How much does a medical assistant program in Arizona actually cost after financial aid? Among the 22 accredited programs ranked for 2026 on affordability and graduate outcomes, net price runs from about $3,400 at Pima Community College to roughly $48,900 at a private career college. That spread matters before comparing certification pass rates or externship hours.
Arizona's median Medical Assistant Salary sits near $45,940, but CAAHEP and ABHES options range from 9-month certificates to two-year Medical Assistant Associate's Degrees. A lower-cost community college pathway can often match or beat a high-tuition private program in long-term earnings.
Best Medical Assistant Programs in Arizona: 2027 Rankings
These ten Arizona medical assistant programs are ranked to help you compare hands-on training, scheduling flexibility, and true cost. Strong options stand out for low net price, hybrid or online delivery, and manageable graduate debt. Accreditation details, including CAAHEP and ABHES status, are covered in a later section.
Pima Medical Institute-Phoenix
#1Phoenix, AZ · ~$23,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Career changers needing hybrid flexibility
Pima Medical Institute-Phoenix offers a 9-month Medical Assistant Certificate with hybrid flexibility and a clinical externship. The Phoenix campus reports a 65% graduation rate and an average net price around $23,004, though graduate debt data is not published. Reported median first-year earnings were about $8,521.
- 9-month program
- Hybrid learning option available
- Clinical externship included
- Hands-on training with real-world equipment
Pima Community College
#2Tucson, AZ · under $5,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Budget-minded Tucson students
Pima Community College in Tucson offers a one-year Medical Assistant Certificate with in-person and hybrid formats. Arizona residents pay in-state tuition around $2,442 and see a net price near $3,405, making this one of the most affordable options in the state. The college reports a 28% graduation rate, median first-year earnings of $39,810, and median graduate debt of $7,000.
- One-year program
- Hybrid study option available
- Military benefits accepted
- Includes back and front office clinical rotations
- Administer injections and medications
- Blood sample and specimen collection
Pima Medical Institute-East Valley
#3Mesa, AZ · $22,000/yr (est. net price)
Best for: Mesa-area students prioritizing externships
Pima Medical Institute-East Valley in Mesa offers a 9-month Medical Assistant certificate with hybrid scheduling and a required clinical externship. The school reports a 76% graduation rate, an average net price around $38,673, and median first-year earnings near $9,500. Graduate debt figures are not separately published.
- 9-month program
- Hybrid learning option
- Clinical externships provide real-world experience
- Prepares for careers in physicians' offices, hospitals, clinics
- Career services job placement help
Pima Medical Institute-Mesa
#4Mesa, AZ · $21,000/yr (est. net price)
Another Pima Medical Institute campus, this Mesa location offers the same 9-month Medical Assistant certificate with hybrid flexibility and a clinical externship. It reports a 67% graduation rate, net price around $38,673, and median first-year earnings of roughly $9,500. Graduate debt is not reported.
- 9-month program
- Hybrid learning option
- Clinical externship included
- Hands-on training with real-world equipment
- Career services support
Carrington College-Phoenix North
#5Phoenix, AZ
Carrington College's Phoenix North campus offers a 9-month Medical Assisting certificate with hands-on training using EKG machines and injection trainers. The program reports a 62% graduation rate and median first-year earnings near $9,500, while net price is about $36,718 and graduate debt is not reported.
- 9-month program
- Hands-on training with EKG machines
- Injection arm trainers and autoclaves
- Prepares for administrative and clinical roles
GateWay Community College
#6Phoenix, AZ · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)
GateWay Community College in Phoenix offers a fast-track Certificate of Competency in Medical Assisting with a cohort-based design and 200 clinical hours. Arizona residents pay in-state tuition around $2,358 and net price near $13,339. The college reports a 29% graduation rate, median first-year earnings of $46,147, and median graduate debt of $6,750.
- Cohort-based structure
- 200 clinical hours
- Prerequisite courses required
- Eligible for national certification exam
- CPR/BLS certification required
- Background check required
Pima Medical Institute-Tucson
#7Tucson, AZ
The Tucson campus of Pima Medical Institute delivers a 9-month Medical Assistant certificate with hybrid scheduling, a clinical externship, and mental health resources. It reports a 72% graduation rate and median first-year earnings around $9,500, while net price is listed near $38,673 and graduate debt is not reported.
- 9-month program
- Hybrid learning option available
- Clinical externships available
- Career services support
- Phlebotomy and injection skills
- Resume and interview coaching
Central Arizona College
#8Coolidge, AZ · $5,000/yr (est. net price)
Central Arizona College offers a Medical Assistant Certificate at its Superstition Mountain Campus, preparing graduates for the AMT certification exam. Arizona residents see in-state tuition around $2,250 and net price near $4,714, with median first-year earnings around $40,513 and graduate debt of $10,010. The college reports a 27% graduation rate.
- Prepares for American Medical Technologist (AMT)
- Financial aid available
- Eligible for AMT certification exam
- Offered at Superstition Mountain Campus
- Transfer and career resources
Mohave Community College
#9Kingman, AZ · ~$6,000/yr (est.)
Mohave Community College in Kingman provides both a Medical Assisting AAS and a General Certificate, with the AAS requiring 61-63 credits and the certificate designed for CAAHEP/MAERB accreditation. Arizona residents see in-state tuition near $2,208 and net price around $5,974. The college reports a 38% graduation rate, median first-year earnings of $35,522, and graduate debt of $9,700.
- Associate of Applied Science degree
- 61-63 total credits
- Prepares for national certification exam
- American Medical Technologists certification
- Includes clinical externship
- Requires TEAS V and background check
- CAAHEP/MAERB accredited
- Can be completed in one year
- Prepares for national certification
- Front and back-office roles
Arizona Western College
#10Yuma, AZ · $3,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)
Arizona Western College in Yuma offers a Medical Assistant AAS and an occupational certificate, both including a clinical externship and front- and back-office training. The AAS requires 60 credits across four semesters. Arizona residents see in-state tuition near $3,060 and net price around $8,983, with median first-year earnings of $36,857 and graduate debt of $4,826.
- 60 credit program
- Four semester structure
- Medical terminology and human anatomy courses
- Clinical externship included
- Prepares for national exam
- Front and back office skills
- Front and back office skills
- Externship included
- Requires CPR certification
- Requires fingerprint clearance card
How We Ranked Arizona Medical Assistant Programs
Ranking medical assistant programs in Arizona means comparing the practical factors most likely to affect your time, money, and job prospects: what you actually pay, how likely students are to finish, what graduates earn, how much debt they carry, and whether the credential is a Medical Assistant Certificate or a Medical Assistant Associate's Degree.
What we combined
We relied mainly on federal College Scorecard data for Arizona schools and, where available, program-level outcome data for medical assistant programs. The strongest mix includes:
- Affordability: net price after grants and scholarships.
- Completion: the share of students who graduate.
- Earnings: median earnings after finishing.
- Debt: typical federal student loan debt.
- Program type: certificate or associate degree pathway.
What the ranking does not do
Accreditation status and admission requirements are not part of this composite score and are handled separately. We also flag a real limitation: many federal outcomes are reported for the school as a whole, not for the medical assistant program alone. When program-level earnings or completion data are not available, the ranking uses institution-wide figures as the closest available comparison, not as a program-specific guarantee.
Related Articles
Accredited Medical Assistant Programs in Arizona: CAAHEP vs ABHES
In Arizona, medical assistant programs are accredited by either CAAHEP or ABHES. CAAHEP accreditation is common among community colleges and affiliated clinical training sites, while ABHES accreditation appears at several private career colleges. The table below lists currently recognized programs as verified through CAAHEP and ABHES directories in August 2026.
| School | Accreditation | Program Format |
|---|---|---|
| Central Arizona College | CAAHEP | Campus |
| GateWay Community College | CAAHEP | Campus |
| Arizona College (Mesa) | ABHES | Campus |
| Arizona College (Glendale) | ABHES | Campus |
| Brookline College | ABHES | Hybrid |
| Pima Medical Institute (Phoenix) | ABHES | Campus |
| Pima Medical Institute (Tucson) | ABHES | Campus |
| Pima Medical Institute (Mesa) | ABHES | Campus |
| Phoenix College | CAAHEP | Campus |
| West-MEC High School | CAAHEP | Campus |
| Kino College | ABHES | Campus |
Medical Assistant Externships and Clinical Training in Arizona
Medical assistant externships in Arizona are where training shifts from lab practice to real patient care, and the time commitment is not standardized. Across the state, requirements run from about 80 to 250 hours, with many programs clustering near 160 to 200 hours.
Clinical Hour Requirements at Top Programs
- Arizona School of Medical Assistant: 80 hours in a medical office.1
- Northland Pioneer College: 160 hours in a medical office or hospital setting.2
- GateWay Community College: 200 clinical hours according to program materials.
- Bryan University: 120 clinical hours within the online clinical medical assistant certificate.
- Pima Medical Institute: 200 externship hours across its Phoenix, Mesa, East Valley, and Tucson medical assistant programs.3
- Mayo Clinic externship: about 4 to 6 weeks of full-time, 8-hour days in Phoenix or Scottsdale for partner schools such as GateWay Community College and Phoenix College.4
Where You Will Likely Train
Most Arizona programs place students in outpatient medical offices and clinics rather than large inpatient units. Arizona School of Medical Assistant places students in a medical office1, Northland Pioneer College says medical office or hospital2, and at least one Arizona workforce-listed program lists private medical practice or clinic placements.5 Mayo Clinic is clearly outpatient and ambulatory within an academic medical center.4 If you specifically want a hospital or specialty practice, confirm with the program coordinator because many medical assistant schools do not publish that detail.
Placement Support and Preceptors
Strong local partnerships are not always spelled out. Mayo Clinic is the clearest on geography, limiting its externship to Phoenix and Scottsdale. Pima Medical Institute's multi-campus presence may make local commuting easier, although site placement is not formally guaranteed. EHired uses a self-managed externship of about 100 hours, so local placement is possible but not automatic, and Northland Pioneer serves a rural region without specifying how far students may travel.6 Preceptor qualifications are also rarely published; most schools do not list supervision ratios, though Stepful says students work with an experienced medical assistant. Ask directly about site options, commute distance, and who will supervise you.
Online vs Campus Medical Assistant Programs in Arizona
Herzing University's online medical assistant program for Arizona residents requires 180 hours of in-person externship after the online didactic work.1 This structure mirrors what many hybrid programs require.
Fully Online With Local Clinicals
Herzing delivers coursework online and pairs it with 180 externship hours, typically 25-40 hours per week over eight weeks. A clinical coordinator helps with select Arizona sites, but students are responsible for securing their own proctor and externship site. Stepful is 100% online through live Zoom classes and includes 80 hours of in-person clinicals; the program lasts about 4-5 months and prepares students for the CCMA exam, a common Medical Assistant Certification. Coaches help find local externships, but placement is not guaranteed, and the program's accreditation is not documented in available sources.
Hybrid and Campus-Based Options
Several Arizona schools use a hybrid format. Pima Medical Institute locations in Tucson and Mesa, Carrington College in Mesa, and Phoenix College list online coursework with required in-person labs and externships.2 Arizona College blends online content with campus labs as well.3 These programs arrange externships within commuting distance, but they are not fully online because lab hours require a campus visit. Traditional on-campus programs keep lectures and labs in person for more structure and less flexibility.
Check Externship Responsibility
EHired is online but requires a self-managed 100-hour externship and does not arrange placements.4 Some job board listings mention online coursework plus a 160-hour externship, but institution details and rural Arizona coverage are unclear.5 Before enrolling, ask how many clinical hours are required, who arranges the site, and whether rural placement is supported.
Medical Assistant Certification in Arizona: CMA, RMA, CCMA, NCMA
In Arizona, medical assistants are not state licensed, so the credential you earn often decides whether you get the interview. Understanding the four nationally recognized Medical Assistant Certifications helps you choose the right path.
The Four Main Credentials
- CMA (AAMA): Requires completion of a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program.1 Exam costs $125 for members, $250 for non-members.2 Renew every 60 months with 60 continuing education points.3
- RMA (AMT): Offers work-experience routes, including three years full-time in the past seven. Exam fee is about $150.4 Renew every three years with 30 points.
- CCMA (NHA): Requires a high school diploma or GED plus a training program within five years, or one year of supervised experience within three years.5 Exam costs $155 to $169.6 Renew every two years with 10 to 14 CEUs.7
- NCMA (NCCT): Requires a high school diploma or GED plus an NCCT-authorized program or one year of experience within five years. Exam fee is $119. Renew annually with 12 contact hours and an $89 fee.
What Arizona Employers Want
Phoenix and Tucson job postings show Banner Health accepts CMA, RMA, CCMA, and NCMA.8 Mayo Clinic Arizona lists CMA, RMA, and CCMA,9 while HonorHealth tends to prefer CMA, CCMA, or RMA.10 If uncertified, some systems may hire you with a requirement to earn certification within 12 months.
Steps After Graduation
Complete an accredited program, verify your eligibility, apply and schedule your exam, pass, then keep your credential current through CEUs and renewal deadlines.
Medical Assistant Jobs and Salary in Arizona: State Overview
Recent state data places the Arizona medical assistant median at $45,940 per year, or $22.09 per hour, with a narrow wage spread from roughly $38,100 at the 10th percentile to $51,310 at the 90th percentile. Certified medical assistant averages in Phoenix and Tucson run slightly below the statewide median. The table below shows the key pay figures currently available.
| Pay metric | Arizona figure | Year |
|---|---|---|
| Median annual wage | $45,940 | 2025 |
| Median hourly wage | $22.09 | 2025 |
| Mean annual wage | $43,140 | 2023 |
| Mean hourly wage | $20.74 | 2023 |
| 10th percentile annual wage | $38,100 | 2025 |
| 25th percentile annual wage | $38,010 | 2024 |
| 75th percentile annual wage | $48,450 | 2025 |
| 90th percentile annual wage | $51,310 | 2025 |
| Certified MA average annual wage (statewide) | $45,790 | 2025 |
| Certified MA average hourly wage (statewide) | $21.22 | 2025 |
| Certified MA average annual wage, Phoenix area | $42,803 | 2025 |
| Certified MA average annual wage, Tucson area | $40,904 | 2024 |
| Total medical assistants employed statewide | 22,180 | 2023 |
Medical Assistant Pay by Metro: Phoenix, Tucson, and Rural Arizona
Medical assistant pay varies by metro area in Arizona. In Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, the largest metro, medical assistants earned a median annual wage of $46,090 in 2024 federal data. Tucson and smaller metros such as Yuma and Sierra Vista-Douglas generally reported lower medians, while Flagstaff and Prescott Valley-Prescott were closer to the Phoenix metro.
| Metro Area | Estimated Employment | Average Annual Wage | 25th Percentile | Median Annual Wage | 75th Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ | 17,230 | $45,920 | $41,060 | $46,090 | $48,560 |
| Tucson, AZ | 3,140 | $41,970 | $37,840 | $42,900 | $45,400 |
| Prescott Valley-Prescott, AZ | 600 | $44,500 | $39,130 | $45,140 | $46,970 |
| Lake Havasu City-Kingman, AZ | 510 | $41,860 | $37,700 | $41,890 | $45,220 |
| Yuma, AZ | 440 | $39,870 | $35,720 | $38,630 | $42,850 |
| Flagstaff, AZ | 360 | $45,410 | $42,130 | $44,410 | $48,760 |
| Sierra Vista-Douglas, AZ | 260 | $40,540 | $37,640 | $39,920 | $42,960 |
Admissions and Prerequisites for Arizona Medical Assistant Programs
Requirements vary by school, so use this as a checklist and confirm details with your program.
- Age & educationMost programs expect a high school diploma or GED. Many require you to be 18 at admission or by completion; some accept younger students with parental or emancipation exceptions.
- Placement testsSome schools use ACCUPLACER scores or equivalent reading, writing, and math placement tests. Central Arizona College also requires an information session and a 75% HESI score.
- Health & immunizationsTypical requirements include a TB test or chest X-ray, Hepatitis B series, MMR and varicella doses, and a tetanus booster within 10 years. Exact vaccines vary by program.
- Background check & drug screeningMany programs require a DPS Level One fingerprint clearance card or criminal background check. Drug screening is not universal, but some medication assistant tracks require it.
- CPR & prerequisite coursesCPR certification (like AHA BLS) or First Aid/CPR may be required. Prerequisite courses such as medical administrative assisting, clinical medical assisting, or English and science credits may also be needed.
- Application deadlinesDeadlines are not standardized across Arizona medical assistant programs. Check each school’s admission page for current dates and program-specific requirements.
Additional Arizona Medical Assistant Programs to Consider
The ranked programs above are only part of the picture. Arizona also has a wide range of community college and career school options, from Sierra Vista to Flagstaff to the Phoenix metro. This directory groups additional medical assistant programs by region so you can compare location, delivery format, and program length at a glance.
Southern Arizona
- Medical Assistant Certificate
- Medical Assistant, Certificate
- Medical Assisting
Northern Arizona
- Medical Assistant
- Medical Assistant Certificate
- Medical Assistant Certificate
- Medical Assistant
- Medical Assistant, CAS
- Medical Assistant (CP)
Greater Phoenix
- Associate in Applied Science (AAS) in Medical Assisting
- Certificate of Completion (CCL) in Clinical Medical Assisting
- Certificate of Completion (CCL) in Medical Administrative Assisting
- Medical Assisting
- Clinical Medical Assistant Certificate
- Medical Assisting
- Medical Administrative Assisting
- Clinical Medical Assisting
- Medical Assisting
State by State
- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- Washington DC
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming






