Medical Assistant Programs in Atlanta, GA (2027 Guide)
Updated August 21, 202619 min read

Becoming a Medical Assistant in Atlanta: Programs, Costs, and Careers

Compare accredited Atlanta programs, costs, and formats to map your certification path.

Metro Atlanta employs more than 15,000 medical assistants, and demand from systems like Emory Healthcare, Piedmont, and Wellstar keeps growing alongside the region's outpatient clinic expansion. Training options range from fully online programs to evening campus classes, with tuition spanning roughly $5,000 to $16,000 depending on the school and format.

The real challenge is sorting accredited programs from the rest, understanding what Georgia does (and does not) require for Medical Assistant Certification, and comparing total costs once fees, supplies, and externship hours are factored in. A median medical assistant salary near $45,000 makes program cost a high-stakes decision, not an afterthought.

Jump straight to the program list →

Atlanta's Medical Assistant Job Market: Employers, Demand, and Externships

Atlanta’s medical assistant hiring is increasingly shaped by large hospital-owned outpatient networks, making externship location as important as classroom training. The region’s biggest clinical employers include Emory Healthcare, Piedmont Healthcare, Northside Hospital, Wellstar Health System, and Grady Health System. In published program materials, these systems most often appear as hospital outpatient clinic settings rather than guaranteed medical assistant placement sites, so students should read program language carefully.1

Where medical assistants typically train and work

For medical assistant students, the realistic clinical placements cluster in a few settings: - Hospital outpatient departments and physician practices affiliated with Emory Healthcare, Piedmont Healthcare, Northside Hospital, and Wellstar. - Urgent care centers such as Piedmont Urgent Care, WellStreet Urgent Care, and Northside Urgent Care. - Community health centers including Good Samaritan Health Center of Atlanta and Southside Medical Center.

That mix mirrors where many Atlanta medical assistants eventually work: high-volume ambulatory offices, urgent care clinics, and community health settings. Grady Health System rounds out the employer base as the region’s high-volume safety-net hospital, though its published student programs tend to focus on nursing and work-based learning rather than named medical assistant externship contracts.

How externships are structured

Programs describe medical assistant externship differently. Emory University’s online Clinical Medical Assistant certificate offers placement support through its Ready to Work externship and job placement service, but does not publish a fixed list of employer partners.2 Atlanta Medical Assistant School requires a 120-hour externship beginning around week 22 in a local medical office, which usually means a private practice or outpatient setting.3 A self-managed Georgia externship guide lists Piedmont, Emory, Northside, Wellstar, and urgent care sites as example types, not guaranteed placements, and asks students to contact practices directly.1 Treat any "partnership" language cautiously unless the school gives you a current, written site list.

Why externship quality matters

Atlanta’s density of hospitals and clinics gives students more options, but it also means placement quality depends on fit. An externship in a busy outpatient specialty office teaches front-office workflows, electronic health record use, vitals, and provider communication more directly than a brief observational rotation. Since employers often hire from their own extern cohorts, choosing among medical assistant schools with active local placement support can shorten the job search after certification.

Job demand outlook

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics has consistently placed medical assisting among the faster-growing healthcare support occupations nationally, and Atlanta’s large ambulatory and hospital networks support steady replacement and growth hiring, a trend that helps explain why medical assistants are in demand. Local metro figures shift by county and year, so treat broad growth claims as directional rather than a salary or hiring guarantee.

Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Programs for Atlanta Students

Atlanta students can train for a medical assistant career without putting their work schedule on hold, thanks to a growing number of online and hybrid programs designed around adult learners.

Fully Online vs. Hybrid: What Is the Difference?

A fully online medical assistant program delivers all classroom instruction (anatomy, medical terminology, clinical procedures in theory) through a virtual platform. However, every accredited program still requires hands-on clinical training, so you will complete an in-person externship at a healthcare site near you before graduating. A hybrid program blends online coursework with scheduled on-campus lab sessions where you practice phlebotomy, vitals, injections, and EKGs on mannequins or fellow students before entering your externship.

The key takeaway: no matter which format you choose, plan for some face-to-face hours. The question is how many and how often.

Programs Worth a Closer Look

  • Herzing University offers both a 10-month diploma (24 credits) and a 16-month online medical assistant associate's degree program (60 credits). Courses are delivered online or in a hybrid format for Georgia residents, but Herzing does not specify whether students must travel for on-site skills labs, so contact the admissions team to clarify before enrolling.1
  • Atlanta Medical Assistant School runs a 30-week hybrid program at its Century Parkway NE campus. You complete theory online and attend one in-person lab day per week (roughly six hours).2 A new cohort is scheduled to start August 24, 2026, with daytime sessions listed; morning, evening, and weekend options have been referenced but should be confirmed directly with the school.3
  • Georgia Training Center compresses its hybrid course into 14 weeks: nine weeks of self-paced online study, one intensive in-person lab week (Monday through Friday afternoons), and a four-week, 160-hour clinical externship. At around $1,750, it is one of the most affordable medical assistant certificate and diploma programs in the area.4
  • Gwinnett College advertises day, afternoon, and evening scheduling for its medical assisting program, with clinical internship placements included. This flexibility can be especially helpful if you are juggling a job or family commitments.6
  • Atlanta Career Institute offers evening CCMA classes from 5:00 to 10:00 PM, paired with an 80-hour clinical component, making it a practical choice for anyone working a daytime job.5

Weighing Online Against On-Campus Learning

Online and hybrid formats save commute time and let you study at your own pace, which matters in a metro area where Atlanta traffic can eat two or more hours a day. The trade-off is fewer chances to practice clinical skills in real time and less organic networking with classmates and instructors who may later become professional references. If hands-on confidence is a concern, a hybrid program with weekly lab sessions can bridge that gap.

Externship Placement Flexibility

Externship schedules are typically set by the host clinic, not the school, so daytime weekday hours are most common. Georgia Training Center and Atlanta Medical Assistant School both coordinate local placements, but neither guarantees evening or weekend externship shifts.42 Ask each program how it handles site matching and whether it has clinical partners near your home or workplace. A convenient externship site can make the difference between finishing on time and falling behind.

In-Person Medical Assistant Programs Within Commuting Distance of Atlanta

Choosing an in-person medical assistant program in metro Atlanta often comes down to two campus types: a public university continuing-education certificate or a career college with multiple suburban locations. Both can prepare you for certification, but they differ in schedule, cost, and how you will reach class.

Campus programs inside the Atlanta commute zone

  • Gwinnett College-Sandy Springs: A campus-based option in Sandy Springs offering diploma and associate degree tracks. Day students can complete a diploma in about 12 months; evening tracks take longer. The available program listing did not publish a specific tuition.
  • Gwinnett College-Lilburn: A campus-based diploma and associate program in Lilburn with a listed tuition of about $11,300. It offers day and evening sections and prepares students for certification exams.
  • Lincoln College of Technology-Marietta: A campus-based associate in Medical Assistant Technology in Marietta. The program runs about 79 weeks and includes a 160-hour clinical internship. Tuition was not listed in the available program information.
  • Clayton State University: A campus certificate in Morrow with $3,398 total tuition, 120 clinical hours, and evening classes. The curriculum includes phlebotomy, ECGs, and specimen collection, a few of the clinical specializations in medical assisting.
  • Gwinnett College-Marietta Campus: A second Gwinnett College location in Marietta with diploma and associate tracks. Specific program tuition was not available in the listing.

Commuting, MARTA, and parking

From downtown Atlanta, the commute pattern is straightforward. Sandy Springs has the most direct MARTA rail access among these options, with the Red Line serving the area; that matters if you want to avoid driving. Marietta, Lilburn, and Morrow are easier by car, reached mainly via I-75, I-85/US-78, and I-75 south. Driving times can range from about 20 minutes with no traffic to 45 minutes or more during rush hour. If you depend on public transit, check bus connections carefully, because rail access outside Sandy Springs and central Atlanta is limited. Most suburban campuses offer free or low-cost parking, but evening students should confirm lot access, lighting, and any parking pass rules before the first week.

Visit before you enroll

Hands-on training quality varies, so an in-person visit or information session is worth the commute. Ask to see the medical lab, phlebotomy chairs, ECG machines, and electronic health record software students practice on. Also ask how the school coordinates externships with Atlanta-area clinics or physician offices. A program with an organized externship placement process can turn clinical hours into a job lead. If a campus will not let you see the lab or gives vague answers about externship sites, treat that as a caution sign.

Medical Assistant Salaries in the Atlanta Metro

The latest U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics data for Medical Assistants in the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell metro area shows a median annual wage of $45,040 and total employment of 15,390. The 25th percentile wage is $38,080 and the 75th percentile is $46,840. Statewide and national comparison figures are not available in this local data set, but the table below lists other Georgia metro areas for context; program-level earnings for graduates of local schools are covered in the ranking section below.

LocationTotal employmentMean annual wage25th percentileMedian annual wage75th percentile
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA15,390$43,290$38,080$45,040$46,840
Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC1,570$37,800$34,340$37,320$39,560
Macon-Bibb County, GA1,020$38,100$35,300$37,440$42,720
Savannah, GA980$38,840$36,030$37,910$42,730
Athens-Clarke County, GA940$39,440$34,000$38,670$44,880
Gainesville, GA870$41,100$37,540$39,570$45,820
Columbus, GA-AL860$37,050$32,740$36,730$42,050
Albany, GA430$37,690$33,920$36,350$40,930
Rome, GA360$37,280$31,860$37,040$41,060
Valdosta, GA350$34,280$29,940$34,230$36,250
Warner Robins, GA350$35,870$30,390$35,660$38,240
Dalton, GA340$36,710$34,290$36,200$38,470
Brunswick-St. Simons, GA210$36,990$32,930$37,010$42,590
Hinesville, GA80$37,100$34,390$36,440$40,340

How to Become a Medical Assistant in Georgia: Certification and Requirements

The surprise for many Atlanta students is that Georgia does not license medical assistants.2 The real decision is not whether the state will approve you; it is which national certification will persuade a clinic or health system to hire you.

Georgia has no state license, but employers set the bar

Georgia treats medical assistants as unlicensed personnel to whom a physician may delegate tasks such as injections and vital signs under physician supervision. There is no state-mandated medical assistant education, certification, or registration beyond what an employer chooses to require.3 Because certification is optional by law, some students assume they can skip it. That may work for a smaller office, but it narrows the job pool, since larger Atlanta employers and many clinics require a national credential.

The three credentials Atlanta employers recognize most

  • CMA (AAMA): The Certified Medical Assistant credential requires completion of a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program with supervised clinical training. The exam must be taken within 60 months of program completion and costs about $125.4 Maintenance can be done by retaking the exam within 60 months or through continuing education.
  • RMA (AMT): The Registered Medical Assistant credential from American Medical Technologists offers multiple routes: graduation from an accredited program, military training, five years of medical assistant work experience in the last seven years, or one to five years as an instructor. The exam fee is about $120, with recertification every three years.4
  • CCMA (NHA): The certified clinical medical assistant credential from the National Healthcareer Association requires a high school diploma or GED and age 18 or older. You can qualify by graduating from an NHA-approved or CAAHEP/ABHES-accredited program, or by documenting one year of full-time clinical medical assistant work. Renewal follows the NHA two-year cycle.5

Typical path from classroom to job offer

For most Atlanta students, the sequence is straightforward: complete a training program, earn one of the credentials above, and apply for medical assistant roles. Georgia adds no separate state filing or registration step after certification. If you are weighing an accelerated or online program, verify that it meets the credential pathway you want before you enroll.

Atlanta job postings commonly list CMA, RMA, or CCMA as acceptable, and some add NCMA or "equivalent."7 Emory Healthcare, for example, prefers CMA or RMA but accepts CCMA and NCMA.6 Sampled postings may overrepresent larger employers; some smaller practices may still hire an experienced but uncertified medical assistant, though those roles are less visible and less predictable.

Admission Requirements for Atlanta Medical Assistant Programs

Admission requirements for Atlanta medical assistant programs are not one-size-fits-all: some schools operate open enrollment, while others use competitive or selective admissions. Confirm the exact checklist with your target school before applying.

  1. High school diploma or GED
    Most Atlanta-area programs require a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent. Georgia School of Phlebotomy accepts an international equivalency, and schools like UEI College and ECRGA also list diploma or GED among their requirements.
  2. Minimum age
    Age requirements vary. Atlanta Technical College and Georgia School of Phlebotomy require students to be at least 18 for medical assisting, while some other programs may allow younger candidates for general college admission.
  3. Background check, drug screening, and immunization records
    These are not universal across Atlanta programs. Heritage HCC requires consent to a criminal background check and drug screen, plus current immunization records including a negative PPD or chest X-ray and no positive TB or Hepatitis B. Other schools may not require all of these before admission, so verify with your program.
  4. Entrance exams and GPA
    Selective schools set academic bars. Gwinnett Technical College requires the ATI TEAS exam with a minimum score of 50%, a 2.5 GPA in prerequisites, completion of FYES 1000 by summer 2026, and a mandatory program meeting. Atlanta Technical College requires age 18, a diploma/GED, official transcripts, minimum Reading, English, and Math admission scores, prerequisite courses, a 2.5 GPA, a Request for Entry form, and mandatory orientation. Chattahoochee Tech lists a 2.0 GPA; Savannah Technical College lists 2.5, though it is outside Atlanta.
  5. Program-specific prerequisites
    Some schools require prerequisite courses, while others are open enrollment. ATS Institute states it has no prerequisites, no fees, and no waitlists. Check whether your target program expects high school biology, computer literacy, or other preparatory coursework.
  6. CPR certification
    Current Atlanta program materials do not list CPR as a universal admissions prerequisite, but confirm with your school. Many employers expect CPR certification before clinical or externship work.
  7. How to prepare your application
    Gather official transcripts, diploma or GED, photo ID, and any immunization or background-check documents your school requires. Complete the FAFSA to explore financial aid, and schedule a campus visit or mandatory orientation meeting if the program requires one.

Medical Assistant Program Costs in Atlanta: Tuition, Fees, and Total Cost

In-state tuition among ranked Atlanta programs ranges from about $5,180 at Clayton State University to $64,280 at Emory University, with out-of-state tuition higher at public schools. After grants and scholarships, net prices are lower: about $8,365 at Clayton State and about $22,585 at Emory. Beyond tuition, budgets commonly include $250 to $1,000 for books and supplies, $60 to $150 for uniforms, $25 to $100 for background checks and drug screens, $125 to $250 for the certification exam, plus possible application, lab, CPR, and clinical rotation fees. Federal Pell grants, student loans, payment plans, and institutional scholarships can reduce upfront costs; the most affordable ranked program, Clayton State, offers a strong return when paired with typical medical assistant starting salaries.

ProgramIn-state tuitionOut-of-state tuitionNet price
Clayton State University$5,180$16,532$8,365
Kennesaw State University$5,808$17,736$15,048
Emory University$64,280$64,280$22,585
Gwinnett College-Lilburn$11,300$11,300$30,175
Lincoln College of Technology-MariettaN/AN/A$30,801
Gwinnett College-Marietta CampusN/AN/A$33,966
Gwinnett College-Sandy SpringsN/AN/A$34,071

Top Medical Assistant Programs in Atlanta

Atlanta-area students have access to medical assistant programs that vary widely in delivery, cost, and clinical training. The options below stand out for strong local externship placements, flexible schedules, and clear pathways to national certification.

Kennesaw State University

#1

Kennesaw, GA · ~$15,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working adults needing evening hybrid classes

Kennesaw State's hybrid Medical Assisting Certificate combines evening classes at the KSU Center with a 160-hour clinical externship at regional healthcare sites. The program is open to Georgia residents only and carries a total tuition of $6,999, with military benefits and payment plans available. Available records do not list CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation, so students should confirm national certification eligibility directly.

Military benefits
  • 53-week hybrid program with evening classes
  • 160-hour clinical externship
  • Total program tuition $6,999
  • Prepares for CMA and RMA national exams
  • Military benefits and payment plans accepted

Clayton State University

#2

Morrow, GA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)

Best for: South Atlanta residents using workforce funding

Clayton State's Clinical Medical Assistant Certificate meets on campus in Morrow in evening cohorts, with a 120-hour externship in physician offices or clinics. Total program tuition is $3,398, and the program is approved for WIOA funding through WorkSource Atlanta Regional, making it especially affordable for eligible south metro residents. Program-level accreditation is not listed in available records; graduates may pursue national certification paths that do not require CAAHEP or ABHES.

  • 120-hour clinical externship
  • Evening classes 6-9 PM in Morrow
  • Total program tuition $3,398
  • WIOA approved for workforce funding
  • Healthcare application and background check required

Emory University

#3

Atlanta, GA · ~$23,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Online learners targeting national certification

Emory Continuing Education offers a fully online, self-paced Clinical Medical Assistant program that prepares students for the NHA CCMA exam and other national certification options. The program is not tied to a formal externship, but Emory's extensive Atlanta healthcare network can help graduates connect with local employers. Program-level accreditation is not listed in available records.

  • Self-paced online course with flexible scheduling
  • Prepares for the NHA CCMA exam
  • Covers phlebotomy, EKGs, and cardiac care
  • Focuses on physician office and clinic settings

Lincoln College of Technology-Marietta

#4

Marietta, GA · ~$31,000/yr (est.)

Lincoln College of Technology's Marietta campus offers both a 37-week Medical Assistant certificate and a 79-week Medical Assistant Technology associate degree, each with a 160-hour clinical internship arranged in the Atlanta area. The program prepares students for the Registered Medical Assistant exam, though program-level CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation is not listed in available records.

  • 79-week associate degree program
  • Day, afternoon, and evening schedules
  • 160-hour clinical internship
  • Prepares for the Registered Medical Assistant exam
  • 37-week certificate program
  • 160 clinical hours
  • Registered Medical Assistant exam preparation
  • Blended learning with some online coursework

Gwinnett College-Sandy Springs

#5

Roswell, GA · ~$34,000/yr (est.)

Gwinnett College's Sandy Springs campus provides campus-based Medical Assisting diploma and associate tracks, with day and evening schedules and an on-site NCCT testing center for local certification exams. The program does not list CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation in available records, so students should verify exam eligibility.

  • Diploma and associate degree tracks available
  • Day classes: 12 months for diploma, 18-21 months for associate
  • Evening classes: 15-18 months for diploma, 21-24 months for associate
  • On-site NCCT testing center

Gwinnett College-Lilburn

#6

Lilburn, GA · ~$30,000/yr (est.)

Gwinnett College's Lilburn campus offers Medical Assisting diploma and associate tracks, with day and evening classes and a strong volume of medical assistant graduates in the Atlanta area. Program-level accreditation is not specified in available records; certification eligibility may depend on the credential pursued.

  • Diploma and associate degree tracks
  • Day and evening class options
  • Prepares for CMA and phlebotomy technician certifications
  • Campus-based program in Lilburn

Gwinnett College-Marietta Campus

#7

Marietta, GA · ~$34,000/yr (est.)

Gwinnett College's Marietta campus offers campus-based Medical Assisting diploma and associate options with day and evening schedules, serving students in the northwest metro. Available records do not list CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation for this program.

  • Diploma and associate degree tracks
  • Day classes: 12-21 months
  • Evening classes: 15-24 months
  • Campus-based program in Marietta

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit