Medical Assistant Certification Roanoke | Program Guide
Updated August 21, 202619 min read

Your Guide to Medical Assistant Training in Roanoke

Compare local programs, costs, and certification paths to launch your MA career in Roanoke.

What does it actually take to become a certified medical assistant in Roanoke and get hired by Carilion Clinic or LewisGale Medical Center? Start with the local market: the Roanoke metro employs about 580 medical assistants at a median $37,010 a year. The strongest training routes are the accredited programs with clinical site ties, but these differ sharply in cost, format, and credential.

For most students, the real tension is speed versus depth. A short CCMA certificate can get you exam-ready in weeks, while a longer diploma or degree builds broader clinical skills. Online or hybrid classes can cut commuting, but tuition ranges from a few thousand dollars to more than $16,000. Jump straight to the program list below.

Roanoke Medical Assistant Job Market and Major Employers

Whether you picture yourself in a busy hospital system or a smaller outpatient specialty clinic, the Roanoke metro area offers medical assistants a solid range of employment options anchored by several large healthcare organizations.

Carilion Clinic: The Region's Largest Employer

Carilion Clinic is the dominant force in Roanoke healthcare, employing between 13,000 and nearly 15,000 people across a network of hospitals, outpatient practices, and specialty centers.1 As the region's largest private employer, Carilion regularly posts clinical support positions on Healthcare Jobs in Roanoke, VA, including roles listed as "clinical associate" that overlap with traditional medical assistant duties such as patient intake, vitals, EHRs, and assisting providers during exams. Carilion also maintains educational partnerships with Radford University Carilion and Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine, which feed into its workforce pipeline.2

One pathway worth exploring is Carilion's "Grow-Our-Own" training initiative, designed to develop local talent for clinical roles.2 Specific eligibility requirements and financial details can shift from year to year, so contact Carilion's human resources or workforce development team directly to ask about current stipends, tuition support, or cohort schedules.

LewisGale, HCA Virginia, and the Salem VA

LewisGale Medical Center, part of the HCA Virginia Health System, is another major healthcare anchor in the area.4 HCA's regional presence employs roughly 1,000 to 3,000 workers, and its facilities span acute care, urgent care, and physician practices where medical assistants are core team members.3 The Salem VA Medical Center rounds out the picture, serving veterans across the valley and hiring clinical support staff through federal employment channels.4

Outpatient and National Employers

Beyond the big hospital systems, Roanoke is home to outpatient clinics, specialty practices, and national healthcare companies with a local footprint. Names like CVS Health, DaVita, Labcorp, UnitedHealth Group, Elevance Health, and Quest Diagnostics all appear on the Best Healthcare Companies in Roanoke, VA list, creating additional openings in ambulatory care, dialysis centers, labs, and managed care offices.

What This Means for You

The takeaway is straightforward: Roanoke's healthcare sector is large enough to generate steady demand for certified medical assistants across inpatient, outpatient, and specialty settings. Several employers also invest in workforce training, which can lower your out-of-pocket education costs and shorten your path to employment. We dig deeper into how local salaries compare to program tuition in the salary and ROI section later in this guide, so you can weigh these opportunities against the real cost of getting trained.

Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Options Near Roanoke

Online and hybrid medical assistant options near Roanoke are programs that deliver much of the classroom instruction away from a traditional campus while still preparing you for the in-person clinical work medical assistants do every day. For Roanoke-area students, the real decision is usually not whether an online program exists, but whether it can help you complete a clinical externship close to home.

Medical assistant program accreditation typically means CAAHEP or ABHES. Among the options below, ECPI clearly identifies ABHES accreditation. Several other programs list institutional or distance-education accreditation, while a few do not clearly state a medical-assistant-specific accreditor.

Roanoke-area hybrid options

  • ECPI University, Roanoke: Offers a hybrid, remote synchronous medical assisting associate program that is ABHES-accredited. The program lists about 1,170 contact hours. Roanoke-area clinical placement is not explicitly guaranteed, so confirm the externship plan before you enroll.1
  • Virginia Western Community College: Offers a CCMA certificate in a hybrid format. Accreditation and placement support are not clearly published, but its Roanoke location may make local labs or clinical coordination more practical.2

Online and distance options

  • Herzing University: A hybrid medical assisting program with Virginia clinical and externship partnerships, institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Roanoke-specific placement is not guaranteed.3
  • Penn Foster: Self-paced online medical assistant program accredited by DEAC. Local clinical placement support is limited, so students may need to secure their own externship.4
  • U.S. Career Institute: A 100% online, self-paced Virginia medical assistant certificate program accredited by DEAC. It does not provide clear local placement details.5
  • Stepful: A 100% online medical assistant program with an optional unpaid externship, but accreditation and placement information are not clearly stated.
  • Old Dominion University (ODUGlobal): Lists an online certified medical assistant program with a Fall 2026 deadline, without clear accreditation or Roanoke placement details.7

Online vs hybrid for the externship

Fully online coursework is flexible and often lower in cost, but the clinical externship is the part you cannot complete on a screen. In many online-only programs, you are responsible for finding a site that will accept you, which can be harder in a smaller market like Roanoke. Hybrid programs that include scheduled labs or a campus connection often have clearer routes to nearby clinical hours. If your priority is finishing locally, ask the program to name the Roanoke-area sites it has used recently, not just whether externship help is "available."

How to Choose a Roanoke Medical Assistant Program

Roanoke's medical assistant training landscape has split into two tracks: short CCMA certificates that get you exam-ready in weeks, and longer diploma or degree programs that build broader clinical depth. Choosing between them comes down to how fast you need to work, how much you can pay, and whether you want a credential that transfers into further nursing or allied health study later.

Compare Program Lengths

Program durations in and around Roanoke vary widely. Virginia Western Community College offers a Virginia Western CCMA program that runs roughly 14 weeks. Career Ready Roanoke gives students up to 12 months to finish their CCMA course after registration.1 The Roanoke Higher Education Center pairs classroom instruction with 120 externship hours.2 Longer options include ECPI University's 15-month medical assistant program,3 Herzing University's 10-month diploma or 16-month associate degree,4 and Blue Ridge Community and Technical College's 12-month certificate.5 A short certificate gets you sitting for a national exam faster; a diploma or degree gives you more clinical hours, general education credits, and a smoother path into nursing bridges later.

Match the Schedule to Your Life

Schedule formats matter as much as length. When comparing online medical assistant programs, ask each program directly whether classes run full-time, part-time, evenings, or weekends, and whether the delivery is in-person, hybrid, or fully online. Blue Ridge CTC, for example, offers in-person and hybrid formats.5 ECPI runs year-round on an accelerated calendar. If you are working while training, confirm externship scheduling too, since clinical rotations typically happen during standard clinic hours.

Know the Admission Requirements

Requirements vary more than you might expect. Most programs, including the Roanoke Higher Education Center and Herzing University, require a high school diploma or GED.24 Herzing also asks for evidence of college-level readiness through ACT/SAT scores, prior credit, or entrance testing.4 Career Ready Roanoke lists no prerequisites at all.1 Because you will be working with patients, expect a background check, drug screen, immunization records, and current CPR certification before externship placement.4 Herzing spells these out; other programs may require them even if the public course description does not.

Insist on Accreditation

Accreditation is the one factor you should not compromise on. Programmatic accreditation through CAAHEP or ABHES signals that the curriculum meets national standards and, in many cases, is required to sit for the CMA or RMA exam. Verify accreditation directly on the accreditor's website, not just the school's marketing page.

If Roanoke options do not fit, widen your search to Salem, Vinton, Christiansburg, Blacksburg, and Lynchburg, all within commuting distance and home to additional healthcare training providers.

Cost and Financial Aid for Roanoke MA Programs

Tuition for Roanoke medical assistant programs varies widely, from a few thousand dollars at the community college pathway to more than $16,000 for a diploma program. For budget conscious readers, Virginia Western Community College's CCMA program is the lowest cost option, especially for eligible Virginia residents who may qualify for a zero dollar tuition price through G3 funding. Most programs also offer some form of financial aid, payment plan, or workforce funding pathway.

Program NameTuition & FeesTotal Estimated Program CostFinancial Aid Options
Virginia Western Community College, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA)$3,900 regular tuition price$3,900 bundled program price including online platform, BLS, and national exam feeFastForward workforce price $1,300; FastForward plus G3 price $0 for eligible Virginia residents
Heart to Heart Career Training Center, Hybrid Clinical Medical Assisting Program$7,000 tuition; $275 lab fee; $25 finance fee if using financingApproximately $7,781 total (tuition $7,000 + lab fee $275 + estimated books, materials, and required fees totaling about $506)In house financing available with $25 finance fee; external federal aid or workforce grants not specified in source
ECPI University, Medical Assisting (Associate), School of Health Science, Roanoke$7,848 per semester program costFull program total not specified in sourceEligible for federal student aid; specific scholarships or payment plans not detailed in source
Ross Medical Education Center, Medical Assistant Diploma (Roanoke campus)$7,575 tuition Semester 1; $7,575 tuition Semester 2; $307 technology fee$16,297 total cost (includes $15,990 program cost, $307 technology fee, and itemized books and supplies)Title IV federal financial aid available to qualified students; Ross Education Institutional Grant up to $600; additional federal, state, and local grants and educational benefits referenced

Clinical Externships in Roanoke: Hours, Sites, and What to Expect

Externship Hour Requirements by Program

Roanoke-area medical assistant schools vary in how they structure clinical training, but most require 120 to 180 externship hours. A few programs separate classroom training from the clinical rotation: - Roanoke Higher Education Center: 140 hours of training followed by a 120-hour clinical externship.1 - Fast Track Health Care: 280 classroom hours plus a 120-hour externship.2 - Valley College: 180 hours in medical offices or clinics. - Herzing University: 180 hours in a medical clinic or doctor's office, typically completed over eight weeks at about 25 to 40 hours per week.

More broadly, medical assistant externships often run 120 to 240 hours and last four to eight weeks.2 Because schedules can shift, ask the program for the current hour total, weekly schedule, and whether placements are day-shift only. A shorter rotation can still be effective if it gives you enough repetition in both clinical and administrative tasks.

Where Roanoke Students Train

Programs generally do not publish a fixed list of guaranteed externship sites. Instead, a clinical coordinator arranges each placement at a local clinical site, often a physician office, outpatient clinic, or ambulatory care setting. Roanoke's large healthcare employers, including Carilion Clinic and LewisGale Medical Center, are the types of settings students frequently ask about, but current rotations depend on each program's active affiliation agreements. Do not assume a hospital name equals a guaranteed rotation. Ask whether the program places students in hospital-affiliated clinics, private practices, or both.

What to Expect on the Externship

This is not an observation-only placement. Under supervision, students often check patients in, take vital signs, update medical histories, prepare exam rooms, assist with procedures, perform basic lab duties, and handle front-office tasks. If you are assigned to a private practice, you may see a wider range of duties because smaller offices often cross-train staff. Treat the externship like a prolonged job interview: show up early, ask for feedback, and stay flexible. Many students receive job offers from their externship site, or they leave with a strong local reference for applications elsewhere. When an opening is not immediate, the site supervisor can still be one of the most useful contacts for your first medical assistant job in Roanoke.

CMA, RMA, or CCMA: Which Roanoke Medical Assistant Certification Fits Your Goals?

Roanoke-area programs are most clearly aligned with NHA's CCMA exam through Virginia Western Community College and the Roanoke Higher Education Center. The only recent pass rate available is AAMA's overall 69% first-time figure for 2024-25; CCMA and RMA pass rates for Roanoke are not published. Ask each program directly about employer partnerships and hiring preferences.

Comparison of CMA, RMA, and CCMA credentialing bodies, eligibility, and Roanoke program alignment.

Medical Assistant Salary in Roanoke and ROI

Medical assistant pay in Roanoke depends on the source. The federal wage survey for the Roanoke metro reports a median annual wage of $37,010 for 580 medical assistants, below the national median of $44,200 per year ($21.25 per hour) and below nearby Virginia metros such as Richmond ($39,550) and Winchester ($40,730); live job postings, however, often show higher rates, with many postings between about $16.50 and $25 per hour and some certified roles above $25. Program-level earnings are not yet available, so a school-by-school first-year ROI cannot be calculated, but you can compare program costs against the local pay benchmarks below.

Pay benchmarkReported rateDetails
Roanoke metro median annual wage$37,010BLS May 2024; 580 medical assistants employed
Roanoke metro 25th to 75th percentile$36,530 to $41,840BLS May 2024
Job posting average hourly wage$19.93Indeed, 51 salaries, 2025
Job posting average hourly wage, entry level$19.52ZipRecruiter, 2026; typical band $16.73 to $21.44
Job posting median hourly wage$18.73ZipRecruiter, 2026
Certified medical assistant job posting$18.70 to $26.18 per hourCarilion urology posting; pay depends on qualifications
Clinical medical assistant average$20.07 per hour ($41,743 per year)ZipRecruiter; most earn $35,300 to $45,100
National median annual wage$44,200 per year ($21.25 per hour)BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook, May 2024

Top Medical Assistant Programs Serving Roanoke Students

Below are the top medical assistant programs serving Roanoke students, ranked by IPEDS completion data, accreditation status, and program fit. These schools offer local, hybrid, and online paths into clinical and administrative medical assisting roles across the Roanoke Valley.

Virginia Western Community College

#1

Roanoke, VA · $5,000 – $12,000/yr

Best for: Roanoke-area residents seeking employer pipelines

Virginia Western Community College is Roanoke's primary public training hub for allied health, offering an accelerated Certified Clinical Medical Assistant program through its School of STEM & Workforce Solutions. The college partners with Carilion Clinic on the Grow-Our-Own Medical Assistant-Certified initiative, running three Roanoke-area cohorts each year and feeding graduates directly into local family medicine and orthopaedics teams. Virginia residents may qualify for FastForward or G3 funding, which can substantially reduce or eliminate out-of-pocket tuition.

