St. Louis runs one of the densest hospital clusters in the Midwest. SSM Health, BJC HealthCare, and Washington University-affiliated clinics all depend on medical assistants for patient flow, so hiring stays steady even when other entry-level roles slow.
The bigger decision is cost versus schedule. Online and hybrid programs can fit around a job but take longer, while campus cohorts near BJC and SSM clinics add hands-on labs and faster exam prep. Published tuition ranges from $0 with a multi-year employer commitment to several thousand dollars at private schools.
Certification tends to matter more to St. Louis hiring managers than the school name. Jump straight to the program list below.
St. Louis Medical Assistant Job Market: Where You'll Work
The St. Louis medical assistant job market centers on a handful of large health systems that together employ thousands of clinical medical assistants across the metro area. Understanding how these employers operate, and what Missouri law allows medical assistants to do, helps you target your job search and build a Medical Assistant Resume Guide from day one.
Major Healthcare Employers
Four health systems dominate St. Louis healthcare:
- SSM Health: Operates multiple hospitals and dozens of outpatient clinics throughout the region, employing medical assistants in primary care, specialty practices, and urgent care settings.
- BJC HealthCare: The largest employer in the St. Louis area, BJC runs Barnes-Jewish Hospital and numerous community facilities where MAs support physicians in both inpatient and outpatient roles.
- Washington University Physicians: Faculty practice groups affiliated with Washington University School of Medicine staff specialty and research clinics that frequently hire medical assistants.
- Mercy: A regional Catholic health system with hospitals and clinics on both sides of the Missouri-Illinois border, Mercy hires MAs for family medicine, pediatrics, and specialty offices.
Most entry-level positions place you in outpatient clinics, physician offices, or specialty practices such as cardiology, dermatology, or orthopedics. Hospital-based roles exist but often require additional experience.
Missouri Scope of Practice
Missouri does not independently license medical assistants. Instead, you work under direct, onsite supervision of a physician who delegates clinical tasks. Typical delegated duties include taking vital signs, performing venipuncture, and administering oral, intramuscular, or subcutaneous medications.3 Tasks that constitute the practice of medicine remain off limits, so your supervising physician determines exactly which procedures you may perform based on your training and competence.
Employer-Sponsored Training at SSM Health
SSM Health stands out for offering a structured Medical Assistant Training Program that covers tuition costs for qualifying candidates.1 In exchange, participants commit to working for SSM Health for 24 months after completing the program. If you leave before fulfilling that commitment, you must repay the full program cost.1 Current SSM Health employees working at least half-time may also access tuition benefits ranging from $2,625 to $5,250 annually, depending on hours worked.2 Applications go through the SSM Health Workday system or the employee benefits portal.2
Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Programs for St. Louis Students
A hybrid schedule that pairs online lectures with a fixed weekday clinical block is very different from a mostly online program you can fit around a job, then finish with a local externship. St. Louis students have both options, so the question is less about finding online convenience and more about how much weekday flexibility you can give.
Hybrid Programs in the St. Louis Area
In the St. Louis-area comparison, Saint Louis Community College is the main hybrid option. Its medical assistant program runs 16 weeks in 2026, combining online coursework with clinical training Monday through Friday from 7am to 5:30pm.1 That is an intensive full-time schedule, but the program pairs it with paid clinical training and an employer funding model tied to a two-year work commitment. St. Louis Medical Assistant School takes a different hybrid path: 18 weeks, Saturday classes plus online work, and an 80-hour clinical requirement.2 That weekend format can work better for students who already hold weekday jobs. Midwest Institute also offers hybrid medical assistant training.3 By contrast, campus-based programs such as Lewis and Clark Community College, Southwestern Illinois College, and St. Louis College of Health Careers-Fenton generally require more structured commuting and attendance.
Fully Online Coursework Still Needs Hands-On Hours
Several online options serve St. Louis students, but online usually means online lectures and assignments, not a fully remote clinical education.
- Herzing University: Missouri residents can complete online didactic coursework with in-person clinicals. The diploma is 10 months with 180 clinical hours; the associate degree is 16 months with 180 clinical hours and a weekday daytime externship.4
- University of Central Missouri: Its Clinical Medical Assistant path is online5 and the Medical Assistant with Clinical Externship option includes 100 clinical hours within 483 total program hours.6
- Clinical Skills Institute: A two-month online course with 80 to 160 hours of clinical experience.7
- Stepful: A five-month online program that lists clinical hours as optional, so students should confirm how that affects certification eligibility.
US Career Institute, Missouri Valley College, and Northwest Missouri State University also list online medical assistant programs.
Matching the Format to Your Life
- Need weekend flexibility? St. Louis Medical Assistant School's Saturday plus online format reduces weekday conflicts.
- Can treat school as a full-time job? Saint Louis Community College's 16-week hybrid offers paid clinical training but requires weekday daytime availability.
- Need mostly online lectures? Choose an online didactic program such as Herzing, then plan for the required in-person externship block.
- Prefer a longer degree pathway? Herzing's associate degree or North Central Missouri College's two-year, 61-credit program builds in more general education, but takes longer.8
The main caution: no local option should be treated as 100 percent remote if you intend to earn a credential and work with patients. Clinical hours still require in-person scheduling.
Medical Assistant Schools Within Commuting Distance of St. Louis
St. Louis students have real campus and hybrid medical assistant options within commuting distance, but the right choice depends heavily on accreditation, certification path, and price. Use this as a comparison directory, not a ranked list.
Commuter-Friendly Campus Options
- St. Louis College of Health Careers (Fenton, MO): Campus-based associate program. The school holds ABHES accreditation1, which supports CMA (AAMA) eligibility.2 Institution-wide graduation rate is 59%, with an estimated net price of about $24,395.
- Southwestern Illinois College (Belleville, IL): Campus-based AAS and certificate path. The medical assistant program is CAAHEP accredited through MAERB, supporting CMA (AAMA) eligibility. Institution-wide graduation rate is 36%, with an estimated net price of $10,427.
- Saint Louis Community College (Bridgeton, MO): The Saint Louis Community College hybrid program uses online coursework and paid clinical training. It prepares students for the NHA CCMA, but available sources do not document CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation, so CMA (AAMA) eligibility is not established through this route. Institution-wide graduation rate is 21%, with an estimated net price of $8,440. The hybrid path is employer funded with a two-year commitment and is not eligible for federal financial aid.
- Lewis and Clark Community College (Godfrey, IL): Campus-based certificate and AAS option. Accreditation status is not clearly documented in available sources, so certification eligibility should be confirmed directly. Institution-wide graduation rate is 44%, with an estimated net price of $3,349.
Reading the Accreditation Difference
ABHES and CAAHEP are the two accreditation routes the AAMA accepts for CMA (AAMA) eligibility.2 An NHA CCMA program can still be a solid entry point, but it follows a different certifying body. Compare graduation rates and net price as starting points, since graduation rates are institution-wide and net price can vary by income and aid package.
St. Louis Medical Assistant Salary and Career Outlook
According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, medical assistants in the St. Louis, MO-IL metro area held about 5,040 jobs in 2024. The median annual wage was $42,630, with the middle 50 percent of earners making between $38,230 and $45,240. The table below compares St. Louis with other Missouri metro areas.
| Metro Area | Medical Assistants Employed | Average Annual Wage | 25th Percentile Wage | Median Annual Wage | 75th Percentile Wage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| St. Louis, MO-IL | 5,040 | $41,990 | $38,230 | $42,630 | $45,240 |
| Kansas City, MO-KS | 4,480 | $43,360 | $38,810 | $44,070 | $46,940 |
| Springfield, MO | 1,250 | $39,090 | $36,550 | $38,420 | $40,720 |
| Columbia, MO | 410 | $38,710 | $35,920 | $37,590 | $43,230 |
| Cape Girardeau, MO-IL | 370 | $37,050 | $34,930 | $35,980 | $38,100 |
| Jefferson City, MO | 300 | $37,470 | $35,080 | $36,890 | $41,880 |
| Joplin, MO-KS | 300 | $37,980 | $35,200 | $36,530 | $42,420 |
| St. Joseph, MO-KS | 250 | $40,180 | $36,630 | $38,860 | $44,200 |
How to Become a Medical Assistant in Missouri: Step-by-Step
Most accredited medical assistant training programs in St. Louis take 9 to 24 months, and the usual path runs through four steps: finish high school, complete a program, pass a certification exam, and start applying. Missouri does not license medical assistants, so the credential you earn is not a state requirement. It is the hiring standard most clinics, hospitals, and private practices use to gauge clinical readiness.
Step 1: Earn a high school diploma or GED
This is the baseline for admission at nearly every accredited MA program in the St. Louis area. Some programs may also ask for placement testing, a background check, or current immunizations before you start clinical coursework.
Step 2: Complete an accredited medical assistant program
Choose a program that is accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES. medical assistant certificate and diploma programs often run about 9 to 12 months, while associate degree options may take closer to 18 to 24 months. During training you cover clinical skills like vital signs, phlebotomy, EKGs, and medication administration, plus administrative tasks like scheduling and insurance basics. The ranked list later in this guide can help you compare schools that serve St. Louis students.
Step 3: Earn AAMA or NHA certification
Employers in St. Louis most commonly look for the Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) credential from the AAMA or the Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA) credential from the NHA. Both require passing an exam after you complete an eligible program. Missouri law allows medical assistants to perform delegated clinical tasks under a provider's supervision, but certification is what most employers use to confirm you are ready for that responsibility.
Step 4: Find a job and stay current
Use your program's clinical externship as a hiring pipeline. Once employed, you will need to renew your credential on the schedule set by the certifying body, which usually means continuing education credits.
Medical Assistant Certification and Exam Prep in St. Louis: AAMA vs. NHA
Two credentials dominate the medical assistant field: the CMA from the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) and the CCMA from the National Healthcareer Association (NHA). Deciding which to pursue in St. Louis comes down to two questions: which exam does your program prepare you for, and which credential do local employers actually ask for?
Know the National Pass Rate Benchmark
Start with the AAMA's own numbers. For exams administered between July 2024 and April 2025, the national first-time CMA pass rate was 69%, based on 4,171 total exams.1 That gives you a realistic yardstick. If a program's pass rate sits well below 69%, ask why. If it sits well above, that is a genuine selling point. For comparison, Sinclair Community College reports a five-year average CMA pass rate of 71% for 2020 through 2024.2
The NHA does not publish a comparable public first-time pass rate for the CCMA, so treat any figure you see with caution and ask the source to back it up.
Ask Programs Directly for Their Numbers
St. Louis-area schools do not all post pass rates on their public pages. That does not mean the data doesn't exist. Call or email the career services office and request:
- The most recent first-time exam pass rate, and which credential (CMA or CCMA) it covers
- The job placement rate for graduates within six to twelve months
- Any consumer information disclosures required by their accreditor
Accredited programs generally track these figures for their accrediting bodies and will share them if you ask plainly.
Confirm Employer Preferences Before You Enroll
Don't assume every St. Louis clinic weighs CMA and CCMA equally. Spend an hour scanning current job postings from BJC HealthCare, SSM Health, Mercy, and independent clinics in the metro. Note whether listings specify CMA (AAMA), CCMA (NHA), or accept either. If a posting is vague, call the HR line and ask which credential their hiring managers prefer for entry-level roles.
Finally, check the Bureau of Labor Statistics at BLS.gov for wage and outlook data, but remember: BLS does not publish program-level pass rates or local credential preferences. That legwork is on you, and it is the single best predictor of whether your certification will get you hired here.
Comparing Medical Assistant Program Costs and Financial Aid in St. Louis
Published costs vary widely: St. Louis Community College's employer-funded program lists $0 student tuition and fees with a 24-month work commitment, while St. Louis School of Phlebotomy lists fees totaling $2,300, Chesterfield lists $3,990, and St. Louis College of Health Careers reports $15,520 annual tuition. Several programs do not itemize textbooks, uniforms, background checks, or certification exam fees, so request a full cost estimate before enrolling. Financial aid options to confirm include federal Pell Grants, the Missouri A+ Scholarship, school scholarships, WIOA funding, and employer tuition assistance.
| Program | Published tuition and fees | Additional costs listed | Financial aid notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Louis Community College Medical Assistant Training Program | $0 student tuition and fees (employer funded, with a 24-month employment commitment) | Not specified for textbooks, scrubs, background checks, or exam fees | Employer-funded model; program is not eligible for federal financial aid |
| SSM Health STL Medical Assistant Training Program | Tuition funding included; dollar amount not disclosed | Not discussed | Requires 24-month work commitment; leaving before completion requires reimbursement of full program cost |
| St. Louis School of Phlebotomy Clinical Medical Assisting | $1,000 tuition plus $100 registration, $800 lab, $250 supplies, and $150 books/materials ($2,300 total) | Uniform, background check, and certification exam fees not listed | Federal, state, WIOA, and employer aid unknown from current page |
| St. Louis Medical Assistant (Chesterfield) | $3,990 tuition if paid in full; $300 payment plan fee for other payment options | No extra costs listed | No aid options mentioned |
| St. Louis College of Health Careers Medical Assistant Diploma | $485 per credit; $15,520 annual tuition; $200 program fee (2025-2026) | Textbooks, uniforms, and exam fees not itemized | WIOA listed as a possible aid; federal and state eligibility not explicitly confirmed |
Related Articles
Admission Prerequisites, Background Checks, and Immunizations
Requirements vary by school, so confirm current requirements with each admissions office before applying.
- High school diploma or GEDMost St. Louis medical assistant programs require a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent transcript before you can enroll.
- Minimum ageMany programs set the minimum age at 18, but at least one St. Louis program accepts students at 17 with written parent or guardian permission.
- Background check and drug screenSt. Louis Community College and SSM Health require a criminal background check and drug screen, often after acceptance or before clinical placement.
- Physical exam and immunizationsWhere required, students typically complete a physical exam and provide proof of TB, hepatitis B, MMR, varicella, and flu vaccination or titers; some clinical sites may add CPR.
- Entry stepsSome programs may also include reading proficiency assessments or an interview after application, so ask the admissions office for the exact checklist.
Top Medical Assistant Programs Serving St. Louis Students
Below are the top medical assistant programs serving St. Louis students, ranked for overall fit with the St. Louis job market. The list highlights employer ties, format flexibility, and cost transparency across the Missouri and Illinois sides of the metro. Each entry focuses on what makes the program distinctive for local learners.
Saint Louis Community College
#1Bridgeton, MO · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Metro residents seeking funded hospital cohorts
Saint Louis Community College hosts one of the region's most directly employer-connected medical assistant training pipelines. The hybrid certificate combines online coursework with in-person labs and paid clinical practice at BJC Medical Group, St. Luke's and SSM Health sites, with a required two-year employment commitment. Selective admission includes background, drug screen and interviews, and federal financial aid is not available because the employer covers tuition. The accelerated certificate is not CAAHEP or ABHES accredited, though employer sponsors fully fund the pathway into local hospitals and clinics.
- 16-week hybrid certificate
- Online coursework with in-person labs
- Paid clinical training at partner clinics
- Prepares for CCMA credential through NHA
- Employer-funded with two-year commitment
- Locations at Florissant Valley and Forest Park
- Selective admission: background check, drug screen, interviews
- Not eligible for federal financial aid
St Louis College of Health Careers-Fenton
#2Fenton, MO · $24,000/yr (est. net price)
Best for: Working adults needing dual-campus flexibility
St Louis College of Health Careers offers medical assistant training at both its Fenton and St. Louis city campuses, giving students flexibility across the metro. The associate degree includes clinical skills, an externship and Registered Medical Assistant eligibility, while a diploma option adds ABHES accreditation for blended and distance learning. Financial aid and multiple start dates are available. This school works well for working adults who want campus access on either side of the St. Louis area.
- Campus-based program in Missouri
- Vital signs, EKGs, phlebotomy, and EMR training
- Includes a medical assistant externship
- Eligible for Registered Medical Assistant certification
- Covers medical terminology and human biology
- Financial aid options available
- Admissions application required
Lewis and Clark Community College
#3Godfrey, IL · under $5,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Illinois-side learners prioritizing certificate speed
Lewis and Clark Community College offers medical assisting through an 11-month certificate and an associate degree that adds two semesters. The program reports a 100% pass rate and explicitly lists BJC, SIHF Healthcare, Washington University and Gateway Regional Medical Center among regional employers. Students can complete the program at the Godfrey campus or the East St. Louis Higher Education Center. Accreditation status is not listed in federal data, but the curriculum prepares graduates for the RMA exam.
- 11-month Certificate of Proficiency
- AAS degree adds two semesters
- Hands-on clinical training
- Prepares for RMA exam
- Reports a 100% pass rate
- Employers include BJC and Washington University
- Offered at East St. Louis Higher Education Center
- Open admission with limited enrollment
Southwestern Illinois College
#4Belleville, IL · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)
Southwestern Illinois College offers a CAAHEP-accredited medical assistant certificate and a 68.5-credit associate degree that adds general education coursework. The certificate can be completed in about 10 months with daytime classes at the Belleville campus and off-campus clinical placements, while the degree takes two years plus a summer. Students meet with the program coordinator before registering and must clear background and drug requirements. The East St. Louis site extends access for metro Illinois residents, though named St. Louis hospital partnerships are not published.
- 68.5 credit hours
- Two years plus one summer
- Includes a 38.5-credit certificate
- 30 credits of general education
- Daytime classes at Belleville campus
- Off-campus clinical experiences
- Background check and drug testing required
- 10-month program
- Starts fall or spring
- CAAHEP accredited
- Belleville campus daytime classes
- Clinical experiences in employment settings
- Program coordinator meeting required
Choosing the Right Medical Assistant Program: Online, Hybrid, or Campus
Selecting the right medical assistant program means weighing several practical factors against your personal circumstances. The best choice depends on your budget, schedule, learning style, and how quickly you want to enter the workforce.
Key Decision Factors
Start by comparing these elements across any programs you consider:
- Total cost: Tuition varies significantly in the St. Louis area, from under $5,000 at community colleges to $15,000 or more at private career schools. Factor in books, supplies, uniforms, and certification exam fees.
- Program length: Certificate programs typically run 9 to 12 months, while associate degrees take about two years. Shorter programs get you working sooner, but degrees may open more advancement opportunities.
- Schedule flexibility: Evening, weekend, and online options make training possible while working or managing family responsibilities.
- Accreditation: CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation ensures the program meets industry standards and qualifies you to sit for national certification exams.
- Certification exam pass rates: Programs with high pass rates on the CMA or RMA exams demonstrate effective preparation.
Weighing Convenience Against Support
Online and hybrid programs offer flexibility that works well for busy adults, but campus-based programs typically provide more hands-on clinical practice and direct instructor feedback. If you learn best through in-person demonstration and prefer structured schedules, a traditional campus program may suit you better. If you need to balance training with work or caregiving, hybrid options let you complete coursework remotely while still gaining clinical hours locally.
Taking the Next Step
Request program details directly from schools that interest you, including current tuition, financial aid options, and clinical site arrangements. If cost remains a barrier, ask local healthcare employers about tuition assistance or training programs that pay you while you learn.






