Rising outpatient volumes and an aging population are reshaping clinical staffing across Washington, with medical assistant jobs spanning primary care, specialty clinics, and urgent care settings. The Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue metro alone employs nearly 10,000 MAs at a median annual wage of $58,850, while programs statewide range from roughly $5,000 to $13,000 in tuition for certificate tracks.
Cost variation is substantial, and so is the path to state certification: Washington requires either the MA-C or MA-R credential, with most accredited program graduates sitting for a national exam to qualify. Externship hours, clinical placement support, and hybrid delivery options differ enough from school to school that details matter more than rankings alone.
Best Medical Assistant Programs in Washington: 2027 Rankings
Washington blends accelerated certificate options with associate degrees, giving future medical assistants a clear path into clinics, hospitals, and physician offices. The programs below stood out in 2026 for hands-on training, clinical placements, and long-term graduate earnings.
Bellevue College
#1Bellevue, WA · $11,000/yr (est. net price)
Best for: Career changers with no medical background
Bellevue College offers a medical assistant certificate that covers front-office and clinical duties in one pathway. The program totals 74-82 credits and includes a practicum, with no prior healthcare experience required. Graduates are prepared for Washington's state certification exam and entry-level roles in outpatient settings.
- Meets Washington State Medical Assisting law
- 74-82 credits with a practicum
- No prior medical knowledge required
- Prepares for state certification exam
- Covers administrative and clinical duties
Lake Washington Institute of Technology
#2Kirkland, WA · $6,000 – $12,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Working students needing hybrid classes
Lake Washington Institute of Technology offers both an associate degree and a certificate in medical assisting. The curriculum spans anatomy, physiology, billing, coding, pharmacology, and patient care. Small class sizes and a hybrid format give students hands-on training while preparing for the Certified Medical Assistant exam.
- Associate of Applied Science degree
- Curriculum includes anatomy and physiology
- Covers medical billing and coding
- Includes pharmacology and patient care
- Hybrid format with online and on-campus components
- CAAHEP accredited
- 84% licensure pass rate
- Fall admission only
- Background check required
- Prepares for front and back office roles
Bates Technical College
#3Tacoma, WA · ~$6,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Hands-on learners wanting small cohorts
Bates Technical College provides an associate degree in certified medical assisting with a hybrid mix of online and in-person classes. The 102-credit, six-quarter program includes hands-on clinical training and phlebotomy lab practice. Graduates can sit for the CMA exam and meet Washington State Department of Health requirements.
- CAAHEP accredited
- 102 total credits required
- Six-quarter associate program
- Hybrid delivery with some classes fully online
- Prepares for CMA certification exam
- Meets Washington State DOH requirements
- Maximum class size 20 students
- Student to teacher ratio 10:1
Renton Technical College
#4Renton, WA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)
Renton Technical College offers a medical assistant associate program with a hybrid schedule of in-person classes three days per week. Students can choose day or evening options and complete a clinical practicum. The program is CAAHEP accredited and includes I-BEST academic support.
- Hybrid delivery with in-person classes three days weekly
- Day and evening options available
- Clinical practicum included
- I-BEST support for academic skills
- CAAHEP accredited program
- Fall and Winter enrollment
Highline College
#5Des Moines, WA · ~$10,000/yr (est.)
Highline College's medical assistant certificate blends administrative and clinical training over 81 credits. Students complete 180 clinical hours and earn CPR and First Aid certification. The program prepares graduates for the Certified Medical Assistant exam.
- CAAHEP accredited
- 81 total credit hours
- 2.0 GPA minimum in core courses
- 180 clinical hours
- Includes CPR and First Aid certification
- Prepares for Certified Medical Assistant exam
South Puget Sound Community College
#6Olympia, WA · $5,000 – $6,000/yr (est.)
South Puget Sound Community College offers an associate in applied science in medical assisting that combines clinical and administrative skills. The 91-93 credit program includes a 198-hour unpaid practicum and CAAHEP accreditation. Graduates are eligible to take the national CMA exam.
- 91-93 credit Associate in Applied Science
- 198-hour unpaid practicum required
- National CMA exam eligibility
- CAAHEP accredited program
- Faculty interview and background checks required
Big Bend Community College
#7Moses Lake, WA · $5,000 – $6,000/yr (est.)
Big Bend Community College provides both an associate degree and a certificate in medical assisting. The programs align with Washington's medical assistant laws and prepare students for AMT certification and state licensure. Clinical externship placement is included.
- Associate degree program
- Eligible for AMT certification
- Washington state licensure eligible
- Includes math and English placement tests
- Immunizations required before clinical courses
- Clinical externship placement
- Background check required
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Transfer to BAS-AM or universities
- High school diploma required
- Start any quarter including summer
Wenatchee Valley College
#8Wenatchee, WA · ~$10,000/yr (est.)
Wenatchee Valley College offers a CAAHEP-accredited medical assistant certificate at its Wenatchee and Omak campuses. The four-quarter program requires 60 credits and includes a 160-hour clinical externship. Graduates are eligible for the AAMA certification exam.
- CAAHEP accredited
- 60 total credit hours
- 2.5 GPA minimum
- 160 clinical hours
- Prepares for AAMA certification examination
- Offered at Wenatchee and Omak campuses
Pima Medical Institute-Seattle
#9Seattle, WA · ~$31,000/yr (est.)
Pima Medical Institute-Seattle offers a 9-month medical assistant certificate with hands-on training in phlebotomy, injections, and EKGs. A clinical externship and hybrid learning option provide flexibility. Career services support is available for resume and job placement.
- 9-month program
- Clinical externships available
- Hybrid learning option
- Includes CPR and First Aid
- Phlebotomy and injection skills training
Pima Medical Institute-Renton
#10Renton, WA · ~$32,000/yr (est.)
Pima Medical Institute-Renton offers a 9-month medical assistant certificate covering clinical and clerical skills. Students complete an externship and gain hands-on training in phlebotomy and injections. The program includes career services support and a hybrid learning option.
- 9-month program
- Clinical externship included
- Hybrid learning option available
- Hands-on phlebotomy and injections training
- Career services support provided
How We Ranked Washington Medical Assistant Programs
Our goal is to help you compare accredited medical assistant programs in Washington based on outcomes that actually matter to your career and finances, not glossy marketing materials or brand recognition.
What the Rankings Measure
Two factors carry the most weight in our rankings: how much do medical assistants make and what students pay out of pocket. We believe these two data points, post-completion earnings and net price, tell you more about a program's real value than any brochure can.
Where the Data Comes From
We draw from publicly available federal data, including program-level earnings reported through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, completion counts that show how many students actually finish, and institutional net price figures that reflect what students typically pay after grants and scholarships. These numbers give us a consistent, apples-to-apples comparison across schools statewide.
A Note on Graduation Rates
One important detail: graduation rates in the data reflect the institution as a whole, not a specific medical assistant program. A university with dozens of degree programs will have a single institution-wide graduation rate. Keep that context in mind when you see those figures. They offer useful background on a school's overall student support, but they are not a direct measure of MA program completion.
What the Rankings Do Not Include
Accreditation status and medical assistant externship support are not built into the ranking formula itself. Both are critical to your decision, and we cover them in dedicated sections later in this guide. Think of the rankings as a starting point grounded in earnings and affordability, then layer in those additional factors as you narrow your choices.
Accredited Washington Medical Assistant Programs: What to Look For
If you plan to become a medical assistant in Washington, what does accredited actually mean for a medical assistant program, and will it affect whether you can get certified?
When you see accredited, there are two layers to check. Institutional accreditation covers the whole college and matters for federal financial aid. Programmatic accreditation from ABHES or CAAHEP reviews the medical assisting curriculum, labs, and clinical training specifically. For Washington's Medical Assistant Certification, programmatic accreditation is the clearest qualifying route.
How Washington's credentialing rule works
Washington law under RCW 18.360.030 requires medical assistant certified applicants to complete an approved training program and pass an approved exam.1 The Washington State Department of Health accepts proof of completion from ABHES- or CAAHEP-accredited programs.2 If a program has only institutional accreditation, it may still qualify when it includes at least 720 clock hours of medical assisting training and a 160-hour clinical externship, or when it is a registered apprenticeship the secretary finds substantially equivalent.2 Because these pathways can vary, confirm how your program meets the standard before enrolling.
Programs to verify and red flags
Columbia Basin College offers a Medical Assistant Certificate and identifies the program as CAAHEP-accredited.3 The program recently listed a May 2026 application window for a Fall 2026 start, so contact the college for current deadlines. Other Washington colleges may also hold CAAHEP accreditation, but ranking lists are not official registries. Check CAAHEP's directory and the program's website, then call to confirm current status.
An unaccredited program can leave you unable to sit for a recognized exam or obtain the Washington DOH credential4, and it generally cannot offer federal financial aid. If a school is vague about accreditation, promises certification with far shorter training, or treats the externship as optional, verify ABHES or CAAHEP status before paying tuition.
Medical Assistant Salary in Washington: State and Metro Outlook
Washington medical assistant pay is strongest in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue area, which reported a median annual wage of $58,850 and 9,950 medical assistant jobs. Longview-Kelso and Olympia-Lacey-Tumwater are also above $50,000 at the median, while several eastern Washington metros cluster in the mid to high $40,000s. Individual pay can shift with certification, years on the job, and the specific clinic or health system.
| Metro area | Total employment | Median annual wage |
|---|---|---|
| Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA | 9,950 | $58,850 |
| Spokane-Spokane Valley, WA | 1,900 | $47,200 |
| Kennewick-Richland, WA | 750 | $47,980 |
| Yakima, WA | 640 | $47,890 |
| Olympia-Lacey-Tumwater, WA | 620 | $50,300 |
| Bremerton-Silverdale-Port Orchard, WA | 590 | $49,470 |
| Bellingham, WA | 420 | $48,430 |
| Wenatchee-East Wenatchee, WA | 360 | $47,830 |
| Mount Vernon-Anacortes, WA | 200 | $49,370 |
| Longview-Kelso, WA | 190 | $53,140 |
| Walla Walla, WA | 130 | $46,670 |
Medical Assistant Program Cost and Financial Aid in Washington
Tuition at Washington community and technical colleges typically falls between $5,000 and $13,000 for medical assistant certificate and diploma programs, though total costs rise once you factor in books, lab fees, supplies, and other expenses. Understanding these numbers helps you budget realistically and identify the financial support that can bring your out-of-pocket expense down.
Published Tuition at Washington Programs
Costs vary by institution and program length. Here are examples from current program information:
- Grays Harbor College: In-state tuition runs approximately $5,593 for the associate degree program.
- Spokane Community College: Total program costs for the 114-credit associate degree reach roughly $17,500 when including tuition, books, fees, and supplies.
- Skagit Valley College: In-state tuition is about $5,400 for the AAS program.
- Edmonds College: The 43-credit certificate totals around $7,600 to $7,700 including tuition, books, and lab fees.2
- Whatcom Community College: The certificate program runs approximately $10,100 in total tuition,1 with additional lab fees of $75 per course.7
For the 2026-27 academic year, Washington community and technical colleges set per-credit tuition at roughly $264,3 though some institutions like Walla Walla Community College charge closer to $118 per credit.4
Financial Aid Options
Most CAAHEP-accredited community college programs qualify for federal financial aid. Completing the FAFSA opens access to Pell Grants, which do not require repayment and can cover a significant portion of tuition for eligible students.
Washington offers state-level support as well. The Washington State Opportunity Grant helps low-income students cover tuition and fees at community and technical colleges. Workforce funding programs assist students who have lost jobs or are changing careers, often covering up to 45 credits of tuition plus a book allowance of around $1,000.56
Veterans may use GI Bill benefits at most public colleges in Washington, though coverage details depend on the specific program and veteran status.
What Affects Your Net Price
Net price, the amount you actually pay after aid, depends on your household income, dependency status, and the aid package your school offers. Short certificate programs sometimes have limited institutional scholarships compared to longer medical assistant associate degree programs, so exploring workforce grants and federal aid early gives you the best shot at reducing costs.
Online vs. Campus Medical Assistant Programs in Washington
Fully remote medical assisting doesn't exist in Washington, and that's by design. Every accredited program, whether it calls itself hybrid or online, still requires you to show up in person for skills labs and a clinical externship. The real choice isn't between online medical assistant programs and campus programs; it's how much lecture work you can do from home versus how often you're expected on-site.
What "hybrid" actually means here
Most community and technical college programs, including Spokane Community College, Clark College, Edmonds College, and South Puget Sound Community College, use a hybrid model: coursework and lectures online, paired with mandatory in-person labs for vitals, injections, and phlebotomy.2345 Whatcom Community College follows the same pattern but schedules its evening labs specifically on Tuesdays and Thursdays, a rare option for people working daytime jobs.1 Herzing University's program is delivered entirely online for didactic coursework, but Washington residents still complete labs and an externship in person, and enrollment is limited to state residents only.6
Evening, weekend, and part-time realities
True schedule flexibility is scarce. Pima Medical Institute's Renton campus is the clearest option for evening and weekend attendance.7 UEI College's Tacoma program runs weekday hours until 8:00 p.m., which helps some working students, though it isn't formally labeled an evening track.8 Spokane, Clark, and South Puget Sound explicitly do not offer evening or weekend sections.235 Edmonds stands out for part-time enrollment, spreading coursework across six quarters instead of the standard pace, useful if you're balancing a job or family obligations.4
Weighing the tradeoff
Online coursework saves commute time and lets you study around a job, but it front-loads self-discipline. Campus labs, by contrast, build the muscle memory examiners and employers expect: drawing blood, taking vitals, and using an EHR under supervision as a clinical medical assistant. No program lets you skip that step. Externship placement details, including whether you can complete clinical hours near home, aren't clearly published for most schools, so ask directly during enrollment.
How to Earn Your Washington MA-C Credential in Five Steps
Washington issues two main medical assistant credentials: MA-C (certified) and MA-R (registered). Most graduates of accredited programs follow the MA-C route, which combines an approved training program, a national exam, and a state application.

Externship Requirements and Clinical Placement Support at Washington Programs
How many externship hours do you actually need to work as a certified medical assistant in Washington, and will your school help you find a site? Both questions matter, because the answers shape your final term of training and your first job leads.
The 160-Hour Rule (and Why Most Schools Exceed It)
The Washington State Department of Health sets a floor for the education pathway to MA-C certification, one of several medical assistant certifications: at least 720 clock hours of post-secondary training, including an externship of no fewer than 160 hours.1 Most accredited programs schedule more than the minimum to give you a stronger clinical footing. Edmonds College builds in 165 hours over 4 to 6 weeks.2 Spokane Community College requires 198 hours in the fourth quarter.3 Seattle Central College stacks multiple practicums for 320 to 340 total clinical hours.4 Confirm the current requirement with the Department of Health before you enroll, since specifics can vary by credential pathway.
Program-Placed vs. Self-Secured
Placement models are not uniform across Washington:
- Program-placed: Grays Harbor College assigns students to outpatient clinics through an extern coordinator, with 180 unpaid hours at 32 to 40 hours per week during spring quarter, according to its Medical Assistant Program Handbook. Out-of-town travel is possible and paid by the student.
- Student-secured: Herzing University's online Medical Assisting Program in Washington (open to Washington residents) asks students to locate their own site for 180 hours across roughly eight weeks. The clinical coordinator assists but does not guarantee placement.
- Not clearly documented: Edmonds, Seattle Central, Spokane, and Bellevue confirm hours but do not publicly spell out whether the school places you or you find your own site. Ask directly.
Typical host sites include Providence, UW Medicine, Kaiser Permanente, Swedish, MultiCare, and PeaceHealth, plus community clinics like HealthPoint, Sea Mar, and Neighborcare, and urgent care brands such as ZoomCare and Indigo. According to the Medical Assistant Externship in Washington guide, externships must be completed in person at a physical clinic, even if your coursework is online.
Questions to Ask Before You Enroll
- What percentage of students are placed, and how quickly?
- Does the school coordinate the site or do I find one?
- Are evening, weekend, or part-time externship schedules available?
- Is a background check or immunization panel required up front? (Edmonds, for example, requires a background check.2)
Admission Prerequisites and Deadlines for Washington Medical Assistant Programs
Admission requirements vary widely across Washington medical assistant programs. Most programs expect a high school diploma or GED, a background check, and up-to-date immunizations for clinical placements, but deadlines and entrance steps differ. The table below summarizes what current program materials list for seven Washington options.