  • 15-week accelerated, campus-based format
  • Cost includes textbook, study materials, practice exams, and CCMA exam fee
  • Prepares for the NHA Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA) exam
  • Carilion Clinic Grow-Our-Own partnership with three local cohorts per year
  • Graduates hired into Carilion Family Medicine and Orthopaedics teams
  • FastForward and G3 funding can reduce cost to $1,300 or $0 for qualifying residents
  • Requires high school diploma or GED, English and computer readiness
  • Optional clinical component and CPR certification

American National University

#2

Salem, VA · ~$18,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Military-connected learners wanting stackable credentials

American National University's Salem campus serves the Roanoke Valley with a 48-credit Certificate in Medical Assisting that combines classroom instruction, hands-on skills labs, and a clinical externship at local physician offices or clinics. Students prepare to sit for both the RMA and CMA exams and can stack the credential into bachelor's or MBA programs. Military-connected learners have access to GI Bill benefits and the Blue Ribbon Grant.

  • 48 total credit hours
  • Prepares for both RMA and CMA certification exams
  • Clinical externship included at local physician offices and clinics
  • Hands-on skills training in venipuncture, EKGs, and injections
  • On-campus classes required at the Salem, Virginia campus
  • Stackable into bachelor's and MBA programs
  • GI Bill approved for military and veteran students
  • Blue Ribbon Grant available for military-connected learners

Liberty University

#3

Lynchburg, VA · $29,000/yr

Best for: Working adults needing fully online options

Liberty University offers a fully online Medical Office Assistant Certificate that Roanoke-area students can complete without relocating to Lynchburg. The two-semester, 19-credit certificate uses 8-week asynchronous courses with multiple start dates each year, making it a flexible option for working adults. The program emphasizes medical billing, coding, insurance claims, HIPAA compliance, and front-office coordination.

  • 19 credit hours completed in two semesters
  • 100% online with 8-week asynchronous courses
  • Eight start dates per year
  • Tuition frozen for 10 years with electronic textbooks at no extra cost
  • Transfer up to 75% of qualifying credits
  • Military discount of $250 per credit hour
  • Prepares for medical billing, coding, insurance claims, and HIPAA compliance

Admissions Checklist for Roanoke Medical Assistant Programs

Most Roanoke medical assistant programs follow similar admissions steps, but requirements vary by school. Use this checklist to gather your materials, then confirm current requirements with each program you're considering.

  1. High school diploma or GED
    Provide an official transcript showing completion. Some hybrid or online programs may accept equivalent documentation.
  2. Application
    Complete the school's application form, often online, and pay any application fee if required.
  3. Interview
    Many programs ask for a short admissions interview, either in person or virtual, to discuss your goals and fit.
  4. Background check
    A criminal background check is commonly required before you can begin clinical or externship placement.
  5. Drug screening
    A negative drug screen is often required before clinical placement. Timing and approved testing sites vary by program.
  6. Immunization records
    Submit proof of required vaccinations, such as MMR, varicella, hepatitis B, Tdap, flu, and a TB test, according to program policy.
  7. CPR certification
    Some programs require current Basic Life Support (BLS)/CPR for healthcare providers. If not included in tuition, plan to complete it before clinicals.
  8. Additional requirements
    Some schools may also ask for placement tests, prerequisite coursework, or a physical exam. Check with the program directly.

Next Steps to Start Your Medical Assistant Career in Roanoke

Getting started as a medical assistant in Roanoke comes down to a handful of concrete moves. Take them one at a time and the path feels a lot less overwhelming.

Your Action Plan

  • Choose a program: Narrow your list to two or three accredited options, whether campus-based, hybrid, or online with local labs, that fit your schedule and budget.
  • Apply early: Submit applications well ahead of stated deadlines since class sizes are often limited and popular start dates fill fast.
  • Secure financial aid: File your FAFSA, ask each school's financial aid office about grants, payment plans, or employer tuition assistance, and compare true out-of-pocket costs before committing.
  • Complete your externship: Show up prepared, treat it like a real job interview, and lean on your site supervisor for feedback and networking leads.
  • Pass your certification exam: Choose CMA, RMA, or CCMA based on your program and career goals, then study consistently in the weeks leading up to test day.

Talk to Schools Directly

Program details change, tuition adjusts, start dates shift, and clinical site partnerships evolve. Before enrolling, call admissions at each school you're considering and ask about current costs, financial aid deadlines, and where students typically complete externships around Roanoke. A quick conversation can save you from surprises later.

Roanoke's Healthcare Future

Roanoke's hospitals, clinics, and specialty practices continue expanding to serve a growing regional population, and that growth translates into steady demand for trained medical assistants. Starting your training now positions you to step into a stable, hands-on healthcare career right here in the community you call home.

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit