Salt Lake City's healthcare sector added medical assistant jobs at twice the state average over the past year, driven by expansion at Intermountain Health, University of Utah Health, and dozens of outpatient clinics along the Wasatch Front. Metro median pay now runs about $44,370 annually, above the national benchmark.
The challenge is sorting through your options. CAAHEP-accredited programs, non-accredited certificate tracks, and hybrid online formats all compete for attention, and tuition can range from under $5,000 at Salt Lake Community College to well over $15,000 at private institutions. Utah does not license medical assistants, but most employers expect national certification, which means choosing a program that actually prepares you to pass the CMA, RMA, or CCMA exam.
Salt Lake City's Medical Assistant Job Market: Employers and Regional Hubs
Salt Lake City is a medical assistant hiring hub, not a secondary market. Most entry-level openings cluster along the Wasatch Front, and the largest employers maintain hiring pipelines that draw directly from local medical assistant programs, including online medical assistant programs.
Employers Most Likely to Hire New Medical Assistants
- Intermountain Healthcare: The largest nonprofit health system in the region staffs primary care clinics, InstaCare urgent care centers, and hospitals from Salt Lake City through the surrounding suburbs.
- University of Utah Health: The academic system hires medical assistants for the University of Utah Hospital, Huntsman Cancer Institute clinics, and neighborhood primary care locations.
- MountainStar Healthcare: HCA-affiliated facilities such as St. Mark's Hospital and Lakeview Hospital recruit for cardiology, orthopedics, women's health, and general practice offices.
- Independent clinics: Private practices, community health centers, and specialty groups post steady demand for clinical support staff, often with smaller teams and broader daily duties.
Where the Jobs Cluster Outside Downtown Salt Lake City
A downtown Salt Lake City address is not required. In fact, many students shorten their commute by targeting clinics near home. West Valley City and Sandy carry heavy outpatient volume. Ogden and Layton anchor clinical hiring in the northern part of the metro, while Provo draws medical assistants into Utah County practices. Program externships in Salt Lake City often double as auditions for these same regional employers.
Utah Scope of Practice in Brief
Utah does not license medical assistants. The role is still structured: medical assistants work under physician supervision and may perform delegated clinical tasks such as rooming patients, taking vital signs, drawing blood when trained, giving injections when competency is documented, and assisting during exams or procedures. State rules do not make certification mandatory, but Salt Lake City employers generally prefer candidates who hold a national credential and meet certified medical assistant requirements. Certification should be treated as a hiring advantage and a signal of job readiness, not as a state license.
This guide stays focused on Salt Lake City and the surrounding Wasatch Front rather than offering a national overview. Local employer names, commute hubs, and Utah-specific expectations are what shape the job search here.
Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Programs Serving Utah Students
Medical assistant training in Utah has shifted toward hybrid delivery, pairing online coursework with hands-on labs or supervised externships rather than offering a purely remote path. The programs below clarify what online delivery usually means for Salt Lake City students.
Hybrid Programs With Required In-Person Work
- University of Utah: This hybrid clinical medical assistant program combines self-paced online instruction with monthly in-person labs. It runs up to 12 months, costs about $3,200, and includes roughly 160 hours of clinical training after the online portion.
- Salt Lake Community College Jordan Campus: SLCC's hybrid option uses self-paced online learning with required in-person labs. Estimated total cost is about $3,794, including $2,520 in tuition, though published materials do not detail externship placement support.1
- Eagle Gate College: The blended medical assisting program can be completed in as little as nine months for about $14,861. It includes online coursework, in-person training, and a supervised externship.
- Herzing University: Utah residents can choose a 10-month diploma or 16-month associate path. The program blends online didactic work with labs and an externship, and Herzing reports partnerships with clinical and externship sites in Utah.
- Ogden-Weber Technical College: This hybrid option pairs online coursework with labs and skills training. Tuition runs about $2,800, with materials around $389.98, though externship details are less clear.2
Fully Online National Certificates
- U.S. Career Institute: This fully online, self-paced certificate is open to Utah students and can be finished in as little as four months. It does not advertise an arranged externship, so you may need to secure clinical hours on your own.3
- Stepful: A five-month online certificate with an optional in-person unpaid externship. The program does not list tuition in public materials, so request current pricing directly.
- Career Step: This online program provides 12 months of access and includes 483 training hours plus 100 clinical hours, but tuition details are not published.4
Before You Enroll
Even fully online programs can require in-person clinical hours, so confirm who arranges the externship. Local placement support is clearest for the University of Utah, Eagle Gate, and Herzing. Also ask about CAAHEP accreditation directly, since fully online options do not consistently list that status in public program materials.
Medical Assistant Salaries in Salt Lake City: What You Can Expect to Earn
Medical assistant pay in the Salt Lake City metro area sits above the national benchmark. The latest metro data puts the median annual wage at $44,370, with the middle 50% of earners typically falling between about $38,390 and $47,600. For context, the national median was $42,000 in 2023, while a 2025 statewide estimate for Utah placed the median at $45,360. Salt Lake City's cost of living can be lower than many large coastal cities but higher than smaller Utah communities, so personal budgeting matters.
| Location | Employment | 25th Percentile Annual Wage | Median Annual Wage | 75th Percentile Annual Wage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City-Murray, UT | 3,940 | $38,390 | $44,370 | $47,600 |
| Provo-Orem-Lehi, UT | 1,990 | $35,810 | $38,220 | $45,310 |
| Ogden, UT | 1,790 | $36,340 | $43,490 | $46,850 |
| St. George, UT | 750 | $36,560 | $38,100 | $45,040 |
| Logan, UT-ID | 500 | $35,700 | $40,280 | $49,070 |
How to Become a Medical Assistant in Salt Lake City: Step-By-Step
What does it actually take to go from "I'm interested in healthcare" to working as a medical assistant at Intermountain, U of U Health, or a private clinic in the Salt Lake Valley? The path is more structured than most people realize, and you can move through it in about a year if you stay focused.
Step 1: Finish High School or Earn a GED
Every accredited medical assistant program requires a high school diploma or GED for entry. If you're still in high school, take biology and any health science electives your school offers. They'll give you a running start on anatomy and medical terminology later.
Step 2: Complete an Accredited MA Program
Plan on 9 to 12 months for a certificate or diploma program, or roughly two years if you pursue an associate degree. Look specifically for programs accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES. Many Salt Lake City employers, including larger hospital systems, prefer graduates of CAAHEP-accredited clinical medical assistant programs because those graduates are eligible to sit for the CMA (AAMA) exam without extra steps.
Step 3: Complete Your Externship
An unpaid clinical externship (usually 160 to 200 hours) is built into accredited programs. You'll rotate through a real clinic or hospital department, practicing vitals, injections, EKGs, and front-office workflows. Treat it like an extended job interview: many students get hired at their externship site.
Step 4: Pass a National Certification Exam
Utah does not require state licensure for medical assistants, but nearly every employer in the Salt Lake City market expects national certification. Your main options:
- CMA (AAMA): Requires graduation from a CAAHEP or ABHES program.
- RMA (AMT): Broader eligibility, widely recognized.
- CCMA (NHA): Common among graduates of career-focused programs.
Pick the credential that matches your program's accreditation and the employers you're targeting.
Step 5: Apply for Jobs and Clear Pre-Employment Checks
Once certified, apply through hospital career portals, clinic websites, and staffing agencies. Expect a criminal background check and drug screening as part of the hiring process. These are employer requirements, not state licensing hurdles, but they're standard across healthcare in Utah. Address any concerns proactively with a program advisor before you apply.
Utah Medical Assistant Credentialing at a Glance
Accreditation and Certification: Pass Rates for Salt Lake City MA Programs
Accreditation status and published outcomes vary by program. Several Salt Lake City medical assistant programs are CAAHEP-accredited, but certification exam pass rates are often not reported publicly. The table below shows what each program currently discloses for accreditation, exam pass rate, and job placement.
| Program | Accreditation | Exam Pass Rate | Job Placement Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake Community College Medical Assistant Program | CAAHEP-accredited | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ensign College Medical Assisting Program | CAAHEP-accredited | Not reported | 91% (5-year average, 2019-2023) |
| University of Utah Clinical Medical Assistant Program | Not CAAHEP-accredited | Not reported | Not reported |
| Charter College Salt Lake City Medical Assistant Programs | Not CAAHEP-accredited | Not reported | Not reported |
Admissions Requirements and Prerequisites for Salt Lake City MA Programs
Admissions requirements for medical assistant programs in Salt Lake City vary by school. Use this checklist to compare common expectations, but confirm details with each program before applying.
- High school diploma or GEDMost programs require a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent. This is listed by Salt Lake City Medical Assistant School, Intermountain Health’s apprenticeship, and Fortis.
- GPA and placement testsA minimum GPA is not a universal requirement. SLCC and the University of Utah do not publish a specific GPA minimum, and none of the programs in our review list ACCUPLACER or similar placement tests as a condition of admission. Some schools may use placement testing for advising.
- ImmunizationsDocumentation is typically required before clinical training. SLCC requires MMR, varicella (two doses or titer), and annual flu; COVID-19 is recommended, not required. The University of Utah requires immunization documentation before clinicals. Salt Lake City Medical Assistant School allows immunization or declination. Clinical sites may request additional immunizations such as TB or hepatitis B.
- Background check and drug screenSLCC requires a nationwide background check (ADB Complio) and that students not be on the sex offender registry. The University of Utah requires a passing criminal background check and an 11-panel drug screen. Other programs may have different or no stated requirements.
- Program-specific prerequisitesSLCC requires ENGL 1010 with a C or better (AP 3+ accepted) before practicum and graduation. The University of Utah does not require healthcare prerequisites. No program in our research lists anatomy or medical terminology as a required prerequisite, but always check the current catalog.
Clinical Externships and Hands-On Training in Salt Lake City
Classroom skills only become real once you are practicing them on actual patients, and that is what the externship phase is for. Most Medical Assistant Schools in the Salt Lake City area require between 160 and 200 hours of supervised clinical work before graduation, though the exact number depends entirely on which school you attend.
Hours Vary by School
Salt Lake Community College requires a 200-hour practicum, taken as a 4-credit course after you finish your coursework.1 It is unpaid, which is standard for MA externships nationally, since the time is considered supervised training rather than employment.1 University of Utah's Clinical Medical Assistant Program lists 160 hours of hands-on training at a University of Utah Health location. Always confirm the current hour requirement directly with your program, since these figures can shift between catalog years.
Where Students Train
Given the medical infrastructure around Salt Lake City, students can expect placements tied to major regional systems. University of Utah Health locations host externs directly through the university's own program, and other schools in the area often place students with community clinics, outpatient offices, and hospital-affiliated departments similar in scope to what you would find through Intermountain Medical Center or its network of clinics. The specific setting, whether that is a family practice, urgent care, or hospital outpatient department, depends on what is available when your cohort reaches the placement stage.
How Placement Actually Works
You generally will not be left to cold-call clinics on your own. At University of Utah, a placement coordinator assigns each student to a specific clinic or department and shares the manager's contact information, after which the student handles scheduling directly with that site.2 The program tries to accommodate a preferred clinic type or location but cannot guarantee it, since availability drives the final assignment. Other local programs typically follow a similar coordinator-led model, though the degree of input you get into your site varies by school. If choosing a program partly based on where you might train, it is worth asking directly how much say students have in their placement before enrolling.
Financial Aid, Scholarships, and Payment Plans for Salt Lake City MA Programs
For the 2026-27 aid year, the maximum federal Pell Grant is $7,395,1 and Salt Lake Community College's Medical Assistant certificate is one of the Salt Lake City-area programs that can tap that funding.2 Most aid paths depend on whether the program is credit-bearing and Title IV eligible.
Federal Aid: Where It Applies
SLCC's credit-based Medical Assistant certificate qualifies for federal financial aid.2 The program's total listed cost is $3,679, but students should treat that as a baseline for tuition and fees, not a full cost-of-attendance figure. Submit the FAFSA by June 30, 2027 to be considered for Pell Grants and federal student loans.1
The University of Utah's noncredit Clinical Medical Assistant Program costs $3,200 but does not qualify for federal financial aid, and it does not offer a payment plan.3 The university advises students to ask their employer directly about tuition reimbursement.
Scholarships and Workforce Assistance
Utah AHEC and state or national medical assistant associations are a practical starting point for healthcare scholarships; award cycles and eligibility vary. Online programs may add school-specific aid. American Job Centers can also help identify tuition assistance or WIOA funding if a program is approved.1
Payment Plans and Non-Federal Options
Salt Lake City Medical Assistant School does not accept federal financial aid. Its one-time tuition is listed at $3,490, with a weekly payment plan advertised around $100 per week; some pages list an $80 minimum, so confirm the current rate before enrolling. Mountainland Technical College lists its program at $4,256, but aid availability should be confirmed directly with the school.
Ranked: Medical Assistant Programs Serving Salt Lake City
Below are the top medical assistant programs serving Salt Lake City students, ranked by IPEDS completion data, accreditation status, and program fit. Ensign College leads this list as the top choice based on available data, offering a CAAHEP-accredited certificate with hands-on practicum experience. For additional local options, refer to the full program listing earlier in this guide.
Ensign College
#1Salt Lake City, UT · $11,000/yr
Best for: Downtown Salt Lake City career starters
Ensign College, located in downtown Salt Lake City, offers a CAAHEP-accredited Medical Assisting Certificate that combines front-office administrative skills with back-office clinical training. Its 28-credit, four-semester format includes lab work and a practicum in local clinics, hospitals, and ambulatory centers, with strong job placement after internships. Students can stack the certificate into an associate or bachelor's degree on the same campus. The program is faith-affiliated and participates in federal financial aid.
- 28 total credit hours over four semesters
- CAAHEP-accredited curriculum with lab components
- Practicum in local clinics, hospitals, and ambulatory centers
- Front-office administrative and back-office clinical training
- Can stack into associate or bachelor's degree
- Requires prerequisite courses and current vaccinations
- Job placement reported around 90 percent for graduates
- Eligible for federal financial aid
Frequently Asked Questions About Medical Assistant Training in Salt Lake City
Here are direct answers to the questions aspiring medical assistants ask most about training in Salt Lake City, from program length and cost to certification, online options, and typical pay.
How long does it take to become a medical assistant in Salt Lake City?
Program length varies by school and format. Salt Lake City Medical Assistant School reports an 18-week program1. Intermountain Health's paid apprenticeship runs 20 weeks, and the University of Utah program overview lists 24 weeks of coursework with up to one year allowed. Salt Lake Community College uses a three-semester format2, so total time can range from about four months to a year.
How much does medical assistant training cost in Salt Lake City?
Published costs differ by institution. The University of Utah lists total program tuition at $3,2003, while Salt Lake Community College estimates $3,7944. The 18-week program at Salt Lake City Medical Assistant School does not show a price in the available listings1, so students should contact that school directly or allow for additional fees such as books, supplies, and certification exams.
Do you need to be certified to work as a medical assistant in Salt Lake City?
Certification requirements depend on the program and employer. Most programs require a high school diploma or GED to enroll. Some training options build in certification preparation: Salt Lake City Medical Assistant School includes eligibility for the CCMA exam plus AHA BLS certification1, while the University of Utah prepares students for certification without naming a specific exam. Certification can strengthen your job applications even when not mandated.
Which Salt Lake City medical assistant programs are CAAHEP accredited?
The program descriptions included in the current sources do not explicitly identify which Salt Lake City medical assistant programs hold CAAHEP accreditation. Some schools may meet other approval standards or offer exam eligibility through separate pathways. Before enrolling, contact each program directly to confirm its accreditation status, especially if your target certification requires CAAHEP-accredited training.
Are there online or hybrid medical assistant programs in Salt Lake City?
Yes. The University of Utah offers a hybrid format with online self-paced modules, in-person skills labs, and a clinical externship3. Salt Lake Community College provides a self-paced hybrid option4. US Career Institute offers a fully online program that can be completed in as little as four months. These formats let students reduce campus time while still completing required hands-on training.
What is the average salary for medical assistants in Salt Lake City?
A specific average salary figure for Salt Lake City medical assistants is not quantified in the current program listings, and no local wage estimate for 2026 is established in the sources reviewed. Starting pay can vary by employer, experience, and certification status. For the most current local figures, check the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics or recent employer job postings in the Salt Lake City area.
Salt Lake City Medical Assistant Programs Within Commuting Distance
Public community college programs and private for-profit schools represent two very different paths to becoming a medical assistant in the Salt Lake City area. Each option varies in cost, format, and time commitment, so understanding what is available within commuting distance helps you make a well-informed choice.
Fortis College Salt Lake City
Fortis College offers a Medical Assisting and Basic X-Ray Technician diploma at its Salt Lake City campus. This residential (in-person) program runs approximately 48 weeks and totals 62 quarter credits. It stands apart from other local options by bundling basic X-ray training alongside core medical assisting coursework. Total estimated cost is roughly $21,746 based on the 2025-2026 catalog, making it the most expensive option in the metro.1 Programmatic accreditation through CAAHEP or ABHES has not been confirmed for this program, so verify the current accreditation status directly with the school before enrolling if you plan to sit for a national certification exam.
Salt Lake Community College (SLCC)
SLCC's Medical Assistant Technical Certificate is available at both the Jordan Campus and the West Valley Campus. The program requires 28 credits and can be completed in about nine months full time or roughly a year and a half part time. A 200-hour unpaid practicum is built into the curriculum. Total estimated cost is approximately $3,679, covering tuition, fees, lab costs, books, and supplies.2 Some course delivery may include online components, though the program uses a cohort model at both locations. Like Fortis, SLCC does not appear to hold CAAHEP or ABHES programmatic accreditation for this certificate, so it functions primarily as exam-prep rather than a programmatically accredited pathway.
University of Utah
The Clinical Medical Assistant Program through the University of Utah's Continuing Education division uses a hybrid format: roughly 265 hours of online, self-paced coursework paired with monthly in-person lab sessions and 160 to 180 hours of clinical training at U of U Health facilities.4 Most students finish in six to twelve months. Tuition is approximately $3,200, though additional costs for books and supplies may apply.3 This program does not hold programmatic accreditation from CAAHEP or ABHES but prepares graduates to pursue national certification exams independently.
Before committing to any program, contact the admissions office to confirm current tuition, clinical site availability, and whether the credential meets the requirements of employers you are targeting in the Salt Lake City area.






