists a 32-week program9. Herzing offers both diploma and associate's degree programs3, while Kapiʻolani offers certificate and associate options6 and Hawaiʻi CC offers an associate in applied science10. Hawaii Medical College offers a Clinical Medical Assistant Diploma4, and Kauaʻi CC runs one fall cohort7. Some certificate and diploma programs do not list durations in current materials, so confirm the graduation timeline directly with the school before applying.

Frequently Asked Questions About Hawaii Medical Assisting

Here are clear answers to the questions we hear most often from aspiring medical assistants in Hawaii. Use this quick reference to understand certification, clinical training, pay, and program format before choosing your path.

  1. Is medical assistant certification required in Hawaii?

    No. Hawaii does not require medical assistants to be licensed, registered, or certified by the state.1 However, many major health systems and clinics strongly prefer a national credential such as CMA (AAMA) or CCMA (NHA).2 Checking employer job postings in Honolulu and across the islands will show which certification is most valued.

  2. How much does medical assistant training cost in Hawaii?

    Hawaii-specific tuition figures are not published in a single statewide standard. Costs vary by school, program length, and whether training is through an in-house hospital program or a community college program such as Kapi'olani Community College Medical Assisting Program. Contact programs directly and ask about financial aid, because exact dollar amounts should not be assumed from state averages.

  3. How many clinical hours are required for medical assistant certification in Hawaii?

    There is no single statewide clinical hour requirement. Clinical training requirements come from the certifying body and program accreditation. For example, some Honolulu certifying providers require 30 successful blood draws and 10 capillary sticks, plus either program completion or one year of on-the-job experience.3 CMA (AAMA) eligibility also requires supervised clinical training through an accredited program.4

  4. What is the average salary for medical assistants in Hawaii?

    As of 2025, medical assistants in Hawaii earn a median annual wage of about $48,410, or $23.28 per hour. Pay often ranges from roughly $38,580 at the 10th percentile to $60,030 at the 90th percentile.5 Some surveys focusing on certified medical assistants report average pay near $45,272, with a typical range of $41,146 to $49,718.6

  5. Are there online medical assistant programs for Hawaii residents?

    Yes, in some cases. National online medical assistant programs, including hybrid options, can qualify Hawaii residents for certification if they are accredited and include a required in-person clinical component. Local programs such as Kapi'olani Community College and Hawaii Pacific Health are described as traditional; confirm online or hybrid delivery options directly with the school before enrolling.

  6. Which medical assistant certification do Hawaii employers prefer?

    There is no state mandate, but employer preferences vary. Physician groups and hospital-affiliated clinics in Hawaii often prefer CMA (AAMA). For many entry-level medical assistant roles, CCMA (NHA) is a commonly requested credential.7 RMA (AMT) and other nationally recognized certifications are also accepted, so review job postings for the credential most relevant to your goals.

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit