A medical assistant handles the front-line clinical and administrative work in a doctor's office, taking vitals, prepping patients, drawing blood, and scheduling visits, usually after 9 to 12 months of training rather than a multi-year degree. Chandler sits inside the Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler metro, where medical assistants earned a median $46,830 in May 2025, and where clinics, urgent care chains, and hospital systems keep adding staff to keep pace with the region's growth.
The real friction for local students isn't finding a program, it's sorting ten nearby schools and several online options against cost, accreditation, and Arizona's no-license credentialing rules.
Medical Assistant Jobs and Employers in Chandler
If you live in Chandler, the real question isn't whether there are medical assistant jobs nearby; it's whether to stay hyper-local or tap the wider Phoenix metro. The good news: you can do both without moving. Chandler sits inside one of the busiest healthcare hiring corridors in Arizona, and most employers hire across the East Valley.
Who's Hiring in and Around Chandler
The biggest names posting MA roles are the major hospital systems and their outpatient networks: Banner Health, Dignity Health, HonorHealth, and Valleywise Health.1 Large physician groups like UnitedHealth Group (Optum) and multispecialty practices such as American Medical Associates recruit steadily across primary care, internal medicine, and mental health clinics.3 Specialty employers, including Balance Hormone Center and orthopedic groups, round out the mix, and retail and infusion roles at CVS Health and CenterWell often combine medical assisting with phlebotomy.4 CenterWell has advertised a $2,000 signing bonus for new 2026 clinics.1
Where You'll Actually Work
Most MA jobs in the area are outpatient and in-person, with typical clinical medical assistant duties. Typical settings include:
- Physician offices and primary care clinics (rooming, vitals, EMR)
- Specialty clinics (injections, phlebotomy, procedure assist, casting)
- Urgent care and outpatient surgery centers
- Hospital-affiliated ambulatory clinics
- Retail health and infusion sites
Schedules are usually full-time day shifts, often 8 to 10 hour blocks. Banner postings note weeks that can run up to 48 hours.1
Hiring Demand Right Now
Job boards in mid-2026 list well over 900 MA openings tied to Chandler1 and more than 1,000 across the metro, with roughly 553 in the City Phoenix area, 165 in Scottsdale, 158 in Mesa, 121 in Chandler, and 105 in Tempe2. Because Chandler is a 20 to 40 minute drive from most of these hubs, you can apply across the East Valley without relocating, which meaningfully widens your options as a new graduate.
Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Programs for Chandler Residents
Chandler residents can choose a nearby hybrid class, a fully online didactic path with Arizona clinical sites, or a Phoenix-area hybrid that blends online learning with in-office practice. The three options below differ in pacing and how the externship is arranged, so compare placement support before you enroll.
| Program | Delivery format | Estimated length | Clinical placement | Accreditation status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skilltrade Medical Assistant Hybrid Program (Chandler) | Hybrid, online coursework plus in-person lab every other week at the Chandler location | Externship 80 to 120 hours; total program length not specified | Includes an 80 to 120-hour externship arranged near the student | Specific institutional or programmatic accreditor not stated in program materials |
| Herzing University Online Medical Assisting for Arizona Residents | Fully online didactic classes plus hands-on clinical labs and externship | About 8 weeks of online coursework, plus 180 clinical hours | Externship and clinical training completed at partnered clinical and externship sites in Arizona | Specific medical assistant program accreditor not named in cited source |
| Phoenix Medical Assistant School Medical Assistant Program | Hybrid, online learning plus in-person practice in a medical office | 18 weeks; includes 80-hour externship | 80-hour externship in a local medical office under supervision | Specific institutional or programmatic accreditor not stated in program materials |
Where Chandler Medical Assistant Students Complete Clinicals
Clinical externships are a core part of any medical assistant program. They give you supervised, hands-on experience in a real healthcare setting before you graduate. In the Chandler and Phoenix metro area, several facilities are known to work with training programs, though partnerships can shift from one semester to the next.
Confirmed Clinical Partners in the Metro
Two organizations stand out as documented externship hosts for students in the region:
- Mayo Clinic Arizona: Currently partners with GateWay Community College, Phoenix College, and West-MEC High School for medical assistant externships. If your program has an affiliation with Mayo, this is a highly regarded clinical placement.
- Concentra: Offers medical support externships for students enrolled in certified training programs. Their urgent care centers are located throughout the Phoenix metro, making them a practical option for Chandler-area students.
Beyond these two, the metro is home to major healthcare employers like Banner Health, CommonSpirit/Dignity Health, Phoenix Children's, UnitedHealth Group, and numerous specialty practices. Many of these organizations actively hire medical assistants in Chandler and surrounding cities. While they are plausible externship hosts, their formal student placement agreements are not always publicly listed, so you will want to ask your program directly about current partnerships.
How Programs Match You With a Site
Most accredited programs have a clinical coordinator who manages externship placements. The process typically works like this:
- You complete your classroom and lab coursework first.
- The coordinator matches you with a partner facility based on location, availability, and sometimes your career interests (pediatrics, internal medicine, surgical specialties, neurology medical assistant, etc.).
- Some programs let you suggest a site, while others assign placements from a set list of pre-approved partners.
Programs located closer to central Phoenix may have a wider pool of affiliated hospitals and large clinic systems. Chandler-based students can usually access the same sites, but commute times are worth considering. A 25-mile radius from central Chandler still puts most major metro facilities within reach.
Verify Before You Enroll
Clinical partnerships can change. A site that hosted externs last year may not be available this year. Before committing to any program, ask the admissions team for a current list of clinical partners. Confirm that placements are guaranteed as part of the program and that sites are located within a reasonable distance from your home. This one step can save you time, money, and frustration down the road.
Medical Assistant Schools Within Commuting Distance of Chandler
Ten accredited medical assistant programs operate within a 25-mile radius of Chandler, giving local residents several pathways to enter the field. Each school offers a distinct combination of format, timeline, and cost, so the right fit depends on your schedule, budget, and learning preferences.
Community College Options
Chandler-Gilbert Community College sits in the heart of Chandler and offers a Medical Administrative Assisting certificate. In-district tuition runs approximately $2,358, making it one of the most affordable routes in the area. Students must hold current CPR/BLS certification and complete an administrative practicum before graduating.
GateWay Community College in Phoenix provides a Certificate of Competency in Medical Assisting with 200 required clinical hours. Net price after aid averages around $13,339 for in-state students. The cohort-based structure keeps classes moving on a predictable schedule, and graduates are eligible to sit for national certification exams.
Phoenix College offers an Associate in Applied Science in Medical Assisting delivered through a hybrid format. The program requires 63 to 71 total credits and prepares students for both clinical and administrative roles. Estimated net price hovers near $12,055 for Arizona residents.
Private and Career-Focused Programs
Pima Medical Institute operates three Phoenix-area campuses. The Mesa location closest to Chandler charges roughly $21,461 to $22,453 in net tuition for its nine-month certificate. All Pima campuses include clinical externships and offer a hybrid learning option that blends online coursework with hands-on labs.
Carrington College maintains campuses in Mesa and Phoenix North. The Mesa campus delivers a hybrid Medical Assisting program, while Phoenix North focuses on campus-based training. Both locations run nine-month timelines and prepare students for certification exams.
Bryan University in Tempe offers a fully online clinical medical assistant certificate spanning 10 months and 30 credit hours. Net price averages around $20,834, and the program includes 120 clinical hours plus preparation for the Certified Clinical Medical Assistant credential.
Brookline College in Tempe runs a 33-week campus-based program with an estimated net price near $22,297. Coursework covers coding, billing, and electronic health records alongside clinical skills.
Choosing Your Format
- Campus programs suit students who prefer in-person instruction and immediate access to lab equipment.
- Hybrid options balance flexibility with scheduled face-to-face sessions.
- Fully online programs work well for those juggling work or family responsibilities, though clinical hours still require local placement.
How to Choose an Accredited Medical Assistant Program in Chandler
Accreditation has become the quiet gatekeeper for medical assistant training in Chandler: it often determines whether you can sit for the CMA (AAMA) exam or need to take extra steps later.
Institutional vs. Programmatic Accreditation
Institutional accreditation covers a school as a whole. Programmatic accreditation covers a specific medical assistant program through an agency such as CAAHEP or ABHES. A school can hold institutional accreditation while its medical assistant certificate is not individually accredited, so ask about both.
Chandler-Area Programs at a Glance
- Central Arizona College: The Medical Assistant AAS program is CAAHEP-accredited. The medical assistant certificate track does not carry that same designation in available materials and is positioned for AMT exam eligibility instead.
- Pima Medical Institute: The institution holds ABHES accreditation, but programmatic accreditation for its medical assistant certificate is not confirmed. Ask whether the specific certificate carries program-level status rather than assuming the institution's status applies.
- Gateway Community College: Its medical assisting program appears in CAAHEP listings, but campus and scheduling details for Chandler-area students are not clearly stated. Confirm the exact location before committing.1
- Chandler-Gilbert Community College: It offers medical administrative assisting and clinical medical assisting certificates with practicum hours, but no CAAHEP or ABHES programmatic accreditation is mentioned in the sources. If CMA (AAMA) is your goal, verify exam eligibility.3
- Carrington College Phoenix: A February 2022 ABHES commission action references institutional accreditation withdrawal or denial. That is not a full current report, but it makes direct confirmation essential.4
Why Programmatic Accreditation Matters
The AAMA requires CMA (AAMA) candidates to graduate from a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited medical assistant program1. Graduates of other programs may need to use different certification routes, such as AMT, which can still lead to employment but may not match every employer's preference. In Arizona, only 2 CAAHEP and 12 ABHES accredited medical assistant programs are listed, so the choices are narrower than the number of campuses offering certificates.2
How to Verify
Before enrolling, search the ABHES directory and the CAAHEP directory for the exact program name and campus. If a school says a program is accredited, ask for the accreditor and the program name exactly as listed, not just the school name.
Medical Assistant Program Costs in Chandler: Tuition, Fees, and Financial Aid
Chandler-area medical assistant programs vary widely in published total cost, from about $2,990 for a short Pulse Medical Assistant School program to about $10,190 for a certified medical assistant program. Many listings do not separate fees, books, or exam costs, so always confirm what a total includes. Keep in mind that federal net price data is institution-wide and includes living costs; for example, Phoenix College's average net price after aid is about $12,055, even though its in-state tuition is $2,358.
| Program / School | Tuition (In-State) | Average Net Price After Aid | Fees & Materials | Total Program Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pulse Medical Assistant School | N/A | N/A | Not separately published | $2,990 | 16-week program; pay-in-full or weekly payment options |
| Arizona Job Connection Medical Assistant Program (Chandler) | N/A | N/A | Not separately published | $3,832.19 | Listed in-state total |
| Medical Assisting, Certification of Completion Training Program | $4,073 | N/A | Registration $30; books $973; lab $750; supplies $75 | $5,926 | In-state total; out-of-state total $13,638 |
| Phoenix College Medical Assisting CCL | $2,358 (institutional) | $12,055 | N/A | $4,410 (estimated) | Two-semester CCL; net price is institution-wide average including living costs |
| Chandler-Gilbert Community College Medical Administrative Assisting | $2,358 | $12,726 | N/A | N/A | Program total not separately published |
| Certified Medical Assistant Program (Chandler Area) | $9,850 | N/A | N/A | $10,190 | Total includes additional costs; fees not itemized |
Related Articles
Medical Assistant Salaries in Chandler and the Phoenix Metro
Chandler sits inside the Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler metro area, where medical assistants earned a median annual wage of $46,830 in May 2025. That figure runs slightly above both the Arizona median of $45,940 and the national median of $45,690. While pay varies by employer, experience, and specialty, earning a national medical assistant certification is often associated with higher wages for job seekers.
| Location | Median Annual Wage | 10th Percentile | 90th Percentile | Total Employment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | $45,690 | $36,050 | $59,310 | 817,870 jobs |
| Arizona | $45,940 | $38,100 | $51,310 | 21,460 jobs |
Chandler Medical Assistants Earn More Than You Might Expect
Medical assistant pay in the Phoenix area tops the Arizona statewide median.
Medical Assistant Certification and Licensure in Arizona
Arizona is one of the states where medical assistants can legally work without holding any license or national certification, which surprises a lot of new students.4 That doesn't mean credentials are optional in practice: most Chandler clinics, hospitals, and staffing agencies now expect a national certification before they'll put you in front of patients, and many malpractice carriers require it as a condition of coverage.4
What Arizona Actually Requires
The Arizona Medical Board does not license medical assistants.4 Instead, state rules define scope of practice and, since HB 2113 passed in 2024, allow physician-designed training programs that meet board rules.5 Under direct supervision of a physician, PA, or NP, you can take vitals, run basic diagnostic tests, and give certain injections. You cannot diagnose, prescribe, design treatment plans, or start IVs. Without direct supervision on site, your role narrows to administrative work: scheduling, billing, and records. The Arizona Board of Nursing also maintains a separate CMA program list for assistants working in nursing-supervised settings.
The Three Main Credentials
- CMA (AAMA): Certified Medical Assistant, awarded by the American Association of Medical Assistants. Requires graduation from a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program.
- RMA (AMT): Registered Medical Assistant, awarded by American Medical Technologists. Accepts accredited program graduates and, in some cases, candidates with documented work experience.
- CCMA (NHA): Certified Clinical Medical Assistant, awarded by the National Healthcareer Association. Widely accepted by Arizona employers and often the target exam for shorter, career-focused programs.
What Chandler Programs Prepare You For
Pulse Medical Assistant School in Chandler runs a 16-week, online-first program with four in-person labs and prepares graduates specifically for the CCMA exam. The exam fee is included in tuition, which is unusual and worth noting. A separate Medical Assistant Training Program listed on Alma School Road also targets the CCMA and shows a testing fee of $320, though the listing doesn't clarify whether that's bundled into tuition or billed separately, so ask directly before enrolling.6 Community college programs like Pima's 27-credit certificate typically prepare students for the CMA or RMA route, but confirm the exam target and whether the fee is included when you meet with an advisor.
Typical Sequence
Enroll, complete coursework and clinicals, sit for your chosen national exam within a few weeks of graduation, and start applying to Chandler employers with your certification listed on your resume.
Arizona Medical Assistant Credentialing at a Glance
Top Medical Assistant Programs for Chandler Students
Here are the top medical assistant programs serving Chandler students, ranked by outcomes and program fit. The list includes local community college options, private career colleges, and an online program, so you can compare cost, schedule, and clinical training.
Chandler-Gilbert Community College
#1Chandler, AZ · $2,000 – $9,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Chandler residents seeking local transfer pathways
Chandler-Gilbert Community College sits right in Chandler, making it the most convenient option for local students. Its medical assisting certificates cover both administrative and clinical tracks, with a practicum in real healthcare settings. The college has an open admissions policy for most programs, so entry is accessible, and its credits articulate toward a four-year degree through NAU and other Arizona universities. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 30 percent, and net price after aid is around $12,726 for eligible students.
- Includes administrative practicum
- Requires CPR/BLS certification
- Must be at least 18 years old
- High school diploma or GED required
- Level One Fingerprint Clearance Card required
- Program acceptance required
- Transfer pathway to NAU available
- 16-22 credit hours required
- 24 total credit hours
- Must be at least 18 years old
- High school diploma or GED required
- Current CPR/BLS Provider card required
- Level One Fingerprint Clearance Card required
- Program acceptance required
- Transfer pathway to NAU available
Pima Medical Institute-Phoenix
#2Phoenix, AZ · ~$23,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Hands-on learners seeking clinical externships
Pima Medical Institute-Phoenix offers a focused Medical Assistant certificate that can be completed in about nine months. The Phoenix campus gives Chandler students access to hands-on labs, an optional hybrid format, and a clinical externship in local medical offices. Career services support helps with job placement after graduation. The institution reports a graduation rate near 65 percent and a net price after aid around $23,004.
- Can be completed in about 9 months
- Includes clinical externship
- Optional hybrid learning format
- Hands-on training with real-world equipment
- Career services support
- Prepares for medical office roles
Pima Medical Institute-East Valley
#3Mesa, AZ · $22,000/yr (est. net price)
Best for: Busy students wanting hybrid flexibility
Pima Medical Institute-East Valley in Mesa provides a nine-month Medical Assistant certificate with a hybrid option for schedule flexibility. The program includes a clinical externship and career services support, and it emphasizes both clinical and clerical skills. Chandler students can reach the Mesa campus easily, which is about 10 miles from central Chandler. Graduation rate is about 76 percent and net price after aid is about $22,453.
- 9-month program
- Clinical externship included
- Hybrid option available
- Career services for job placement
- Covers clinical and clerical skills
Pima Medical Institute-Mesa
#4Mesa, AZ · $21,000/yr (est. net price)
Pima Medical Institute-Mesa offers another nine-month Medical Assistant certificate with a hybrid learning option. Classes start in July, and students complete a clinical externship while gaining hands-on experience. The Mesa campus is convenient for Chandler residents who want a direct route to entry-level medical assistant roles. Graduation rate is about 67 percent and net price after aid is around $21,461.
- 9-month program
- Classes start July 1
- Hybrid learning option available
- Clinical externship included
- Career services support
- Curriculum covers clinical and clerical duties
Carrington College-Phoenix North
#5Phoenix, AZ
Carrington College-Phoenix North offers a Medical Assisting certificate that can be completed in as few as nine months. Students train with industry equipment such as EKG machines and injection arm trainers, and the campus supports both administrative and clinical roles. Chandler residents can commute to north Phoenix for this focused entry path. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 62 percent; net price after aid is not published for this campus.
- 9-month program
- Hands-on training with EKG machines
- Prepares for administrative and clinical roles
- Well-equipped lab spaces
GateWay Community College
#6Phoenix, AZ · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)
GateWay Community College in Phoenix offers a fast-track Certificate of Competency in Medical Assisting through a cohort-based structure. The program includes 200 clinical hours and prepares students to sit for the national certification exam. Chandler students benefit from low tuition as a Maricopa community college. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 29 percent, and net price after aid is roughly $13,339.
- Cohort-based structure
- 200 clinical hours
- Prerequisite courses required
- Fast-track program format
- Eligible for national certification exam
- Requires CPR/BLS certification
- Background check required
Carrington College-Mesa
#7Mesa, AZ · $45,000 – $50,000/yr (est.)
Carrington College-Mesa offers a hybrid Medical Assisting certificate that combines online coursework with an in-person externship. The nine-month program includes training in EHR systems and prepares students for certification exams, with financial aid and scholarships available. The Mesa campus is an easy commute for many Chandler residents. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 54 percent and net price after aid is roughly $48,877, though scholarships can lower that figure.
- Entrance exam required
- 9-month program
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Includes in-person externship
- Learn EHR and medical office software
- Prepares for certification exams
- Hands-on training in patient care
Bryan University
#8Tempe, AZ · ~$21,000/yr (est.)
Bryan University in Tempe offers an online Clinical Medical Assistant Certificate that takes about 10 months. The 30-credit program uses online simulations and includes 120 clinical hours, preparing graduates for the CCMA certification exam. Chandler students can complete most coursework remotely, which is ideal for working adults. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 41 percent and net price after aid is around $20,834.
- 10-month program
- 30 total credit hours
- 2.0 GPA minimum
- 120 clinical hours
- Capstone required
- Prepares for CCMA certification
- Personalized instruction and coaching
- Online simulations and demonstrations
Phoenix College
#9Phoenix, AZ · $12,000/yr (est. net price)
Phoenix College provides both an Associate in Applied Science in Medical Assisting and two certificates, including clinical and administrative tracks. The associate degree requires 63 to 71 credits and offers full-time or part-time study, with a hybrid delivery option. Chandler students can transfer credits toward a bachelor's degree through the Maricopa system. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 14 percent and net price after aid is roughly $12,055.
- 63-71 total credits required
- Hybrid delivery option
- Full-time or part-time options
- Eligible for national certification exam
- Transfer pathway available
- 24 total credit hours
- Prerequisite courses required
- Eligible for national certification exam
- Requires CPR/BLS certification
- Background check and fingerprint card
- Includes clinical practicum
- C or better in all courses
- Formal application required
- Prerequisite courses required
- Eligible for Certified Medical Administrative Specialist exam
- Requires high school diploma or GED
- Must be 18 years of age
- Formal application and acceptance
- C grade or better in all courses
- Background check with fingerprint clearance
- Prior learning assessment credit may be awarded
Brookline College-Tempe
#10Tempe, AZ · $20,000 – $25,000/yr (est.)
Brookline College-Tempe offers an accelerated Medical Assisting diploma that can be completed in as little as 33 weeks. The program uses labs and simulations to teach coding, billing, and electronic medical records, preparing students for entry-level roles. Chandler students can reach the Tempe campus in a short drive. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 40 percent and net price after aid is around $22,297.
- 33-week program
- Real-world labs and simulations
- Covers coding, billing, and EHR
- Growing field with 16% projected growth
Next Steps: How to Start Your Medical Assistant Career in Chandler
What should you actually do first if you want to become a certified medical assistant in Chandler? The path is straightforward, but the order matters.
Your quick-start checklist
- Choose an accredited medical assistant program in Chandler or a nearby Phoenix metro campus.
- Apply early and confirm admission requirements, since cohorts can fill quickly.
- Complete your clinical hours at an approved Chandler or East Valley site.
- Pass a national certification exam such as the CCMA, CMA (AAMA), or RMA.
- Update your resume with your certification and clinical site experience before applying for jobs.
Contact top-ranked programs directly for current tuition, start dates, and clinical placement availability. These details often change each enrollment period, so do not rely on older brochures or third-party summaries. Ask specifically about externship sites in Chandler and which employers hire graduates.
Where to find jobs and professional support
Search Phoenix metro job boards and the career pages of Chandler hospitals, clinics, and outpatient surgery centers. Arizona medical assistant networks and campus career services can also point you toward unposted openings and new graduate-friendly employers.
Use the ranked list above as your starting point. Pick two or three schools, request information the same week, and schedule a campus visit or virtual information session before choosing a program.






