Healthcare hiring across the Dallas-Fort Worth corridor is accelerating, with major systems like Texas Health Physicians Group staffing hundreds of clinical support roles each year to keep pace with outpatient growth. For prospective medical assistants, that translates into a realistic timeline: most accredited programs run 9 to 12 months and prepare you to sit for a national certification exam such as the CMA or RMA.
The practical challenge is sorting through your options, from fully online programs to commuter-friendly campuses, while weighing tuition costs against a Dallas-area median wage around $40,000 to $43,000. Employer expectations, Texas scope-of-practice rules, and program accreditation all factor into which training path actually pays off.
Dallas Medical Assistant Employers and Job Market Context
Texas Health Physicians Group operates more than 250 locations and over 800 clinicians1 spread across 11 North Texas counties and roughly 6,429 square miles2, making it one of the single largest employers of medical assistants in the Metroplex. That footprint alone gives you a sense of the scale of ambulatory care hiring in Dallas-Fort Worth.
Major Health Systems Hiring MAs
Beyond Texas Health, several other systems consistently recruit medical assistants across the region:
- Baylor Scott & White Health: hires MAs across clinics in Dallas, Southlake, and Frisco, spanning primary care and specialty practices.
- UT Southwestern Medical Center: staffs medical assistants in Dallas, including in oncology and other specialty clinics.
- Medical City Healthcare and Children's Health: two more anchor systems in the Dallas market with ongoing clinical support hiring.
- Cook Children's: active in the Fort Worth side of the Metroplex, including urgent care locations in Southlake.
On top of hospital systems, national outpatient brands have moved aggressively into DFW. Oak Street Health operates clinics in Dallas, Garland, and Fort Worth. Optum and WellMed run primary care sites across Dallas, including WellMed at Hampton. NextCare Urgent Care staffs multiple walk-in clinics in Dallas, Fort Worth, and Arlington.
Typical Work Settings
As a medical assistant in Dallas, you can realistically land in any of four environments:
- Large hospital-affiliated outpatient clinics (Baylor Scott & White, Texas Health, UT Southwestern).
- Multi-site physician groups such as Texas Health Physicians Group and OrthoTexas.
- Urgent care and retail-adjacent clinics like NextCare and Oak Street Health.
- Specialty practices in dermatology, oncology, orthopedics, and pediatrics (Platinum Dermatology Partners, Northstar Dermatology, The Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders, Rainbow Children's Clinic, among others).
That mix matters because your day-to-day work looks very different in a fast-paced urgent care versus a dermatology office or a pediatric primary care clinic.
Texas Scope of Practice
Texas does not license medical assistants at the state level. Instead, MAs work under the delegated authority of a supervising physician, who is responsible for the tasks assigned. In practice, that typically covers rooming patients, taking vitals, documenting history, performing venipuncture and injections, running EKGs, assisting with minor procedures, and handling clinical administrative work. Higher-risk tasks (such as administering certain medications) depend on the physician's delegation and your training.
Why Demand Stays Strong
DFW is one of the fastest-growing metros in the country, and the population skews toward both young families and a growing older adult segment. More residents means more primary care visits, more specialty referrals, and more outpatient volume, which is exactly where medical assistants are in demand. Job boards like Indeed consistently show hundreds of open MA and clinical medical assistant (CCMA) postings across Dallas-Fort Worth at any given time2.
Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Programs Serving Dallas Students
Can you complete a medical assistant program mostly online while living in the Dallas area? The short answer is yes, but with an important caveat: because medical assisting requires hands-on clinical competencies like phlebotomy, injections, and vital sign measurement, fully online programs are uncommon. Most medical assistant programs in Texas that serve Dallas students use a hybrid format that combines online coursework with required in-person labs or externships.
Understanding Online vs. Hybrid Formats
A truly 100% online program is rare in this field. CCI Training Center offers one of the few fully online medical assistant programs, featuring live instructor-led classes with a required 240-hour supervised clinical externship that students complete at an approved facility near their home.1 This model lets you learn theory remotely while still gaining the hands-on practice employers expect.
Hybrid programs, which are far more common, split your time between online lectures and scheduled campus visits for lab work. The balance varies, so comparing medical assistant schools near me can help you find the right fit for your lifestyle.
Dallas-Area Hybrid Programs at a Glance
- Dallas Medical Assistant School: 18-week hybrid with weekly Saturday hands-on practice, or a 24-week weekend hybrid combining online lectures with in-person labs every other Saturday.2
- TSC Career Institute: 12-week hybrid with in-person classes on Mondays and Wednesdays and online instruction on other days.3
- PCI Health Training Center: 36-week hybrid requiring two days on campus each week.4
- Pulse Medical Assistant School: 16-week online-first program with online sessions on Tuesdays and intensive Saturday lab sessions.5
- UEI College Dallas: 10-month hybrid program based at its Dallas campus.6
- TWU Workforce Training: 20-week hybrid featuring self-paced online modules.7
- Legacy Career Institute: 10 to 12 week weekend-intensive program meeting Saturdays and Sundays from 9:30 AM to 5:30 PM.8
Schedule Flexibility: Evenings, Weekends, and Accelerated Tracks
Many Dallas programs recognize that students juggle work or family obligations. TSC Career Institute advertises day, evening, and weekend scheduling options.3 Dallas Medical Assistant School offers Saturday session times that vary by location, with morning slots at some campuses and afternoon slots at others.2 For students seeking the fastest path, Legacy Career Institute's weekend program can be completed in as few as 10 weeks.8
Verify Accreditation Before Enrolling
Before committing to any online or hybrid program, confirm that the curriculum meets certification eligibility requirements. Programs accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES are recognized by major credentialing bodies like the CMA and RMA exams. Even if online components are convenient, an unaccredited program could leave you ineligible to sit for certification, limiting your job prospects after graduation.
In-State Medical Assistant Programs Within Commuting Distance of Dallas
For Dallas-area students who want in-person labs, campus support, or a hybrid schedule without relocating, the decision often comes down to location and total cost versus how much flexibility a program offers. The options below are not ranked. They are a directory of Texas programs within a reasonable commute from Dallas, including Fort Worth, Arlington, North Richland Hills, and Dallas itself.
Commuting-Distance Directory
- UT Arlington (Arlington): Campus-based clinical medical assistant certificate. Institution-wide in-state tuition $11,950, average net price $13,951, graduation rate 54%. The program page also lists a lower $4,500 total program tuition, so confirm current pricing before applying.
- Remington College Online Dallas (Dallas): Fully online medical assisting associate degree for students who want local support without a commute. Institution-wide in-state tuition $12,289, average net price $24,413, graduation rate not reported.
- Remington College Fort Worth Campus (North Richland Hills): Campus-based associate degree. Institution-wide in-state tuition $16,071, average net price $25,913, graduation rate 45%.
- The College of Health Care Professions Dallas (Dallas): Campus program with blended learning options. Institution-wide tuition not reported; program cost starts at about $17,400. Average net price $27,411, graduation rate 63%.
- Parker University (Dallas): Hybrid medical assistant certificate. Institution-wide in-state tuition $17,893, average net price $29,135, graduation rate 74%.
- Remington College Dallas Campus (Dallas): Campus-based associate degree. Institution-wide in-state tuition $15,025, average net price $29,805, graduation rate not reported.
These locations put most programs within a 30-to-45 minute drive for many Dallas residents, though I-35W and I-30 traffic can stretch that during peak hours.
Which Format Fits Your Commute
Most of these programs are campus or hybrid, so you will need to plan for scheduled lab days, externships, or clinical checkoffs. If your commute is tighter, the fully online Remington option removes the drive; it is still based in Dallas and may pair with local clinical placements. Hybrid and campus formats tend to offer more hands-on practice. That can help if you learn better by doing than watching.
Reading the Numbers Correctly
The tuition, net price, and graduation figures above are institution-wide averages from IPEDS and College Scorecard. They are not program-specific medical assistant completion rates, and a school's overall graduation rate can be shaped by many other degree paths. Net price reflects an average after grant or scholarship aid, not a guaranteed sticker price. For the most accurate picture, ask the program for its medical assistant cohort completion numbers and current per-program tuition.
Medical Assistant Salary and Job Outlook in Dallas
Medical assistants in the Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington metro area earned a median annual wage of $43,100 in 2025, according to the most recent Bureau of Labor Statistics data. That places Dallas-area pay just below the national median of $44,200, though top earners in the metro can reach over $55,000 a year. Total metro employment was 17,280 in 2023, reflecting a large healthcare support workforce.
| Wage or employment measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX median annual wage (2025) | $43,100 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX 10th percentile annual wage (2025) | $35,570 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX 25th percentile annual wage (2025) | $37,840 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX 75th percentile annual wage (2025) | $47,850 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX 90th percentile annual wage (2025) | $55,620 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX median hourly wage (2025) | $20.72 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX total employment (2023) | 17,280 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX mean annual wage (2023) | $40,560 |
| United States median annual wage (2024) | $44,200 |
Dallas Medical Assistant Median Wage Vs. National
Medical assistants in Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington earn a median of $40,160 per year.
Texas Medical Assistant Certification and Scope of Practice
In Texas, the central choice for Dallas medical assistants is not whether you must get a state license, because you do not, but which voluntary national certification will make your resume competitive.1 Medical assisting is not regulated at the state credentialing level. How to Become a Medical Assistant in Dallas usually comes down to employer expectations rather than a Texas legal mandate. Most Dallas employers still prefer national certification even though the state does not require it.1
What Texas requires and does not require
Texas does not require medical assistants to hold a state license, registration, or certification. Certification is voluntary.1 The practical minimum for many Dallas employers is a high school diploma or GED3 plus the training and credentials that show you can work safely in a clinic. Because hospitals and larger practices often set their own hiring standards, certification can function like an unofficial requirement even though the state does not impose it.
Certifications Dallas employers recognize
The most widely accepted national certifications in the Dallas area are:2 - CMA: Certified Medical Assistant, issued by the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) - RMA: Registered Medical Assistant, issued by American Medical Technologists (AMT) - CCMA: Certified Clinical Medical Assistant, issued by the National Healthcareer Association (NHA) - NCMA: National Certified Medical Assistant, issued by the National Center for Competency Testing (NCCT)
The typical path is to complete an accredited medical assistant program, sit for one of these exams, and then maintain the credential through continuing education. National certification can improve employability, particularly at hospitals and larger clinics that may list a credential as a preferred or required qualification.
Working under physician supervision
Texas law requires medical assistants to work under the supervision of a licensed physician or other authorized healthcare provider.4 Tasks must be delegated4, and the work must stay within legal and safety limits. Because state rules do not publish a single itemized list of every permitted and prohibited task, Dallas medical assistants should follow the policies of their supervising provider and clinic, and use medical assistant resources to stay current on task guidelines. Some employers also require CPR certification and a background check before hire.
Texas Medical Assistant Certification Board and Requirements
Top Medical Assistant Programs for Dallas Students
For Dallas students weighing medical assistant training, the programs below stand out for their blend of local access, accreditation, and career preparation. Each school listed represents an in-person, hybrid, or online option within the Dallas-Fort Worth metro or administered through a Dallas campus. Use the program details to compare cost, schedule, and certification readiness.
The College of Health Care Professions-Dallas
#1Dallas, TX · $25,000 – $30,000/yr
Best for: Dallas workers needing accredited blended training
CHCP Dallas offers a 36-week medical assistant certificate at its North Stemmons Freeway campus, with blended learning options that include one-day, two-day, night, and fully online coursework. The program is ABHES-accredited, so graduates can sit for the NRCMA certification exam. Tuition starts around $17,400, and the school emphasizes local employer and externship partnerships across the Dallas-Fort Worth healthcare market.
- 36-week completion time
- ABHES-accredited for certification eligibility
- Blended one-day, two-day, night, or fully online classes
- Clinical skills include vital signs, phlebotomy, and EKGs
- Administrative training covers billing and EHRs
- Prepares for NRCMA exam
- Tuition starts around $17,400
- Externship and job placement assistance included
Parker University
#2Dallas, TX · ~$29,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Dallas commuters wanting a hybrid certificate
Parker University's Dallas-based medical assistant certificate combines about six months of online coursework with twice-weekly in-person labs on its Dallas campus during the final six months. Multiple Dallas cohorts start each year, with application deadlines in April, August, and December. The 39-credit program can serve as a stepping stone to Parker associate and bachelor's degrees, though its CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation status was not specified in the data reviewed.
- 39 credit hours, roughly 12-month hybrid format
- Six months online, then twice-weekly Dallas labs
- Three Dallas cohorts: May, September, January
- Requires 2.75 GPA and C or better to progress
- Fees cover CCMA, CET, and CPT licensing exams
- Credits can stack into Parker associate or bachelor's degrees
- Level 3 background screening and immunizations required
- Accreditation status not specified in reviewed data
The University of Texas at Arlington
#3Arlington, TX · $14,000/yr
Best for: Budget-conscious learners wanting evening classes
UT Arlington offers a 140-hour Clinical Medical Assistant certificate on its Arlington campus, priced at $4,500 total and designed for working adults with evening and Saturday classes. Tuition includes textbooks, scrubs, CPR training, and the NHA CCMA certification exam. No externship is required for certification, making it a streamlined entry point for Dallas-area learners.
- 140 classroom hours on Arlington campus
- $4,500 total tuition includes textbooks and scrubs
- Evening and Saturday class scheduling
- Includes CPR training and NHA CCMA exam
- No externship required for certification
- Prepares for private practices and hospitals in DFW
- Drug test and UTA-EEC ID badge included
Remington College-Dallas Campus
#4Dallas, TX · $30,000/yr
Remington College's Dallas campus offers a 24-month Medical Assisting Associate Degree with a blend of clinical and administrative training. The tuition includes first attempts at the CCMA and CPR certifications, and an externship provides real-world experience. The Dallas campus is also the administrative hub for Remington's online programs, giving local students access to DFW employer networks.
- 24-month campus-based associate degree
- Tuition includes first CCMA and CPR attempts
- Externship provides real clinical experience
- Covers anatomy, pharmacology, and insurance billing
- Prepares for clinical medical assistant and receptionist roles
- Located at 9451 Lyndon B Johnson Fwy, Dallas
Remington College-Fort Worth Campus
#5North Richland Hills, TX · $26,000/yr (net price)
Remington College's Fort Worth campus in North Richland Hills serves Dallas-area students with the same 24-month Medical Assisting Associate Degree offered at the Dallas campus. The program includes CCMA and CPR certification attempts, an externship, and a dedicated local externship coordinator for DFW clinical placements. Students who completed a Remington medical assisting diploma can transfer all credits toward this associate degree.
- 24-month campus-based associate degree
- North Richland Hills campus within DFW commute
- Tuition includes CCMA and CPR attempts
- Dedicated local externship coordinator
- 100% of diploma credits transfer to associate
- Clinical and administrative training blend
Remington College-Online Dallas
#6Dallas, TX
Remington College's online Medical Assisting Associate Degree is administered through the Dallas campus, so online students can access local career services and DFW employer networks. The 24-month program includes CCMA and CPR certification costs and requires an externship for real-world experience. It is a fit for Dallas-area learners who need fully online coursework with local support.
- 24-month online associate degree
- Administered through Dallas campus
- Tuition includes CCMA and CPR exam costs
- Externship required for real-world experience
- Local DFW career services access
- Covers clinical procedures and medical billing
Related Articles
Next Steps: Launching Your Medical Assistant Career in Dallas
With healthcare employers across the Dallas-Fort Worth metro actively expanding clinical teams, the path from prospective student to working medical assistant has never been more straightforward. The key is following a clear sequence and making smart choices at each stage.
Build Your Action Plan
A strong start means selecting an accredited program, whether that is an on-campus certificate, a diploma, or an associate degree. Look for CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation, which signals that the curriculum meets industry standards and qualifies you to sit for national certification exams. Once enrolled, focus on completing both classroom coursework and your medical assistant externship, since hands-on hours in a real medical office give you the practical confidence employers look for.
After finishing your program, register for a certification exam such as the CMA through the AAMA or the RMA through the AMT. Passing one of these exams sets you apart from uncertified candidates and can open the door to higher medical assistant salary.
Sharpen Your Resume
Dallas hiring managers want to see specific, marketable skills on your resume. A Medical Assistant Resume Guide can help you highlight experience or coursework in areas employers care about most:
- EMR proficiency: Familiarity with systems like Epic, Athenahealth, or eClinicalWorks.
- Phlebotomy: Drawing blood is one of the most requested clinical competencies.
- Patient intake and vitals: Demonstrating you can manage front-desk flow and clinical triage shows versatility.
- Bilingual ability: In a diverse metro like Dallas, Spanish or other language skills are a genuine advantage.
Network With Purpose
Dallas hosts several healthcare career fairs throughout the year, including events organized by major hospital systems such as Baylor Scott & White and UT Southwestern. Attending these in person lets you meet recruiters face to face. Joining professional groups like the AAMA's Texas chapter also connects you with practicing medical assistants who can share job leads and mentorship.
Contact Schools Now
Admission deadlines and financial aid windows shift from term to term. Reach out to the programs highlighted earlier in this guide to confirm upcoming start dates, tuition costs, and scholarship availability. Many schools offer rolling admissions, so you may be able to begin sooner than you expect.
Think Beyond Your First Job
A medical assistant credential is not just a destination. It is a launching point. With experience, you can advance into roles like lead medical assistant or clinical office manager. Some MAs use their foundation to pursue further education in nursing, health administration, or specialized fields like surgical technology. Dallas's large and growing healthcare sector means there is room to build a career that evolves with your ambitions.