| School | Minimum Education | Prerequisites | Application Deadline | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seattle Central College | Not specified in program details (no formal academic prerequisites required to start) | No prerequisite coursework; Fall 2026 application requires personal statement, letter of recommendation, and uploaded immunization records for clinical participation | June 1, 2026 | Application for Fall 2026 became available March 1, 2026; beginning March 2026 students must submit an application |
| CHAS Health | High school diploma or equivalent | Age 18 or older; Washington State background check; online application; resume; personal statement (350 words or fewer); life impact statement (350 words or fewer); short answers (100 words or fewer each); one letter of recommendation | Not specified | No separate entrance exam listed; interview requirements not specified on cited page |
| Columbia Basin College | High school diploma or equivalent GED (required for Washington State licensure) | Math and reading placement (MATH 40 and RDG 099 or higher via placement test); criminal background check and drug screen before clinical patient contact | Not specified | Graduates must pass a nationally approved medical assistant certification exam within five years before initial Washington licensure application; program-level application deadlines not listed |
| Grays Harbor College | Not specified in application details | English 095 with grade C- or better or placement into English 101; Math 097 with grade C- or better or placement into Math 098; Read 090 with grade C- or better; Washington State Patrol background check; immunizations | Not specified | Physical requirements include ability to lift at least 20 lbs and stand, sit, bend, squat, and walk for prolonged periods; immunizations documented during application |
| Arivva | High school diploma or GED | Age 18 or older; background check; required immunizations before program completion; passion for healthcare preferred | Not specified | No entrance exam or interview requirement specified |
| Whatcom Community College | Not specified in cited entry information | Washington State Patrol background check; students document started immunization series or records in first quarter (Hepatitis B series; MMR; Tdap; Varicella; annual influenza; TB testing) | Not specified | Entry information details immunization and background check requirements but does not list application deadlines or minimum age/education |
| Herzing University | High school diploma, GED, or equivalent | College readiness evidence via ACT/SAT scores, prior college credit, or entrance testing; background check, drug testing, immunizations, and health checks for clinical/internship; admissions advisor interview; enrollment application | Not specified | Enrollment available to prospective students residing in Washington State |
How to Choose the Right Washington Medical Assistant Program for You
Choosing a medical assistant program in Washington is less about hunting for one perfect school and more about matching cost, delivery format, and clinical support to your life.
Before you shortlist schools, write down your non-negotiables. Do you need an online or evening schedule? Are you limited to a certain commute or region? Can you attend full-time, or do you need part-time pacing? Will you need help finding an externship site? Filtering on those factors early prevents you from falling for a program that looks impressive but will be hard to finish.
Compare Three or Four Programs Side by Side
Use the rankings and tables in this guide to pull three or four Washington programs that seem promising. For each one, record total cost, campus or online delivery, externship support, and admission prerequisites and deadlines. Keep in mind that a top-earning program may not be the cheapest or the most flexible, and an affordable program may expect you to arrange your own clinical placement. The right choice often sits where accreditation, affordability, and schedule support overlap.
Confirm Current Details With the Program
Tuition, start dates, accreditation status, and externship partnerships can change from year to year. Contact admissions departments directly with a short list of questions: What is the current total program cost including supplies, background checks, and exams? Is externship placement arranged for every student? Are classes fully online, hybrid, or on campus? Ask for those answers in writing before you commit.
Additional Washington Medical Assistant Programs to Consider
Beyond the ranked programs above, Washington offers medical assistant training at community and technical colleges across the state, plus one private college in Spokane. The schools below are grouped by region so you can find options near where you live or plan to work. Each entry lists the city, program format, and a link to the program page.
Seattle Metro
- Medical Assistant Certificate
- Medical Assistant Certificate
- Certificate in Medical Assistant
North Puget Sound
- Medical Assistant AAS
- Medical Assistant Certificate
Olympic Peninsula and Kitsap
- Medical Assisting Associates of Applied Science
- Medical Assisting, Associate in Applied Science (AAS) degree
- Medical Assisting Certificate
Southwest Washington
- Medical Assistant with Phlebotomy or Business Option
- Medical Assisting
- Medical Assistant
- Medical Assistant Certificate of Proficiency (CP)
- Medical Assisting
- Medical Assisting Certificate
- Medical Assistant
- Medical Assistant
Spokane Area
- Associate in Applied Science - Medical Assistant
- Medical Assisting
Tri-Cities and Southeast Washington
- Medical Assistant Associate in Applied Science
- Medical Assistant
- Medical Assisting Program
Yakima Valley
- Medical Assisting
Related Articles
State by State
- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington DC
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming






